Lemon Cornmeal Cakes

Single servings are for kids only

We prefer desserts that serve two, so we don’t have leftovers. These cakes were inspired by this Bon Appetit recipe. We went heavier on the cornmeal and lemon and skipped the berry topping they suggested among other changes.

Lemon Cornmeal Cake

For Glaze

  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 3/4 tsp lemon juice
  • 3/4 tsp limoncello

Combine powdered sugar, lemon juice and limoncello in a small bowl. Stir with a fork to get out any lumps until smooth and paste-like. Set aside.

For Cake

  • 3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 large egg
  • zest from one lemon
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 3 tbsp unsalted butter, melted, cooled

Preheat to 350. Butter two 12 -ounce dishes. In a large bowl, combine flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, and salt, stir to blend. Whisk milk, eggs, lemon peel, and juice in small bowl. Pour milk mixture and melted butter into flour mixture. Gently fold liquids into flour mixture until just blended. Scrape batter into pans; spread evenly. Bake cake until tester inserted into center comes out clean and cake pulls away from sides of pan, about 25-30 minutes.

While cake is still hot, use a pastry brush to spread glaze on top of each cake. Cool completely. We left the cakes in their individual pans, but they can be turned out and iced individually if desired.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Lemon Cornmeal Cakes

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    This is the 2nd lemon cornmeal/polenta type cake recipe I’ve seen recently. Both sound amazing and I especially like the fact that this makes just enough for 2 servings. :)

  2. Tandy says:

    I have never thought to use cornmeal for baking – thanks for the recipe :)

  3. The cornmeal intrigues me. I’ll have to give it a try. I have fond memories of Limoncello from holidays in Positano. Some of the memories include falling down:)

  4. Mm, this sounds like what we would call a lemon drizzle cake…delicious! Love the serving size too :)

  5. hehehe …”single servings are for kids only”
    good. I’ll have two then.

  6. Eva Taylor says:

    I prefer small individual desserts too. I wonder if the cornmeal gives this cake a bit of texture? Love the lemon glaze. Happy Friday.

  7. sallybr says:

    Great recipe, I love the texture of cornmeal cakes – and the fact that you make a small portion, perfect for us too, we don’t like to have cake hanging around, although the lab crowd is more than willing to get the leftovers! ;-)

    love your baking dish, I want two for my Birthday…. must send hint to Phil

  8. You read my mind…I’ve been looking for something like this. I’ll have to leave out the limoncello…the Little One sleeps just fine without it ;)

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    I agree with Eva and the others. A good citrus glaze really makes the cake. Yours here with limoncello would make it a good glaze and dessert.

  10. I saw the same dish on line. It looks very good. Healthy choice in the morning.

  11. No berry topping? Interesting, though these look delicious without it.

  12. egg me on says:

    I like the addition of limoncello in the glaze. Leave it to you guys to add liquor to a cake. ;)

  13. Spree says:

    As much as I love berries, I love better how you’ve treated this cake.

  14. I love citrus anything, as for limoncello, great idea for the glaze- even though mine may not make it from the bottle to the cake…

  15. This is my kind of cake…I love the extra texture and I’ve been collecting two’s of dishes with the idea of making desserts for two…for the same reason! I’ve wanted to try cornmeal in a cake, and this sounds like the one to try!

  16. Sounds great! Can’t wait to try these!!

  17. Lauren says:

    Ooh, this looks fantastic! It’s going on my must-try list.

  18. Looks delicious – gonna have to give this recipe a whirl:) Have a Great Weekend!

  19. peasepudding says:

    Look at that beautiful crunchy glaze, reminds me of a cake my gran used to make.

  20. What a fantastic idea with the addition of limoncello. A little for the cook, a little for the cake.

  21. Mad Dog says:

    Those will makes us all fat ;-)

  22. billpeeler says:

    This looks delicious – – the cornmeal and lemon flavor sounds muy interesting, I’m sure I would really enjoy this – – –

  23. I tried a cornmeal waffle recipe the other day and it turned out to be the best waffle ever so I am really looking forward to trying this

  24. Kristy says:

    Sounds yummy! I’ve tried the individual serving thing…but then I make too many individual servings on purpose.

  25. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: The Anything But Turkey Edition | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

