Salty Dogs

Beware of dog

While our dogs can be quite ornery, we’re looking at you Coltrane, it’s a Wednesday so we’re of course talking cocktails. This is a simple one. We used 100 percent juice. (It was on sale!) But fresh is always best. Of course it never hurts to have a backup in case your hand gets tired or your juicer breaks.

Salty Dogs

  • 2 parts grapefruit juice
  • 1 part gin
  • sea salt
  • lime

Put some ice in a glass and top with a pinch (Greg) or two or three (Katherine) of sea salt. We used this pink stuff we got for Christmas, fancy. Pour in gin and give it a swirl. Top with juice and garnish with lime.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Salty Dogs

  1. I’m showing this one to my daughter.. she’ll get right on it for me:D

  2. Nice idea summer drink. Your cocktail book appears to be bottomless.

  3. Wonderful – bet it´s got a really lovely acid kick to it!

  4. Lovely and refreshing. :-) Mandy

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    Lime and seasslt are an amazing flavour combination, and then you add grapefruit juice? What’s not to love? So refreshing.

  6. I just love the fact that you named your dog Coltrane :D
    Great cocktail for beating the heat!

  7. sallybr says:

    Cute name for a drink, I wonder what’s the origin… ;-)

  8. zestybeandog says:

    Sounds perfect! I like the name as well!

  9. egg me on says:

    Another awesome gin drink! Is it too early in the day to have one?

  10. Mad Dog says:

    Gimme’ one of those and I’ll be a happy dog!

  11. One of my all-time favorite drinks!

  12. Carolyn Chan says:

    Another great cocktail. Love the name!

  13. ChgoJohn says:

    Not much of a gin drinker but can appreciate a good cocktail when I see one. Salt & grapefruit are a good match.

  14. beware of the dog is right! WOW!

  15. Andrea says:

    Oh, this is my kinda drink!

  16. Oooh yes. I wonder how it would work with red grapefruit juice?

  17. Courtney says:

    Sounds good – especially after chasing the kids all day.

  18. wok with ray says:

    Simple and perfect for hot, hot summer.

  19. This dog has healthy kick to it.

  20. Very nice! Can’t wait to try it.

  21. Kristy says:

    I think I’d go for two or three pinches of salt too. :)

  22. I’ve been on a gin & tonic kick lately so this is right up my alley :)

  23. Pingback: Rufus Reruns: G is for Gin | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  24. Angeline M says:

    Late for the party again. My husband and I used to drink Salty Dogs that were bottled, when we first got married waaaay back in 1969, sort of like getting a bottle of beer. They were quite good. I think I need to have one again very soon.

Leave a Reply

