Lemon Basil Granita

So refreshing

We have a lot of lemon juice after making a batch of limoncello recently. We wanted a lemon dessert that was light and summery and this fit the bill. The recipe below serves about four.

Lemon Basil Granita

  • 1 1/3 cup sugar
  • 14 basil leaves, torn into large pieces
  • 2 cups water
  • 2/3 cup lemon juice

In a medium-sized saucepan set over medium heat, combine sugar, basil and water. Heat until just combined. (If you look away and it comes to a boil, it won’t be the end of the world.) Remove mixture from stove and allow to cool completely. Once cool, strain the mix into a shallow pan, discarding the basil leaves and stir in the lemon juice. Freeze, scraping the granita and stirring every hour or so. It should take about four hours to freeze completely, but that will depend largely on how many times you sample the product. Garnish with fresh basil.

Note: Yes, we really love granita around here. In the last year or so, we’ve made grapefruit, strawberry, strawberry balsamic, blackberry honey, coffee, and watermelon. You can find them all here.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Lemon Basil Granita

  1. I want some of this right now — I don’t want to wait four and a half hours!

  2. You make the best stuff. This granita would suit me down to the ground.

  3. Maybe I should be making this instead of lemon jelly!

  4. Kristy says:

    I have still yet to make a granita. Every time I see one I want to make it. Then I forget. I have to stop forgetting. This one looks right up my alley too. :)

  5. A_Boleyn says:

    I’ve recently gone on a bit of an ice cream making binge in the last couple of days (you can check the recent LJ posts if you’re curious) so I’m going to be taking a closer look at the different flavour combinations you’ve posted. The lemon sounds very refreshing but I have some qualms about the basil part. :)

  6. TasteFood says:

    So fresh and light – the basil is a great idea.

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    Lemon granita is so good on its own. Adding the basil is a great idea and I bet the mix of its scent with the lemon is really appetizing.

  8. Carolyn Chan says:

    Such a beautifully refreshing treat !

  9. Granitas are on my mind at the moment. I was reading of an apricot one yesterday and now your lemon granita has entered the arena. I see a lot of granita making:)

  10. Mad Dog says:

    Sounds perfect for the hot summers you get.

  11. Scored some peaches at the farmer’s market…think I’ll do a granita.
    Thanks for the reminder!

  12. Wow…you can get a lot of mileage/variations from this one recipe. Living near the watermelon capital, I’ll have to try watermelon.

  13. Eva Taylor says:

    This sounds great, Greg. I’m doing a Thai inspired dinner party this Saturday, I’m going to try this with Thai Basil.

    • A_Boleyn says:

      I’ll be keeping an eye out for the post, Eva. My own thai basil (3 plants are doing well) is pretty small but hopefully I’ll get enough for a good crop for curry and summer rolls. The original plant I got the seeds from last fall was pretty spicy for my taste though so I wonder what it would taste like in an ice cream.

  14. Oh yes please…love the basil in it!

  15. This would be perfect for the hundred degree temps we are having. I bet for you too.

  16. egg me on says:

    Mmm, granita. This would co nicely with my whole “monday meltdown” thing. ;) AND, now I’m all caught up on your posts. What a great week you guys had.

  17. Rock Salt says:

    Yessssss lemon and basil. Throw in some cucumber too and you’re talking maximum refreshment :D

  18. This looks so delightful, and I love lemon and basil together. So I have a question if you can answer…have you ever tried freezing one of your granita recipes into pops…does that work? I just got new pop molds and I’m all over the place thinking about all the mixtures I want to try in them!

  19. This looks sooo refreshing. Thanks for sharing!

  20. ceciliag says:

    I have never made a granita, i wonder how this would be with lime basil leaves.. c

  21. Making this over the weekend. I may have to add a splash of rum though!

  22. How cool! Literally. I love granitas…so easy and perfect for these hot days.

  23. rsmacaalay says:

    You are teasing me this is the perfect summer dessert, fresh and cold.

  24. Ha! I was just thinking… “so refreshing”!!!

  25. Oh gee, this looks amazing, I wish the days here were a bit warmer so I’d have an excuse to make it :) Bookmarked, nevertheless….sooooonnn! :)

  26. Courtney says:

    mmmm, that sounds so good!

  27. Pingback: Lemongrass and Thai Basil Granita « Kitcheninspirations

  28. Pingback: For the Love of Blog: Rufus Turns Two | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  29. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: A Vegetarian Feast | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  30. It sounds delicious! And I love that I don’t need an ice cream machine to make this ;)

Leave a Reply

