Leftover Inspiration

Breakfast tacos make me want a margarita

We had a bunch of leftover pico and chopped avocados from the night before and thought why not.

Scrambled Egg Tostadas

  • 4 eggs beaten with 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • 2 cayenne peppers chopped fine
  • 1 clove garlic minced
  • 1/2 cup pico de galo mixed with 1 chopped avocado
  • Tostada shells
  • Salt/pepper/tapito

Fry cayenne and garlic in oil for about 1 minute. Add eggs and scramble. Season with salt and pepper. Spoon eggs over tostada shells and top with pico mixture. Serve with hot sauce and margaritas.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Mexican, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Leftover Inspiration

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    What a great idea for breakfast or lunch. I just turned my last avocado into guac but I’ll pick one up the next time I go shopping and try this.

  2. perfect breakfast…and lunch…and dinner!

  3. Making think that scrambled eggs are going to be the perfect Sunday breakfast:)

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Me too and it’s only 10am – I’ll have to wait hours for that margarita!

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    Holy yum! I’d like a little (OK, a lot) of hot sauce with mine, plz.

  6. I want, I want! Great way to use leftovers. What a great breakfast!

  7. TasteFood says:

    Leftovers are often the best inspiration.

  8. billpeeler says:

    Yum – this is the best use of pico and avocados as far as I’m concerned. Having lived in Texas, I developed a (huge) taste for tex mex breakfasts. This looks soooo good —-

  9. Tasty inspiration!

  10. These definitely say “margarita time” to me!

  11. ceciliag says:

    What’s in a breakfast marguerita? c

  12. Kristy says:

    Yum! I love a good breakfast burrito. My favorite way to eat eggs!

  13. Courtney says:

    Mexican style food is always a favorite around here for breakfast.

  14. egg me on says:

    Yes please! One of the best things about this — you don’t even need a plate! The tostado holds everything perfectly.

  15. Carolyn Chan says:

    Cayenne in your breakfasts, brave souls! Would certainly start your day with a zing!

  16. supcalclirepri1986 says:

    Reblogged this on Lorie Pitman Weblog.

Leave a Reply

