Cucumber Shooters

Who says jello shots can’t be classy

It’s the perfect happy hour dish, a cocktail and appetizer all in one little package.

Cucumber Shooters

  • 1 – 1/2 large cucumbers
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 package unflavored gelatin
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • juice from half a lime
  • 1/2 cup Thatcher’s cucumber liqueur (or the brand of your choice)
  • 1/2 cup vodka
  • fresh mint, cut into thin ribbons

Measure out vodka and liqueur and combine in a small bowl. Wash cucumber and use a vegetable peeler to cut strips down the length of the cucumber, evenly spacing them around the vegetable. You may need more than one cucumber, depending on the size, but just start with one. Take the strips of peel and soak them in the liquors. Cut the cucumbers in thick slices, 1/2 inch to 3/4 of an inch. In the center of each slice, scoop out about a teaspoon and a half of flesh. (Save that for salads later.) Make sure not to go all the way to the bottom or the slices won’t hold their liquor. In a small saucepan over medium heat, dissolve gelatin in water, whisking to break up any clumps. Remove from heat and whisk in sugar. Add lime juice and then strain in the liquor ditching the peels. Pour mixture into a measuring cup or pitcher with a pour spout. Fill each cucumber cup and cut more cucumber if needed and repeat. Chill for 2-4 hours. They set fast, but the deeper the cups, the longer it will take them to gel. Serve garnished with mint strips.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Cucumber Shooters

  1. cht7 says:

    Very cool and really creative. Thanks for sharin g!

  2. I’ve got to try this!

  3. somehow i feel like I really really have to try this! i’m thinking soon…

  4. How do you do it!! What a great creation, so fun!

  5. God, you do find some obscure drink. Cucumber liqueur must be as rare as hens’ teeth and, unless served in your delicious shots, about as desirable:)

  6. I have a glut of cucumbers growing in my garden. These are just perfect and what fun!

  7. Nami | Just One Cookbook says:

    Wow this is so creative! I’ve never seen anything like this. =D I’ve seen some shooters in fruits, but not in cucumbers! Love this!

  8. Anna says:

    That looks great!

  9. ambrosiana says:

    Very cool and great for these hot summer days!!!

  10. Eva Taylor says:

    We just tried Effin Cucumber Vodka when we were in Wisconsin, very refreshing. I’m going to try to recreate it. This is a clever cocktail/appi. Cheers.

  11. You DO know how to throw a party…

  12. Great idea for these super hot days here in the South. Cucumbers now have a new use!

  13. This is a lot better than the ginger pickled cucumbers that I had to make last night. I’ll be making these shooters soon!

  14. Karen says:

    Very clever for summer entertaining.

  15. ChgoJohn says:

    I’d love one of these but apparently they attract wasps. I was just reading your recipe and a wasp just flew between me and my monitor. How it got into the house is beyond me but it’s “gone” now. Wasp issues aside, these do sound really refreshing.

  16. Its a shot in a healthy cup. Great !!

  17. There is such a thing as cucumber liquor?!?! Well, I just found out cucumber may lower blood pressure, so…. cheers!

  18. billpeeler says:

    How awesomely creative. And fun!

  19. I love this and am definitely using it for a party soon!

  20. “Officer, I promise I was only eating cucumbers at the party!!”… :)

  21. Young Wifey says:

    I might have to try this with melon liquor!

  22. These are perfect and so clever. Inexpensive and very classy looking.

  23. These seem perfectly suited for me. Can I order a baker’s dozen?

  24. Kristy says:

    What a fabulous little idea! Or big idea, little shooter. Love it!

  25. rsmacaalay says:

    Very cool idea!

  26. Now how clever is that!

  27. egg me on says:

    Pew, pew! That’s me shooting these shooters into my mouth. Awesome.

  28. Carolyn Chan says:

    What an amazing idea! You could get seriously hammered from the sheer cuteness of them.

  29. Pingback: Cucumber Week, Day 8: Cucumber Round Up « Young Wifey's Blog

  30. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Lots of Game Day Apps | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  31. petit4chocolatier says:

    I definitely need to make these!!

  32. Pingback: Party Drinks | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

