Life’s a Peach

Perfect for those 100-degree days we’re already having

If you haven’t noticed we’re in the middle of peach season down here. One thing we love to do with fresh fruit is make a simple dressing for it. (Toss about a 1/4 cup honey, 1/4 cup torn mint leaves and the juice from half a lemon or lime with roughly four cups fruit.)

We’ve seen a number of recipes from other bloggers that we can’t wait to try like the grilled peach feta salad with lavender dressing over at Chef in Disguise. There’s also the fresh peach ice cream over at Sweet Pea’s Kitchen; the just peachy summer muffins over at Sweet & Crumby and the peachy peach pie at The Southern Lady Cooks.

Here are some of our favorite ways to use peaches:

Peachy Keen Pancakes

A little slice of sunlight

Cherry and Peach Bruschetta with Brie and Port Reduction

An appetizer for more than two

Deep Dish Peach Cobblers for Two

Simple cleanup skills there

Sweet Pea’s Peach Crumble Bars

Some desserts are just meant for stacking

Peaches and Cream Pancakes

May the syrup be with you

Peach Upside Down Cake

Peaches are little slices of heaven

Grilled Peaches with Sweet Vermouth

This tastes much better than sweet vermouth

Peach Jam with Amaretto

So very healthy

Bastardized Bellinis

A lot of bubbles

Fuzzy Screwdrivers

Picture a beach in the background

Peach Margaritas

Now this is how to eat fruit

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Breakfast, Dessert, Food, Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Life’s a Peach

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    The peach crumble bars were so very very good especially warm and with a scoop of french vanilla ice cream. I can almost taste them from last summer.

    I’m tempted by the fuzzy screwdrivers and when I finally decide on the brand of vodka to buy (and a small bottle of peach schnapps) I’ll give them a shot. :)

  2. It is hotter than hell here in the Peach State. Calls for a fuzzy screwdriver for sure.

  3. bulldogsturf says:

    Didn’t know you could do so much with a peach…

  4. mydearbakes says:

    OMG. you make such lovely bakes! Yummy! =)

  5. Alicia says:

    That is a lot of options! And they all look great. Yum… How about peach infused bourbon? That peach jam with amaretto sounds so good!

  6. The peaches and blueberries and the grilled peaches really do it for me.

  7. rutheh says:

    Peachy keen! All of them. What a compendium.

  8. Pingback: Spiced Poached Peaches « Chica Andaluza

  9. Oh my it is hard to choose which recipe I want to try first. I love peaches and all those amazing recipes are making me hungry
    thank you very much for the shout out, I really appreciate it

  10. Eva Taylor says:

    Our peaches are not in season yet, but you can bet that I’ll be coming back to this post when they are. Incidentally, I made Sawsan’s peach salad and it was TDF! So good.

  11. Love the bruschettas.

  12. ChgoJohn says:

    A great post with a little something for everyone. I’ve been thinking of canning peaches this year and your amaretto recipe will definitely come in handy if I do. Thanks!

  13. OMG! What a wide range of delicious choices…let’s take it from the top….

  14. Zo Zhou says:

    Wow. I am so sending this to my parents! They have multiple peach trees, although most are “blackboy” peaches (doesn’t that sound PC!). I don’t know why I had never though of honey, lemon and mint dressing with blueberries…that sounds absolutely heavenly (admittedly I have only recently begun to warm to mint, but still). Thanks for this awesome roundup!

  15. Oh my! These recipes all look great. Can’t wait to try them. The heat is terrible here. We are under an advisory today and setting records for this time of the year. Stay cool and eat peaches! Have a great weekend.

  16. Great Photos – Love, love the pancakes – ha! – thanks for sharing! Happy Saturday!

  17. Mad Dog says:

    You had me with the first one!

  18. billpeeler says:

    Love the peach upside down cake – might just have to give that a try! Also, love using mint in dressings like in the first picture. Looks downright delicious and delectable —-

  19. P. Graham says:

    These all just look peachy! ;) Seriously the first one is making my mouth water. I would totally go and get some if I wouldn’t turn into a raisin as soon as I step into the nyc heat.

  20. Young Wifey says:

    At first glance of the pic I thought that was a mango/blueberry/basil fruit salsa (which I’m so going to make now). Your peach fruit salad is simple and looks/sounds so tasty!
    Since Hubster and I were married in July, our wedding cake had fresh Georgia peaches layered in the middle, shipped up fresh that morning. Yum!

  21. Very juicy looking round-up!

  22. rsmacaalay says:

    Peaches is one of my favourite fruits, the recipes above made me drool a lot

  23. Courtney says:

    I’m thinking you guys like peaches… good thing I do, too!

  24. spree says:

    Love peaches from the grill and your jam sounds pretty awesome!

  25. Kristy says:

    I’ll have a taste of everything with a full glass of the margarita!

  26. Love…and am re-blogging :)
    Gorgeous post!

  27. Carolyn Chan says:

    You’re so lucky to have an abundance of peaches. I looooove the grilled peach recipe.

  28. Reblogged this on Zen and Genki and commented:
    I’m back from my long Canada Day weekend camping extravaganza and it was mah-ve-lous, darling! Just as fabulous? As I strolled back into my new week, a welcome, wonderful realization: PEACH SEASON IS HERE!
    I am a full on Peach Freak. I love those sweet, juicy goodies and have yet to find a peach preparation, recipe, drink, juice or preserve that I didn’t enjoy. Honestly. Not a one. Peaches are my favourite summer fruit and can be enjoyed in such a huge variety of ways, that I wanted to find an article to share with you that was creative, beautiful, tasty and full of delectable peaches as they start to fill your local farmer’s markets and grocery stores. Mission accomplished!
    Yes, peaches are rich in niacin, thiamine, potassium, calcium and beta carotene. Yes, all of the above spell lots of Vitamin A, antioxidants and cleansing benefits (Eastern brewed teas made of peach pits supposedly work wonders on the digestive system), but my main concern for this celebration-of-peach-post is flavour and pizazz (insert my hearts-in-eyes face checking out those golden grilled peaches with sweet vermouth :).
    I hope you enjoy all of the unique recipes in this reblog! I would love to hear your favourite ways to eat peaches (feel free to email me your recommended recipes!) Or, let me know which of these ideas tickle your fancy!
    Hope you are having a peachy week so far!
    With much grande love and gratitude,
    Anne xo

  29. Sandra C. says:

    tou make me feel hungry! this food sounds like a good mecinie for the body and the soul thank you!

  30. souldipper says:

    The fresh peaches and blueberries with sprigs of mint and some honey? YES. Perfect way to end a plant based dinner.

  31. Veggiewitch says:

    What a wonderful post to find your blog by!
    AWESOME! ♥
    Veggiewitch

  32. Who’d have thought peaches were so versatile? What a collection!

Leave a Reply

