Chicken with Green Tomato, Apple and Brie

The cheese leakage is a bit suspect here

Into every garden a green tomato must fall…

Chicken with Green Tomato, Apple and Brie

  • 2 chicken breasts, deboned, skinned, pounded out to about a 1/4 inch
  • Roughly 2 ounces brie, thinly sliced
  • Roughly 1/4 apple, sliced thinly
  • Roughly 1/2 green tomato, sliced thinly
  • 1 tbsp fresh dill
  • salt/pepper
  • olive oil

Preheat oven to 365. Lightly oil a casserole pan and set aside. Salt and pepper each chicken breast and drizzle just a bit of olive oil on each side. On one half of each breast layer tomatoes, brie and apples. Make sure the brie is pushed back as far as possible to give it room to melt. Sprinkle with fresh dill. fold the chicken over and place in pan. Cook until done, about 25-30 minutes.

Extras: What to do with the extra apple? Eat it. What to do with the extra green tomato? Dice it up and saute it in a bit of butter with salt and pepper, throw in some steamed fresh green beans and more fresh dill and you’ve got yourself a nice side.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Chicken with Green Tomato, Apple and Brie

  1. This looks fantastic! I love stuffed chicken.

  2. Looks tasty! (And if it didn’t leak, you didn’t put enough cheese in it!)

  3. rutheh says:

    Looks wonderful. Will have to give it a try. LIke the tips for the “side”.

  4. I am certain I am feeling a fried green tomato post coming soon from your website…. I love these nice combinations of flavors and with the dill. Yum Yum!

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    I always thought you’d get a belly ache if you ate unrippened fruit. Go figure. Happy Friday!

  6. Oh, yum… I love the apple-brie-chicken combo already. The green tomato should add just the right acidic ‘bite’ to it.
    Maybe come September, I’ll have tomatoes…

  7. Lovely – and I love the “what to do with the extras”!

  8. Karen says:

    Sounds like a nice combination of flavors.

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    I’m still a few weeks away from green tomatoes but I will definitely keep this recipe in mind. In the meantime, I’ll “get by” just using brie & apples to stuff the breasts. Ha!
    Great tip about creating a side with the green tomatoes, too.

  10. Caroline says:

    Oozing cheese is never a problem. Bring it on! Apple and brie are delicious together…and paired with chicken? Even better. :)

  11. Love the chicken recipes! Just when you think you have made every chicken dish under the sun…

  12. I’ve had apple and brie before in a grilled panini. It was delicious, so I can only imagine this chicken version was tasty as well. Btw, my panini also had chocolate in with the apple and brie.

  13. Ok, so now I know what to do with all the green toms that aren’t going to ripen now winter has set in.. :)

  14. Kristy says:

    Now this is a chicken dinner I would be excited to eat! Great combo and like the sides too.

  15. Courtney says:

    You just know a dish is good when it include ‘cheese leakage.’ Just sayin.

  16. Lynda says:

    Nice! I am now wishing for fallen tomatoes.

  17. Interesting concept and flavor combo.

  18. billpeeler says:

    I used to dislike dill – only recently have I started warming up to it – with the brie and apples and even the green tomato – I’m sure this was just delicious —

  19. rsmacaalay says:

    Brie, apples and chicken, Yummy!

  20. egg me on says:

    Whoa, whoa whoa … brie, apples, green tomatoes and chicken?! You’ve got my vote.

  21. Such a great idea! Sounds delicious, thanks for sharing!

  22. Carolyn Chan says:

    Great combo ! Love the extras :)

  23. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Apples Galore | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

