Cucumber Martini

The mint plants are taking steroids

These are so easy to make that seconds are in order.

Cucumber Martini

Pour liqueur and vodka in a shaker with ice. Shake. Strain into a martini glass. Top with soda. Garnish with a cucumber slice or a ridiculously large mint leave.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Cucumber Martini

  1. Carolyn Chan says:

    Refreshingly alcoholic !

  2. Karista says:

    I never knew there was such a thing as cucumber liqueur. Perfect for a summer cocktail! I’m so making these this weekend.

  3. I could go for one of these right now – it’s 1am and still 90 degrees out!

  4. Sounds very refreshing – didn’t know you got cucumber liqueur. :-) Mandy

  5. This sounds like it could really freshen things up in the summer. Too cold for me now. :)

  6. You do have the most amazing liqueurs in your drinks cabinet!

  7. Yum, perfect for summer!

  8. Hey, MINT! THAT, I have…in HUGE quantities.
    The cukes just got their first leaves, so we’re still waiting on that…
    Sounds refreshing!

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    I’m going to have to check around for Thatchers. I’ve not seen it but I haven’t really ben looking for it, either. Thanks for the heads-up; these martinis sound really good.

  10. Eva Taylor says:

    Cucumber martini? A martini purist, sorry but I’ll take a pass. Happy Thursday!!

  11. sallybr says:

    SOunds great. I’ll take three. (considering how little I normally drink, this tells you how my day is going…. and it’s ONLY 7am! ;-)

  12. Robin says:

    This sounds wonderful. It’s a little early in the day for it just yet, but that gives me time to find the ingredients. :)

  13. Mad Dog says:

    I think I’d like it drier than that, but nice combination ;-)

  14. Lauren says:

    Mmm, yes please. Think you could infuse your own cucumber liqueur? I may have to experiment…

  15. I love cucumber cocktails. The added freshness of cucumbers along with the zing from the alcohol make for a really nice drink. This one sounds fantastic.

  16. egg me on says:

    Man! With the little heat wave we’re having up here, I could literally drink 8 of these right now. I’m sure I’d regret that in the morning … but who cares? It’s hot and I need a cocktail.

  17. Courtney says:

    I’m thinking thirds.

  18. cucumber liqueur? Get out of town!
    Just looking at the company’s website, have you tried any of the others?

  19. a sensible habit says:

    Had this at a bar recently. Very tasty and yes the mint in my garden is taking over too!

  20. Refreshing! could use one about now in this 90 + degree heat!

  21. Karen says:

    I guess you would be “cool as a cucumber” if you have one of these.

  22. Yes please! Thanks for pointing out cucumber liqueur, I never knew it existed!

  23. Lynda says:

    Gosh, I missed this. So happy I found it.

  24. Joseph Tkach says:

    So much sugar in this drink, especially if you top it with lemon-lime soda. Plus, you’re missing out on an exceptional opportunity; the chance to pair cucumber and gin! If you really want to work the cucumber angle, and retain the allusion to the martini’s heritage, may I suggest:
    1.5 oz gin (preferably Hendrick’s or Martin Miller)
    .5 oz dry vermouth
    .5 oz cucumber liqueur
    Garnish with a cucumber slice.
    If there is no juice or egg or cream in your drink, stirring is more appropriate than shaking, as it will preserve the clarity and smooth texture of your drink. Shaking aerates the drink, and will dull the subtle flavors of your spirits.

  25. A great idea. Very summery and fresh.

Leave a Reply

