Orzo-Stuffed Zucchini

I tip my hat to you sir

This is a great vegetarian stuffing, but meat can be added for those who wish it. Make sure to choose a squash that can stand up on its own when baking.

Stuffed Zucchini

  • 4 round zucchini the size of a softball
  • 1 small red onion diced fine
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms sliced thin
  • 2 tbsp parsley
  • 5 sun-dried tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup orzo
  • 1 cup chicken or vegetable stock
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh dill
  • Feta
  • Salt/pepper

Cut the tops off each squash. With a spoon scoop out the flesh until the walls are about 1/4″ thick. Chop up the zucchini insides and season with salt. Set aside for 15 minutes. Meanwhile bring stock to a boil and add orzo. Season with salt and pepper, cover and cook over a low heat until done, about 25 minutes. Soak sun-dried tomatoes in hot water until soft, then dice up. In a large frying pan heat two tablespoons butter and saute onion over low heat until it begins to caramelize, about 20 minutes. Add mushrooms and cook until liquid is released. Add zucchini flesh, sun-dried tomatoes and one tablespoon parsley and cook until zucchini begins to brown. Empty frying pan into a large bowl and add orzo. Mix well, then add remaining parsley, nutmeg and dill. Season with salt and pepper and add as much feta as desired. Scoop filling into empty squash cavities and replace tops. Bake at 365 degrees until done, about 20 minutes. Serve hot.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Orzo-Stuffed Zucchini

  1. spree says:

    I can’t think of a single thing better to do with zucchini than stuff it with orzo and feta et al! Those softballs must have come from your garden?? Nice!

  2. This looks like fun to eat! I’m going to be looking for the round zucchinis now. I bet it would work as zucchini boats too…

  3. Clarissa says:

    Very nice and healthy recipe, can I use vegetable stock instead of chicken?

  4. Carolyn Chan says:

    I’ve never seen a round zucchini but as @sprint2thetable says, guess you could do zucchini boats too. Great idea !

  5. Nice idea for using the endless amount of courgettes at this time of the year:)

  6. Round zucchini are so cute.

  7. Very lovely! I planted some round zucchini this year, but they are still in the baby stage. I hope they will grow well, so I can try out your recipe.

  8. These are so cute and what’s not to like about a stuffed vegetable?

  9. Eva Taylor says:

    We generally don’t get the spherical zucchini up here; these look very cool!

  10. ambrosiana says:

    Beautiful! I just saw some yesterday while I was doing shopping in the market so I guess your post is a sign!!!!!!

  11. This looks fabulous! I was just pondering over new ideas for zucchini yesterday while wandering our farmer’s market!

  12. ChgoJohn says:

    These look great and if they taste as good as your stuffed butternut squash, I’m in!

  13. Not going to lie: I’d make myself veggie and meat-stuffed versions as both sound delicious!

  14. Mad Dog says:

    That’s my kind of vegetarian – no physical meat pieces, but plenty of stock ;-)

  15. niasunset says:

    Yessssssss this is one of our dishes too… But the recipe is a little bit different, for example with meat (mince) and fresh mint and rice… etc. I loved it. And we serve them with yogurt… Thanks and Love, nia

  16. So cute and delicious!

  17. Kristy says:

    I have never seen a round zucchini before. I love this stuffing mix…mmmm. Great patio meal!

  18. Lynda says:

    Wonderful veggie dish. The zukes are perfect for stuffing.

  19. Courtney says:

    Mmmm, sounds like a great way to use our garden zucchini – if they ever get enough sun to grow. :)

  20. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a round zucchini! They’re very cool, as is your stuffing recipe, thank you! Love the orzo…

  21. Such a clever recipe! I am growing zukes for the first time this year, but not the round :-(, will have to adapt and conquer!

  22. Just back from the UK to find the courgettes going craxy in the garden, so this recipe is perfect!

  23. egg me on says:

    No sir, I’d like to tip my hat to YOU. Great recipe!

  24. Karen says:

    We don’t see the round zucchini in Maine but making zucchini boats would be great.

Leave a Reply

