Blackberry Scones

I may have bought a few too many berries

We don’t make scones nearly enough and it has nothing to do with the questions we get from across the ponders and state siders on the difference between scones and biscuits, biscuits and cookies, crips and chips, chips and fries and so forth. We won’t field such questions. We don’t always know the answer. Also, excuse us Mr. Frugal Feeding, but we still can’t say tidbit the British way without giggling.

If you’re an American, just watch BBC. And if you’re a Brit, well you should just watch BBC too. It’s really good. Showtime doesn’t have Doctor Who. Anyway, why don’t we make scones that often? We’re too busy making biscuits.

Blackberry Scones

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk (see note)
  • juice and zest from one lemon
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup blackberries, chopped roughly
  • 1 tbsp cornmeal

Preheat oven to 400. In medium bowl, combine flour, sugar, salt. Cut in butter until mixture is crumbly. Stir in lemon zest. In a small bowl, combine egg, lemon juice and buttermilk. Add to dry mix all at once. Stir until just moistened and add berries, stirring just to combine. Turn out on a floured counter and gently knead until it forms a rough dough, about five times. Place on a cookie sheet dusted with the cornmeal. Cut into eight wedges but don’t separate. Bake until golden, about 25 minutes. Cut into wedges and serve warm.

Notes: If you don’t have buttermilk, you can put a half tablespoon of lemon juice or vinegar in your measuring cup and fill it the rest of the way to the one-half cup mark with regular milk.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Blackberry Scones

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    Scones are always a treat though I’ve never had them with the traditional clotted cream. I guess with the fruit inside you don’t need to serve them with jam. :)

  2. I love scones but it took me nearly 6 months of living in Australia before I could call the scons. I want that o to be long. My brain tells me it should be.

    These raspberry scones look delicious. Just a bit of whipped cream, maybe a dab of jam and that’s coffee break sorted! Nobody here would eat a scone for breakfast. I learned that when I made some for breakfast and everyone looked at me funny and didn’t touch one of them.

  3. Thanks for the tip on making a buttermilk substitute. I never have any when I need it, and too much of it when I don’t!

  4. I love a good scone. :-) Mandy

  5. Carolyn Chan says:

    Ooh I wish I could reach in to your photo and tear off a piece of your giant scone ! perfect with a cup of tea :)

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    Too many berries? Not when you know how to make scones that look this good.

  7. Looks wonderful…and HUGE!

  8. rsmacaalay says:

    I wish I have many berries now like you but its out of season so I have to wait for 6 more months

  9. I’ve been hankering for some scones lately, and now you tease me with some blackberry ones?
    Too cruel.

  10. niasunset says:

    WOW! This is what I wish now… Thank you, love, nia

  11. There’s such a thing as too many berries? Really?
    Blackberries still in infancy around here…but I have strawberries!

  12. Jessi says:

    I woke up from a crazy bad dream at 5 this morning, decided I’d get up and check out the blogosphere, see what’s been cooking lately. There these were! Blackberry Scones! I bought a ton of blackberries yesterday! So these are baking in my oven as we speak. Will be perfect with our first sip of coffee this morning.

    I noticed in the directions, it doesn’t specify when to add the blackberries, just a tiny oversight:) I also noticed my blackberries were pretty tart, not as sweet as I’d hoped so I added sugar to the recipe and topped my scones with raw sugar before baking.

    Thank you for the good morning inspiration! My family will love us both for this! A beautiful way to start a Wednesday!!

    Jessi in North Florida

  13. I don’t know why, but the blackberries I’ve been buying in New York City have been OUTSTANDING this year. These scones look like the perfect way to use them (at least the ones I’m not shoveling into my mouth). Great recipe!

  14. Eva Taylor says:

    The scones look wonderful. Blackberries are a great addition.
    I couldn’t help but notice the lovely produce you had pictured in a past post. I just pulled out my first green onions and am very excited about using them!

  15. sybaritica says:

    The berry amount looks just right to me :)

  16. billpeeler says:

    Nothing better than good scones – I like both sweet and savory. And, this time of year, how can you go wrong with some-type-of-berry scones?! Love it —

  17. Scones are always a crowd pleaser!

  18. Caroline says:

    Yum I love scones, these look great! Never too many blueberries. :)

  19. I could eat blackberry scones everyday, but I don’t.

  20. Once upon a time I made scones for the small masses every single day, so I sorta got burnt out on making them. However, I’m thinking I need to get back into the kitchen get backing now. :-)

  21. TasteFood says:

    Wonderful scones! Love the blackberries.

  22. Michelle says:

    What a great idea!

  23. nancyc says:

    I love blackberries…I’ll have to try this recipe out!

  24. Kristy says:

    I’ve never made scones and now I’m torn between these and Charles’ cheese scones. You know how I feel about berries!

  25. egg me on says:

    “Blackberry Scones” actually sounds quite British to me. It’s the word scone, mostly. But “blackberry” probably sounds pretty cool with an English accent. Pour a cup of Earl Grey and you’re ready for afternoon tea time. Great recipe, ol’ chap!

  26. Courtney says:

    Keep bringing on the blackberry recipes! Love them.

  27. Christina says:

    Oh yes!! I love a good scone in the morning…especially one with some fresh blackberries! Yummy! :)

  28. Mad Dog says:

    There’s worse – depending on where you come from in Britain, scones can be pronounced scon or scone!
    You seem to be getting a grasp of British English anyway ;-)

  29. Its all healthy ingredients including blackberry. The tough to find the blackberries. Then healthy meals or snack are just around the corner.

  30. You’re so funny! I got some blackberries on sale in the market last week, and planned to make scones yesterday and made a crisp instead. Now I know what to do with the rest of them…can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

