First Tomatoes

What to do with all this produce

Here is the first tomato, jalapeno, and cayenne pepper harvest.

Not that I’m bragging or anything.

Maybe I am a little.

Guess what I made with them all.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to First Tomatoes

  1. rutheh says:

    You should brag. People are still putting plants in the ground here with no sign of any tomatoes soon. Soon it will be tomato season up north and I can’t wait. Enjoy your bounty.

  2. Beautiful vegetables. No tomatoes here yet.

  3. OMG my first ones were never that beautiful. That’s because I could never wait until they were fully ripe. I had a bird problem. Magpies really like tomatoes. I’m so envious! We do have very good commercial tomatoes up here called Noosa Reds that are available most of the year at the local farmers markets. They’re addictive. I haven’t been successful growing tomatoes in pots up here.

    I’m very envious and here’s a huge pat on the back to whichever one of you picked them.

  4. Yvette says:

    Mexican or Italian? Great fresh produce, Lucky you! x

  5. Carolyn Chan says:

    They look so delicious ! And I guessed correctly (well, not exactly but I thought of a salsa :))

  6. Tandy says:

    Awesome! I hope whatever you made had alcohol in it ;)

  7. I’m not jealous – brag away!
    They look great, and with any luck, there will be tons more soon!

  8. ceciliag says:

    Of course you are bloody bragging, and it s not just a first tomato but a BOWL FULL! I am thinking you made a sensational little fresh salsa.. c

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    Bragging? Nah! If I had tomatoes this early I’d be shouting it from my rooftop. Just yesterday I was examining my plants hoping for some sign of a flower! Alas! None was to be found. Luckily, our farmers markets have fresh tomatoes that actually taste good now. They’ll do until my plants start producing — the slackers!

  10. Wonderful, lucky you! :)

  11. Ok, you know I´m jealous don´t you? I have salsa envy ;)

  12. Lucky duck, I say. Tomatoes don’t do well here at altitude, not hot enough to produce great tomatoes without a hot house. Good on you!

  13. Mad Dog says:

    Good job the dog doesn’t like/hate tomatoes!

  14. joshuafagans says:

    Wow! I my plants are doing well but I’m still a good way out from the first tomato harvest. Looks great!

  15. Being without a garden this summer I’m more than somewhat jealous of your first tomatoes. Hope you enjoyed em you bastard!! JK. Hope you have been well while I’ve been away and had a great weekend. Cheers!

  16. billpeeler says:

    Looks awesome – congrats on the first of hopefully a lot more to come —

  17. A fresh salsa with some white onion would be great….All healthy with good nutrition factor

  18. Courtney says:

    This is SO bragging. Our sad little tomato plants are still only about a foot tall. (darn rain!)

  19. I’m jealous but I would brag if I had a haul like that. Good for you!

  20. Looks like a Salsa in the making in that bowl:) Happy Monday!

  21. egg me on says:

    What a great little harvest. Can’t wait to see what you guys whip up with these. Salsa perhaps?

  22. Yankeepants says:

    Worth bragging about — look at those colors!

  23. kat says:

    I remember in high school, my parents had a tomato plant in our backyard! It grew so much! We had way more tomatoes than we knew what to do with lol. Your harvest looks like it’s going to be a great one this summer season :)

  24. Oh, you definitely should brag! These look fantastic!

  25. niasunset says:

    Wonderful they are… Thanks dear Rufus, love, nia

  26. How exciting it is to pick your first tomatoes each year! You have some beauties in you bowl….looks like salsa to me.

  27. Karen says:

    I’ve just planted my tomato plants at our summer cottage in Maine and you are harvesting your first ones…nice. It is so interesting how different climate zones influence crops.

  28. So jealous…we have tiny tiny little green tomatoes just starting!

  29. Wow have you been poor margaritas on your harvest to encourage their growth? Good for you.

  30. Quite a first harvest! Good job!

  31. Yay! Now that’s summer in a bowl

  32. Kristy says:

    Very nice! Not a bad start to the harvest season at all. I wish I had the skill/time/space/patience to grow a garden. I keep thinking…one of these days. For now, our little herbs will have to do. :)

Leave a Reply

