Lamb Chops

Bacon would be a good addition

Once again lamb was on clearance at the grocery store and these little chops were just to lovely to pass up. Corn meal can be substituted for the semolina flour.

Semolina Crusted Lamb Chops in a Mushroom Sauce

  • 4 lamb chops
  • 1 1/2 cup semolina flour
  • 1 cup white flour
  • 1 egg
  • Dry white wine
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh sage
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh mint
  • 1 shallot minced
  • 1 cup dried shitake mushrooms soaked in 2 cups boiling water
  • 1 clove garlic minced
  • 1 cup beef broth

After 30 minutes squeeze all the juice from the soaked mushrooms and chop into small bits. Save the soaking liquid. Mix semolina flour, mint and sage together and season with salt and pepper. In a seperate bowl beat egg with some wine until light yellow. In another bowl mix white flour with salt and pepper. Prehear oven to 360 degrees. Heat 2 tbsp butter in a frying pan big enough to hold all the chops in one layer. Dredge chops in white flour then egg batter then semolina mixture and brown on both sides in frying pan. Place pan in oven and cook until chops are done, turning once, about 10 minutes. Remove chops and tent with foil. In another pan heat 1 tbsp butter and fry the shallot until softened. Add the mushrooms and cook until browned. Add garlic and cook until fragrant. Add the soaking liquid and beef broth and deglaze pan. Reduce sauce by half then add chops and cook for two minutes turning meat once. Serve with sauce on top and garnish with chopped parsley.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Lamb, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Lamb Chops

  1. rutheh says:

    I love lamb chops. Your new twist with the semolina flour will probably make them better than I can imagine. Yours look great.

  2. I’ve never coated lamb chops in anything. Just pop on the bbq and eat. My lips are wanting to bite into these!

  3. Which store do you go to that has lamb on clearance? Lucky!

  4. I’m going to try this one. Very nice guys.

  5. That looks very nice Greg. Love the carrots.

  6. Dashing down to the kitchen to see if I have any lamb chops left. Delicious. :-) Mandy

  7. Rock Salt says:

    It’s 9am… Is it too early for lamb chops?

  8. Eva Taylor says:

    Lamb never goes on sale in Toronto.

  9. Love your mushroom gravy…Picked up a bunch of dried porcinis last week, and Hubby’s making mushroom sauces for everything.
    Not that I’m complaining! ;)

  10. Mad Dog says:

    Uncle Monty would love those ;-)

  11. Rachel says:

    Lamb is *never* on clearance here. Dang… I’m jealous! Before it got so chi-chi popular I used to eat lamb shanks often – now they’re nearly out of my price range – and they’re mostly bone! Lucky you… mmmmmm!!

  12. These look beautiful. I love the semolina and the herbs.

  13. I have never made lamb chops. But your frequent recipes are tempting me… Another food adventure I must have in the near future.

  14. ceciliag says:

    just so happens I have some lamb in my freezer.. ! looking good! c

  15. Darn it, there was a deal on loin chops at the wholesalers yesterday, but I passed it up and bought pork belly instead. Now I wish I hadn’t!

  16. Ooh, this is a lovely and different way of doing it…will have to remember this!

  17. TasteFood says:

    Loving all the lamb!

  18. May I have your grocery store, please? You find the best things on sale.

  19. Karen says:

    Lucky you, lamb is never on sale at our markets.

  20. egg me on says:

    Chop, chop, chop! That’s my mouth making chewing noises because I wish I was chomping on that great chop. Other people have said this too, but lamb is never on sale up here. Well, maybe it is … but I never look for it because I always think it’s not on sale. See the dilemma? Ha. Great recipe.

  21. Everything is better with bacon, but this looks mighty fine as is!

Leave a Reply

