Blood Orange Martini

Drinks should be prepared for rain

Like a cosmo, but better and you won’t have to think of a particular actress who happens to resemble a horse from the neck up.

Blood Orange Martini

Place all liquors in a shaker filled with ice. Shake. Pour into a martini glass. Cut orange slice in half. Squeeze half into the glass and give a little stir. Garnish with the other half.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Blood Orange Martini

  1. sallybr says:

    I don’t know how of any particular actress connected to a Cosmopolitan, my mind is drawing a blank – but could it be Julia Roberts????

  2. nrhatch says:

    That drink looks delish . . . the umbrella puts it OVER the top! :D

  3. I didn’t know there was a blood orange liquer..liqueur.. never could spell that one!

  4. thehaleyway says:

    Sounds delightful!

  5. Ah, poor SJP! Love the drink :)

  6. LOL! That’s so mean! But funny. And my favourite fruit in a drink, now that’s perfect!

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    I love a cocktail that’s prepared for inclement weather. Who am I kidding? I love a cocktail.

  8. In spite of Sarah I like a good cosmo :)

    This blood orange martini does look beautiful.

  9. Lovely cocktail and very funny caption!

  10. peasepudding says:

    We love martinis, so much so we are having a martini party in a few weeks, I’ll add this to the list. Could be a messy night.

  11. Ha! I always thought her horse-face also resembled a foot, a la Family Guy.

  12. niasunset says:

    I loved so much… seems so beautiful,…. Thank you, with my love, nia

  13. Anything with blood orange is a winner in my book.

  14. egg me on says:

    Nice. That’s one Seriously Jammin’ Potion. Ah! See what I did there? Oh, maybe not.

  15. Mad Dog says:

    Very good indeed – perhaps James Bond would like one ;-)

  16. Karista says:

    Just say Martini, and I’m there!

  17. Andrea says:

    Too funny! Love blood oranges! Yum!

  18. Eva Taylor says:

    Wow, Greg, that is harsh.
    Timing couldn’t be more perfect, we’re gearing up to leaving tomorrow morning for the Big Apple. Happy weekend! YAY!

  19. billpeeler says:

    An umbrella in a cocktail automatically elevates it to another level. Looks so refreshing!

  20. Very funny… hey, I’m a big fan of Sex in the city… ;) The cocktail looks and sounds delicious, even if is not SJP friendly :)

  21. Kristy says:

    Omg!!! You are hilarious! I know Mike would agree with you. And I wish there was one of these waiting for me at home. Wishing will make it so right?!

  22. Yum, these look great and perfect for summer!

  23. Just looking at the picture makes me feel like I’m on vacation!

  24. Jessica says:

    Fact: I ordered a cosmo on my 21st birthday, probably because of that show. Blood orange sounds nice!

Leave a Reply

