Grilled Turkey Legs with Orange, Honey and Chipotle

That’s a meaty leg

Memorial Day is less than a week away. For many of you that means firing up the grill to mark the beginning of summer. Summer starts Jan. 20 here and ends Dec. 15, so we grill year round. But we’ll still be marking the figurative start of the summer season, and hoping we only have 15 or so consecutive days of triple-digit heat this year as opposed to 59.

Orange and Chipotle Turkey Legs

  • 4 turkey legs
  • 2 cups fresh orange juice
  • 2 chipotle peppers adobe sauce washed off and chopped into a paste.
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • Salt/pepper

Mix all ingredients together and marinate for at least two hours turning once. Grill over moderate heat until done.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Grilled Turkey Legs with Orange, Honey and Chipotle

  1. nrhatch says:

    Gobble. Gobble. :D

  2. Yum! I wish it was easier to get turkey legs here. It’s not a common thing here. We get frozen turkeys and occasional turkey legs but you have to be there first in best dressed or you’re outta luck. Love the glaze on those legs!

    Like you it’s never really “winter” here even though the calendar says it is. We’re still wearing shorts and going barefoot and I just tossed the ball in the pool for the dog to get the sand off. The days are short so I know it’s winter. :)

  3. Turkey legs and wings are great for grilling. Those look good.

  4. Wonderful dark, sticky and tempting look to these turkey drumsticks. They look perfect.

  5. Mad Dog says:

    Very good glaze.

  6. peasepudding says:

    That’s a very short summer! I’m glad your not waiting for summer to start grilling though.

  7. That’s one yummy marinade!
    The Fish Lady in me says Mahi or Sword…be good for salmon, too.

  8. Eva Taylor says:

    What a great combo of flavours, Greg. I do love turkey and having it year round sounds great. But triple digit temperatures? Not sure I would trade our negative temps even for that!

  9. Mmm the glaze on that looks amazing.

  10. ceciliag says:

    You must have a sweet smelling house with being able to cook outside all the time, these look great. I am pleased to see you back in my box again. You and many of my other friends were not turning up for the longest time.. now weirdly there you all are and i do not have to off in search of you. Drop in again!! c

  11. egg me on says:

    Haha, I won’t even say it. Okay, I have to. Nearly 11 months of grilling time?? Man. I might need to reconsider some things. Awesome, simple marinade. Looks great.

  12. eva626 says:

    we are having a bbq on saturday. ill take pictures. But i think yours looks better. like most times lol. but i try.

  13. Andrea says:

    Total yum! Would have to use thighs instead, no one in my house will eat a leg!

  14. ChgoJohn says:

    Not to minimize your great marinade but the idea of buying and grilling turkey legs is one I’d not considered. This I have to try. Thanks!

  15. TasteFood says:

    I hope you have only 15 too – yikes. Love the chipotle marinade!

  16. billpeeler says:

    Love that you grilled turkey legs – the marinade flavors sound perfect for grilling poultry . . . .

  17. kristina says:

    Orange, honey, and chipotle turkey sounds like party food to me! I still haven’t planned what I’m making or even doing. I suspect I am not as organized as you two are :)

  18. That IS a meaty leg…looks scrumptious!

  19. Kristy says:

    Great flavor combo and a great way to officially kick off summer!

  20. spree says:

    Fantastic flavors for the grill (however many digits!) Looks delicious!

  21. Impressive. I associate turkey legs with the summer festival “Taste of Chicago”.

  22. I usually equate turkey legs with Mexican Mole, but never thought to grill one. You’ve got my favorite combo of flavors going on here. Nice job!

  23. Those turkey legs would have the guys here drooling! Just the size of the drumstick alone, but this must have also smelled so good on the barbecue!!

  24. rsmacaalay says:

    I can already see my self holding that turkey on one hand and a ice cold beer on the other. That looks phenomenal

  25. I love how simple this is! But the flavors sound spectacular.

  26. Great flavours, this sounds delish!

  27. Courtney says:

    Love the combo of flavors here. :)

  28. KarenCooking says:

    Comment to me from my daughter after seeing this photo: “Could you make that?”

    You know it looks good when a seven-year-old wants to eat it!

  29. Yowza, those look good!

  30. Carolyn Chan says:

    They look yummy!!!

  31. Jessica says:

    Another great sounding marinade! I’m jealous of your short summer.

Leave a Reply

