Chicken and Shrimp with Pasta

Boo yah shrimp

It has been said that this dish was invented for Napolean himself.

He must have had an Italian chef traveling around with him.

The bread does not have to be fried in butter unless you want a gut like the loser of Waterloo.

Chicken and Shrimp

  • 1 lb shrimp
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 2 ribs celery, diced fine
  • 1 onion, diced fine
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh oregano
  • 2 cups shrimp/chicken stock
  • 1 cup white wine
  • 1 28-ounce can tomatoes
  • Salt/pepper
  • Slices french bread

Debone chicken and cut breasts in half. Shell and devein shrimp. Make a stock from the shrimp shells, chicken bones and left over bits of vegetables. Strain stock and let cool. In a large saute pan melt a tablespoon butter with olive oil. Fry onion and celery until softened. Add garlic and cook until fragrant. Add chicken pieces and brown on each side. Add wine and deglaze pan. Crush tomatoes by hand and add to pan along with oregano and stock. Bring to a boil then reduce heat to a simmer. Cook until sauce thickens and chicken is cooked. Add shrimp and cook until done, about five minutes. Serve over pasta with bread slices fried in butter.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Food, Italian, Recipes, Seafood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Chicken and Shrimp with Pasta

  1. Mmmmm… looks scrumptious! Fried bread and all!

  2. bulldogsturf says:

    Now that not only sounds good, it looks good, love it.

  3. Carolyn Chan says:

    Wow everything in this recipe sounds awesome – and served over a fried slice no less ! I love that you use the shrimp shells and chicken bones – would be such a delicious dish.

  4. So rich! Looks good.

  5. Misky says:

    I’m off to buy some shrimp; I have everything else that I need for this recipe. I think I’ll add a generous pinch of chilli pepper, too, when the oregano is added. :)

  6. Tandy says:

    this is perfect for my supper tonight :)

  7. Comforting and scrumptious. :-) Mandy

  8. Those prawns, sorry Shrimp!, are ENORMOUS! Looks amazing.

  9. aFrankAngle says:

    Yum … Chicken Shrimpatorrie

  10. Eva Taylor says:

    Shrimp and chicken combo sounds delicious. I might even add a few sprinkles of hot pepper flakes just to heat it up.
    In New Orleans there is an historic house that they built just for Napoleon, they were going to rescue him and bring him to America! Lucky you. He didn’t make it.

  11. Is it weird that it’s 7:30am and this is making me hungry? No? Okay.

  12. sallybr says:

    I’ve never made this dish, for some strange reason keeping shrimp and chicken separate my whole life. I am fixing this prejudice soon… great recipe, Greg!

  13. egg me on says:

    Dangit!! Why did I have to read this post so early in the morning? Now I’m going to crave this dish all day. That shrimp’s definitely not chicken. Wow.

  14. zestybeandog says:

    Looks so delectable, I wouldn’t be able able to stop myself from throwing some heat in there! ;)

  15. Colline says:

    This sounds yummily delicious!

  16. Mary says:

    This looks excellent and really simple too! Thanks!

  17. This is gorgeous. No to fried bread.

  18. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve never seen an Italian dish of pasta featuring both poultry and seafood before. This, though, sounds delicious!

  19. billpeeler says:

    This is one of my favorite dishes – yum!

  20. machisan says:

    Another wonderfully creative recipe

  21. Amber says:

    This dish looks fantastic! Love the combination of flavours and the homemade stock!

  22. Cath says:

    Oh, I love the plate. Reminds of a Japanese inspired china.

  23. nrhatch says:

    Deal me in . . . just shrimp, please. :D

  24. Dr Dan says:

    This looks awesome! I just nominated you for ”ONE LOVELY BLOG AWARD”. Congratulations and have fun!

  25. Kristy says:

    Hmmm. My kids would love this. I would prefer just the shrimp though. Looks delicious!

  26. This is “good eats!”

  27. rsmacaalay says:

    Scrumptious, you know if there’s shrimps on a meal definitely it would be my favourite

  28. Caroline says:

    Simple and delicious–my kind of pasta dish! Love the combo of shrimp and chicken.

  29. Is it bad that I immediately wanted to put some of that pasta and sauce on the French bread?

  30. Oh yum, wish I had this now. This is something my family will love.

  31. kat says:

    YUM! Now that looks good!

  32. Karen says:

    Great dish of pasta!

  33. Jessica says:

    Bread slices fried in butter? Bring on the gut.

Leave a Reply

