Strawberry Cobbler for Two

It is a little slice of heaven. Sinful heaven

Because if we made strawberry cobbler for four we still wouldn’t have any leftovers.

Strawberry Cobbler

  • 2 cups fresh strawberries, washed, hulled, halved
  • 1 tsp cinnamon sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • juice from half a lemon
  • 1 tsp cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk (or 1/4 cup regular milk)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tbsp sugar

Combine strawberries, honey, lemon juice and cinnamon sugar in a small bowl and set aside. In a large bowl, mix flour and baking powder. Cut butter into flour mix, until crumbly. Add sugar and buttermilk or milk. Stir to incorporate. The mix will be wet, more of a drop biscuit or almost a cake batter consistency. Preheat oven to 400. Stir cornstarch into berries and divide berries evenly between two buttered 12-ounce dishes or a single two-quart casserole dish. Use a spoon to spread batter evenly over top. (It doesn’t have to be perfect.) Sprinkle with cinnamon sugar if desired. Place baking dish on a cookie sheet lined with foil to catch any leaks. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until tops are golden. They will rise in the oven and fall somewhat and crack once they’re cooled.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Strawberry Cobbler for Two

  1. Sounds perfect for the cool weather we’re having!

  2. peasepudding says:

    Ha, I would be totally the same, no matter how much I made I would eat it all! Looks great, I have been thinking cobbler too but it will have to be with winter fruit now.

  3. rsmacaalay says:

    Look at those flavours bursting out, mmmmm!

  4. Perfect and looks so tempting with that juice oozing out and just waiting to be eaten!

  5. Gah! I can’t wait to get strawberries from the farmers market now. The store-bought ones will have to do for another two weeks. This looks great!

  6. Mad Dog says:

    Fantasuic picture and recipe ;-)

  7. nancyc says:

    I love fruit cobblers…I don’t think I’ve made one with strawberries yet…yum!

  8. Carolyn Chan says:

    I want to dive into that cobbler ! I love the bits that leak out of the sides !

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    Now this is the way to celebrate the return of strawberry season!

  10. nrhatch says:

    Yesterday I had a cranberry orange smoothie for dessert. Your dessert looks better. :D

  11. Oh yay, this looks great and you’re the only person besides me that I’ve seen make a straight strawberry cobbler/crisp without adding rhubarb or some other fruit! Your’s really is a cobbler, though, and one I’ll have to give a go while the strawberries are around. I have two pints in the fridge right now…hmmm.

  12. Two words: gooey goodness.

  13. Tandy says:

    Always a good reason to not make leftovers :)

  14. billpeeler says:

    I love everything about this recipe – this looks awesome, right up my alley!

  15. Eva Taylor says:

    When the temperatures are still a little chilly here in Toronto, a cobbler sounds like a very tasty way to end a meal. I love the colour, Greg, absolutely gorgeous, indeed.

  16. Strawberry heaven. :-) Mandy

  17. Very nice recipe with all healthy ingredients.

  18. Andrea says:

    Oh, I just want to dive into that dish!

  19. TasteFood says:

    So lovely. Love strawberries and cobblers, and two is just right.

  20. Kelly @ Inspired Edibles says:

    Looks ooey, gooey, gorgeous!

  21. zestybeandog says:

    Cobbler is one of my favorite things to make a dessert! I can’t think of a better way to use strawberries!

  22. Courtney says:

    Is it bad that I’d even settle for licking the dish??

  23. Karen says:

    Strawberry cobbler sounds great. I’m waiting from our summer strawberries to arrive.

  24. Kristy says:

    I’d have to make a cobbler for 16 to have a fighting chance in this house. :) Sooooooo good!

  25. All that syrupy strawberry juice… I want this so badly right now!

  26. theslowroasteditalian says:

    This looks amazing! Never had strawberry cobbler, but this is on my list for the summer!!!

  27. Sophie33 says:

    A delightful dessert which I would tottaly devour with my husband Peter! Yum!

  28. egg me on says:

    Ha, two? I could eat that all by myself. The crusty-cobbler topping looks great. And just look at the way the strawberries ooze down the side ………………..

  29. Looks like dangerous gooey goodness to me. :-)

  30. Amber says:

    Your strawberry cobbler looks amazing! Strawberries will soon be in season, so I’m bookmarking this recipe for about a month from now!

  31. Portion control is a hazy concept when desserts like this are involved, and really, it’s mostly fruit and milk, right? How bad can it be for you? ;-)

  32. Mmmm, looking forward to strawberry season already.

  33. Good thinking. I need to get on board with that type of baking. Make only what we SHOULD eat in one sitting. :)

  34. I love any kind of cobbler but blackberry and strawberry are favorites. This looks great.

  35. kat says:

    i love recipes that are just for two! this looks good!

  36. Jessica says:

    haha, before I had seen what you had written above the recipe, I was going to say that I’d make this as-is for myself. And with vanilla ice cream.

  37. Pingback: Ushering in Strawberry Season | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

