Fried Chicken

I feel like chicken tonight baby

Hey, if you are going to fry chicken it better be better than a restaurant’s. Otherwise why deal with the mess?

Buttermilk Fried Chicken

  • 4-6 chicken legs/thighs/breasts skin on bone in
  • Buttermilk
  • Hot Sauce
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh dill
  • 1 tsp grated nutmeg
  • 2 tsp Old Bay seasoning
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh oregano
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 cups flour
  • Salt/pepper

Salt and pepper chicken. If breasts are large use a meat cleaver to cut in half. In a large container pour enough buttermilk to cover the chicken. Add 1 tbsp dill, 1 tbsp oregano, Old Bay and season with salt and pepper. Add hot sauce to taste. Place chicken pieces in mixture and refrigerate overnight. Mix flour with 1 tbsp dill, 1 1bsp oregano, cayenne pepper and nutmeg. Season with salt and pepper. Bring a pot of oil to 325-350 degrees. Do not let the oil get too hot or the chicken will burn on the coating. Dredge chicken pieces in flour then in buttermilk batter again then drop into fryer gently. Let cook until done about 10-15 minutes. Serve with cheddar, jalapeno cornbread.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Fried Chicken

  1. nrhatch says:

    I’ll pass on the chicken . . . but that cornbread looks mighty tasty! :D

  2. Eva Taylor says:

    Now you know I’m not a huge deep fried food lover, but DAMN that looks GOOD!

  3. boogie says:

    this looks like a tasty recipe. I like that there’s fresh dill & I’ve never seen a fried chicken recipe with old bay! I must try this! thanks Rufus!

  4. Watch out Kernel Sanders you have a competitor….!

  5. Carolyn Chan says:

    Fried chicken yum!

  6. That does look very good fried chicken. I think Americans have the monopoly on producing good fried chicken.

  7. mykitchenstories says:

    Ooh this looks nice. Thanks for the recipe. You guys make such good fried chicken.
    http://www.mykitchenstories.com.au

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    Great mix of seasonings, Greg, and that coating looks perfectly crisp. This would go mighty quick.
    The oil temp seems mighty low. Perhaps 325 – 350? Feel free to delete this either way.

  9. That’s some fine looking cornbread back there! And I agree about the fact it better be far better than a restaurants if one is going to have to deal with all that oil! Yum :)

  10. Mad Dog says:

    The crispy exterior looks delicious ;-)

  11. Good Job, but I must agree the chicken looks delicious but your cornbread is awesome. Do you have the recipe for that or is it just a standard mix with some green chillies in it? KFC should use your photo for a new advertising campaign.

  12. Sounds great!
    Now I have that stupid jingle stuck in my head…Thanks, Greg.

  13. Always a classic! And a craving I am now having haha.

  14. I couldn’t have said it better myself. It IS a messy job to make fried chicken so why spend all that time making it and then cleaning it all up if it’s not going to be wonderful. Let the colonel do it. :)

    Love your chicken. It’s not too different from mine but different enough for me to give this one a go. Have a great weekend.

  15. Lea Ann says:

    Growing up on a farm in Kansas, I know my fried chicken. Make it about once a year and it most certainly is better than any restaurant I can find. I pan fry. Man does it sound good about now.

  16. Lea Ann says:

    And by the way, what’s that chunk of cornbread? You’re supposed to serve mashed potatoes and cream gravy with fried chicken. :)

  17. Judy says:

    Fresh dill? After drooling over the photo, it was the dill that caught my attention–interesting add-in!

  18. rutheh says:

    Now I feel like chicken tonight……….

  19. zestybeandog says:

    I need some fried chicken in my life!

  20. Yes, to the jalapeño cornbread and yes to the “Old Bay” fried chicken! :)

  21. Karen says:

    I love double battered fried chicken. I have to agree with Lea Ann, there must be mashed potatoes and cream gravy next to that yummy cornbread.

  22. This so reminds me of my Gram and her fried chicken.. thanks for this gift today!!

  23. I knew when I saw the title of this post that your fried chicken would have to be spectacular, but the seasonings are just brilliant! I’d never have thought to add dill and nutmeg to the breading, but it totally makes sense…and would make fried chicken way better, in my opinion.

  24. ceciliag says:

    Ok i am making some buttermilk the moment i get home from cali, I love deep fried food! and i have never been able to make good deep fried chicken, this looks perfect! c

  25. Ginger says:

    I know what I want to eat for dinner tonight :)

  26. I love it! It looks so delcious! I’m saving this to try it! Thx for sharing

  27. Reblogged this on vintage brocante & photography and commented:
    This looks sooooo Southern Good doesnt it!

  28. Kristy says:

    You really can’t beat a good buttermilk chicken. :) We did Kay’s version of buttermilk chicken for Mr. N’s birthday last year and it was a huge hit. We should do that again sometime and I still need to get some Old Bay seasoning.

  29. Fried chicken…drool…

  30. rsmacaalay says:

    Nothing will beat a simple fried chicken like this

  31. Now you´re talking. Just back from our trip and have nto got my head around cooking lunch yet…this is making me hungry!

  32. Very nice! Love some good fried chicken!

  33. Must try this fried chicken recipe…it looks too incredible to even worry one second about the mess. Thanks for owning the messy part. It’s annoying when celebrity chefs pretend like Fried Chicken is just a snap to make.

  34. A_Boleyn says:

    Both the chicken and cornbread look delicious. Luckily I’m stuffed from my own supper and can resist drooling. :)

  35. You are getting more Southern all the time. Fried chicken and cornbread can’t be beat. Buttermilk is the only way to go. Looks delicious, too.

  36. Jessica says:

    I like how you can see all the spices in the breading!

  37. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Cafeteria Style | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

