Fried Zucchini

Still hot and greasy, just the way I like it

This is a great side for a fry party. What, people don’t gather together with a deep fryer and have a party while coming up with new ways to make everything unhealthy in your neighborhood?

Well maybe it is time to start.

Also there is a great dipping sauce to accompany these. Basically it is mayo, srirachi and fresh squeezed lime juice to taste.

Fried Zucchini

  • 2 Zucchini
  • 1 cup flour
  • Dark beer
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh oregano
  • 1 tbsp dried crushed sage
  • 3 pinches cayenne pepper
  • 2 pinches dill
  • Salt pepper

Cut zucchini into thirds. Slice each third into small finger length pieces. Combine flour and spices. Scoop one tbsp flour mixture over zucchini slices and toss to coat. Add baking soda to remaining flour mix. Pour in enough beer to turn flour mix into a thick batter. Heat a deep fryer full of hot oil to 250 degrees. Take each dusted spear and dunk it into batter then drop into hot oil. Fry until done and crispy, about 3 minutes. Serve with sriracha dipping sauce.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Fried Zucchini

  1. onewomaninaricefield says:

    Looks fab! I’ve been meaning to make fried zucchini for a looooooong time now. I’m glad you two can read my mind and post recipes for me to try.

  2. At the risk of losing all of my readers, I’d be willing to have one of those parties. Can you guys bring the zucchini??? Looks good!

  3. I make my fried zucchini by battering it in cornmeal. Ever had it that way? Super yum! Yours looks good too!

  4. rsmacaalay says:

    Nice one Gregg, I like it

  5. Jessica says:

    I recently said “grilled zucchini is the best zucchini”, but think we have a contender here, especially with that dipping sauce. Ahhh, sriracha….

  6. I love courgettes treated like that. Beignets, we call them here, and I could eat a plateful right now:)

  7. niasunset says:

    and I would add yogurth (with garlic and fresh dills) yummmy! We serve this meal with yogurth… Thank you dear Rufus, with my love, nia

  8. Mad Dog says:

    Sounds delicious!

  9. aFrankAngle says:

    Outstanding … and a reminder of fried zucchini blossoms I had as a kid.

  10. I also want to be invited to these parties. :-) Mandy

  11. Dark beer will boost the flavor to a new level. Zucchini is very healthy and high in fiber content.

  12. My son-in-law would love the concept of a Fry Party…

  13. JEN says:

    Delish! We used to have fry parties in college, I thought I was the only one! Now when we do…. it happens outside! :) We have fried some pretty crazy shite! Everything from capers and carrots to even pasta…

  14. I just knew it. I took one look and said to myself Rufus and Spirits must have put beer in their batter…yum yum…

  15. chefconnie says:

    I love fried zucchini. I usually use panko but I like this recipe with dark beer. This needs to go on my “need to cook” list.

  16. billpeeler says:

    Great idea using beer in the batter. I made fish tacos awhile back using a similar batter – I think it makes for a nice texture without being so heavy. Looks great! I will also have to try the mayo dipping sauce. I have a big ole bottle of srirachi that I should use more often . . .

  17. nrhatch says:

    One of my favorite sides . . .

  18. I saw people deep frying oreos and snickers, so I know these kind of parties :) I love fried zucchini!

  19. ChgoJohn says:

    I haven’t had these in ages, since Mom made them. They were good then and Im sure yours are good now. Thanks for the memory.

  20. egg me on says:

    OH!!! I wish I lived closer to you guys because I have always wanted to have deep frying parties. My friends aren’t exactly on board with that idea. It does’t all have to be Twinkies and Mars bars. We can fry up stuff like this zucchini. And pickles! Definitely some fried pickles. Anyway, this looks great.

  21. Caroline says:

    The greasier the better. My stomach would hate me for speaking those words. Anyways, these sound fantastic! Oh, and that dipping sauce. mmmm

  22. KarenCooking says:

    My mom does both cornmeal-fried okra and squash in a skillet, which I love, but this version looks great, too! (And I am never able to pass up batter-fried vegetables at local fairs.)

  23. Eva Taylor says:

    Another lovely post, even if it is deep fried. I love the dipping sauce for these.
    Eva kitcheninspirations.wordpress.com

  24. One of my favorites! And with a yogurt-y dip – mmm.

  25. Courtney says:

    Sold! Why do fried items always look so good?

  26. Kristy says:

    I am so adding lime juice to a mayo/sriracha sauce. Fabulous!!! And believe it or not we occasionally do attend a kind of “fry” party…fondue. :)

  27. Amy says:

    This confirms it…I need a deep fryer.

  28. Ah, fried. I miss that food category from my years in the south.

  29. nancyc says:

    That sounds so good! I love trying out different ways to use zucchini!

  30. Hot & greasy…sounds like Summer in the South, HA! Kidding..mostly. :)

    I love zucchini and I’m hoping to have an abundance of it this Summer!

  31. Neighbourhood fry party – I like it! The dipping sauce sounds killer. Maybe my bf would like zucchini if I made it like this?

  32. JamieAnne says:

    these look outstanding! I’ll fry up some pickles and head on over!

  33. SimpleP says:

    Beer batter! I love it. Evil and delicious. Love Srirachi – we’ll have to try the sauce for sure.

  34. Carolyn Chan says:

    Ooh they look so good. Need to have extra beer on hand to have them with :)

  35. Love fried zucchini! This batter sounds great.

  36. You can never go wrong with fried zucchini and they are another reason that i will have a deep frier installed in our home.

  37. I’d happily have a plate of that! I don’t understand how some people don’t like zucchini…. how could you not??

  38. Love, love love these! An di like the herbs in with them too :)

  39. mmm..I Love fried Zucchini, or courgettes as we call them. We got a few in our veg box today so may have to fry some up as a starter.

Leave a Reply

