Tomato Stacks

Those are a breed of tomatoes called brown

These are really quick to make. Any type of ripe tomato will work, but the brown type used here really added a different flavor to the dish. The anchovies are not optional.

Brown Tomato Stacks with Feta and Anchovies

  • 6-8 anchovy fillets
  • 4-5 medium sized brown tomatoes
  • 4 tbsp feta cheese
  • 2 tbsp capers
  • Olive oil
  • Salt/pepper

Cut tomatoes into thick slices. Mash the anchovies with their oil to form a paste. Mash the feta with olive oil to form a rough paste in another bowl. Spread one layer of tomato with anchovies, then the next with feta and capers. Repeat until stacks are done. Drizzle with olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Serve room temperature.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Tomato Stacks

  1. Carolyn Chan says:

    I am so sad – not only do I live in an apartment where I have no space to grow tomatoes, my supermarket has started importing these fancy French tomatoes that have absolutely no smell or flavour whatsoever. And I am totally with you on the anchovies.

  2. Tandy says:

    I am sure I would love these, maybe with some buffalo mozzarella :)

  3. nrhatch says:

    Those are some FUNKY looking tomaters! :D

  4. niasunset says:

    how smells… how delicious… Thank you dear Rufus, have a nice day, with my love, nia

  5. They look a little like what we call a Kumato here… wonder if they are the same? Regardless, tomato feta and capers is a winning combination, no matter the breed!

  6. Karen says:

    A nice combination of flavors.

  7. Mad Dog says:

    They look fantastic (and a lot like Kumatos).

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    Anchovies for everyone! I’ve made a bunch of feta of late and have been looking for some new recipes. This will be a great way to use some of it. Thanks!

  9. sallybr says:

    Just bought some heriloom tomatoes yesterday, and this recipe fits like a glove… but did you HAVE to stick those anchovies and make them mandatory? (oh, well, I don’t mind, I’ve been trying to work on going from hate to love and it seems to be working, slowly…)

  10. billpeeler says:

    You got some big bold flavors going on there – I’m sure I would love it (even with the anchovies)—-

  11. Um, anchovies NOT optional? You’re killing me….with stinky foods! Great use of brown tomatoes though!

  12. Always find inspiring ideas here!

  13. JEN says:

    Yum! I just had some Kumatos Saturday, I love those! I also LOVE how the anchovies are NOT optional! ;) Sounds like a great summer dish. Cheers!

  14. It looks great though I am not so sure of the anchovies. Not a big fan of them.

  15. Purely.. Kay says:

    I wish I could eat these because they look wonderful.. another recipe my mother will LOVE

  16. egg me on says:

    Tomato stacks! I’ve never seen these before. They sound super Mediterranean, with the feta, capers and anchovies.

  17. Are they more brown or greenish a la a kumato?:) Looks delicious either way.

  18. TasteFood says:

    These look and sound great.

  19. Those look like gorgeous heirlooms. Did you guys grow those? WOW!

  20. T says:

    Did you get those at Kroger on JFK? I saw them and wondered how they taste.

  21. ceciliag says:

    FAB! John just planted out our second crop of tomatoes as the BAD frost got the first lot.. so in a while I can make these yummy morsels~ c

  22. This is well done tomato stack sandwich. Very healthy one as well.

  23. Eva Taylor says:

    How did I miss this post? What a lovely take on the Caprese, one of my absolute favourites. We have some variety of brown tomatoes in Toronto, but alas they are as flavourless as the rest of them imposters! Shame. But I do like the idea of feta and anchovies…must put into the memory bank.
    Eva kitcheninspirations.wordpress.com

  24. Lauren says:

    I LOVE tomato season. So happy it’s almost upon us! I’ll definitely file this recipe away (sans anchovies) for future use…

  25. Never had a brown tomato…!

  26. Kristy says:

    Mike would simply adore these – anchovies and all. :)

  27. Jessica says:

    Brown tomatoes! These sound good, even with the fishies.

  28. Charles says:

    I see these (I think it’s these ones) in the store sometimes… are they a lot different to “normal” tomatoes? They’re quite a bit more expensive than regular tomatoes and I’ve always wondered if there was a difference in taste at all, or if they were just like the white/streaky eggplants.

  29. Yum, we get these tomatoes here too and they taste fabulous!

Leave a Reply

