Mexican Slaw

Just whip, whip it good

Want to kick your fish tacos up a notch? Oh wait we’re getting our TV chefs mixed up. We originally got this idea from a Bobby Flay recipe, but have adapted it to our tastes over the years, nixing the jicama and pureeing the cilantro to maximize flavor. Bam!

Mexican Slaw

  • 1/2 head red cabbage, cut in ribbons
  • 2 carrots, grated
  • 1/2 onion, grated
  • 1/2 cup cilantro, stems and all
  • juice from 1 1/2 limes
  • 4 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 2 cloves garlic, whole
  • 2-4 tbsp Tapitio (or another chile sauce)
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • salt/pepper to taste

Toss cabbage, onion and carrots in a large bowl. Puree remaining ingredients in a blender. Pour over cabbage mix and toss to coat. Serve immediately or refrigerate for a few hours to let flavors meld. Serve over fish tacos or as a side dish.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Mexican, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Mexican Slaw

  1. Forget coleslaw this is the way to go! The spices must give it a better kick and it looks so delicious without that over cream appearance :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. Carolyn Chan says:

    That is a much healthier coleslaw and bet it tastes 300 times better !

  3. Oh, this looks good. Of course, I’ll have to scant the oil, nix the onion and put the jicama back in. Cheers!

  4. Tandy says:

    This sounds really fantastic :)

  5. Loveforfood says:

    Mmmm…this sounds wonderful.

  6. No jicama? Hmm, I may add that back in to see how it tastes. I don’t mind the mild sweetness of the stuff.

  7. Love a good slaw. :-) Mandy

  8. I have a red cabbage in my fridge waiting to be transformed into this!

  9. Mad Dog says:

    Whip crack away!

  10. Eva Taylor says:

    Why nix the jicama? But boosting the cilantro is just so sick! I love slaw, you should try this recipe, http://kitcheninspirations.wordpress.com/2010/01/30/lee-inspired-asian-slaw/
    I’ve recently been adding an entire julienned mango, celeriac instead of celery and jicama and it’s incredible! Have a great weekend.

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    What a great slaw & serving it atop tacos would be wonderful.

  12. Now.. that would be an entirely different taco from mine.. awesome!!

  13. billpeeler says:

    Looks colorful and delicious – a festive addition to fish tacos, indeed!

  14. Oh stop.. I can’t bear looking at this and not eating it :)

  15. Love a great slaw, Love how you demonstrated a new twist to an American favorite. Mmmm, I agree with ChgJohn, it would go wonderful atop tacos!

  16. Kristy says:

    This does sound delicious and I’m all for a slaw with no mayo!!! :) (Thank you Katherine!)

  17. KarenCooking says:

    Well, now I am craving fish tacos and some of this slaw. (Love the caption, by the way.)

  18. Why did you have to bring up fish tacos?? Now I’m going to have to go by some fish today! Seriously though great slaw.

  19. Ahhh, this is my kind of slaw! I bet it would be fantasitic on a taco!

  20. Rachel says:

    Wow… it looks like a fiesta in a bowl! So pretty…. and mmmmmm!

  21. Mmm…love Mexican slaw and the colors are gorgeous!

  22. Thanks for reminding me how much I like coleslaw, but forget to make it…This one looks pretty tasty.

  23. I’m late…and so glad I didn’t miss this one! Delicious and beautiful.

  24. Oh yes please!!! Cilantro makes everything taste that much better!

  25. That looks wonderful! I might make that this weekend:).

  26. I love all the flavors in this, a slaw without mayo sounds refreshing

  27. I love this, too :) I could almost taste it just from the picture… looking forward to making it soon, maybe with some fish… mmmm…

  28. Oh, I love jicama, even though its so hard to find. Why the nix?

  29. Stephanie says:

    Lovely use for red cabbage. I usually mix it with fruit for a sweeter grated slaw or cooked side, but this could make a nice change for the warmer weather we’ll hopefully see soon.

  30. Purely.. Kay says:

    I love a good slaw recipe.. and this would go perfect in my fish tacos.

  31. Jessica says:

    Love the colors! p.s. my 3 year-old niece’s favorite song is Whip It.

  32. Pingback: Carne Asada and a Cinco de Mayo Roundup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  33. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Fiesta Time | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  34. Pingback: Cilantro Turkey Burgers | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  35. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Cinco De Mayo Preparation | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

