You say Grenada …

X marks the spot to my stomach

A few weeks ago we took you to Cuba. Now we’re off to another exotic and muggy land. Or at least our liquor cabinet is.

The Grenada Cocktail

(adapted from The Ultimate Cocktail Book)

  • 2 ounces fresh orange juice
  • 1 1/2 ounces rum
  • 1/2 ounce sweet vermouth
  • small pieces of cinnamon stick

Pour orange juice and liquors into a shaker with ice. Shake. Strain into a martini glass and garnish with cinnamon stick pieces. If you’re really cool, maybe spell out the first letter of your name.

Note: The creative use of a meat cleaver award goes to Katherine for using said implement to cut tiny strips of cinnamon stick. Do you have a creative use for a meat cleaver or a clever way to cut cinnamon sticks? We’d love to hear it.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to You say Grenada …

  1. nrhatch says:

    I love mixing OJ with rum (or coconut rum) . . . I’ve never added sweet vermouth or cinnamon stick. Sounds yummy. And rummy. :D

  2. Purely.. Kay says:

    I don’t have a clever way to use a meat cleaver other than to threaten somebody if they try to come in my home LOL

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    What an eye-catching picture! “X marks the spot”, indeed!

  4. Tandy says:

    Another good drink :)

  5. Sounds amazing and I´ll def make this as it will remind me of a wonderful holiday in Grenada! I use my meat cleaver too for breaking my cinnamon!

  6. That sounds like a very nice drink.

  7. peasepudding says:

    I could just put my feet up now and enjoy this

  8. sallybr says:

    I used the meat cleaver to smash cardamon pods but it was not a smart move., they flew all over the kitchen… ;-)

    I ended up using it to carefully break them just applying pressure. Much, much better

    Lovely drink, the cinnamon made it for me

  9. ceciliag says:

    The meat cleaver is such a useful tool! But enough of the knives, lets get to the drinks! This one sounds potent! I like it! c

  10. BrainRants says:

    I’d share my cleaver uses, but I’m still inside the statute of limitations. Sounds like a great and refreshing drink.

  11. WSW says:

    Love the cinnamon stick! On the Isle of Spice, they also garnish a rum punch with nutmeg — clever folks.

  12. zestybeandog says:

    Great picture! I’ll take 3! :)

  13. Eva Taylor says:

    What a great cocktail, Greg. Sadly I have to attend an event tonight and I’m driving, so cocktails will have to wait until tomorrow (I have a strict rule since I started driving some years ago, never ever to even have one drink :-( ). Happy Thursday.
    Eva http://kitcheninspirations.wordpress.com

  14. Looks and sounds like a GREAT cocktail, love the addition of cinnamon!
    Cheers :)

  15. Kristy says:

    Mmmm. Looks refreshing! Very creative use of the meat cleaver indeed. :)

  16. I have loooots of vermouth. But no rum. This must be remedied!

  17. billpeeler says:

    So refreshing! I’m sure the bite from the cinnamon just sets it off —

  18. Think I may have to try one of these – purely for research purposes you see. :-) Mandy

  19. Ah, this sounds SO very refreshing for today’s AZ heat. It’s supposed to hit the triple digits this weekend. I’ll be chillin’ poolside with this wonderful drink for sure! Ok, I’ll be drinking this, but without the pool, seeing as how we unfortunately don’t own one. :-/

  20. Courtney says:

    Looks (and sounds) refreshing. Love the cinnamon addition – and Katherine’s creativity. :)

  21. Drink with the spicy kick.

  22. Beautiful color and garnish. No idea how to deal with cinnamon sticks, though, as I’ve only had bad experiences trying to cut them crosswise or otherwise!

  23. I am in a cocktail state of mind. Just whipped up a Blackberry-Mango Cocktail for our Third Thursday Dinner party…I love your cocktails…they make me thirsty.

  24. Oooh yes, I could do with one of those as a heartstarter this morning.. :)

    Cleavers for cinnamon sticks? Great idea. I find cleavers scary…

  25. I love mixing OJ in my drinks. Yum, this looks so refreshing!!

  26. I need to make one of those…now! Wait, it’s only 5:30am here. I think I had better not.

  27. spree says:

    Sounds de-light-ful!

  28. I’m lousy with a meat cleaver. (at least I won’t murder anyone with it because I couldn’t hit the side of a barn with it probably). Well done, Katherine.

    So how is it pronounced? gren ahh’dah or greh nay’da ?

  29. Rum’s my favorite.

  30. Jessica says:

    Yum! The fancy grocery stores down here sell Vietnamese cinnamon pieces in bulk which would be a handy alternative to cleaving sticks.

Leave a Reply

