Cherry and Cognac Cubans

The garnish is more involved than this drink

For us, Cuba always brings to mind one thing. No, not cigars, or old American cars, or bearded Communists — Fredo’s betrayal. OK, and maybe cigars.

Cognac Cuban

  • 1 1/2 ounces Cognac
  • juice from half a lime
  • Coke (not diet, or Pepsi or some off brand, trust us on this)

Place a few ice cubes in a tumbler or old-fashioned glass. Pour in cognac and lime juice. Fill with Coke. Garnish with lime. For a cherry Cuban, use cherry brandy and garnish with lime and cherry.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Cherry and Cognac Cubans

  1. sallybr says:

    In Brail, there was a nicecdrink called Cuba libre, I wonder how it compares to this one…

    seems very refreshing, something I would like to drink on a Summer evening

  2. nrhatch says:

    I love, love, love that swizzle stick! And the drink looks FINE too. :D

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    This is one time I’ll take a pass on one of your cocktails. I’m not much of a Cognac drinker and would end up using so much coke that it would be a waste of a fine liquor. I will pass the link on to a couple Cognac-drinking buds, though. They’re gonna love it.

  4. Poor ridiculous Fredo. Yeah, he needed to get whacked.

  5. Jessica says:

    I’ve always been a fan of cherry coke, so the cherry brandy variation sounds especially good!

  6. Three cheers for real Coke, aka Coke Classic, the only cola worth drinking. If you can get Mexican Coke it’s even better because in Mexico it is still brewed with cane sugar rather than corn syrup. It’s been known to turn up at Grocery Outlet.

  7. Tandy says:

    this is sadly one drink I cannot try – but I do like the cognac part of it :)

  8. Purely.. Kay says:

    You broke out the Godfather on us lol. I haven’t seen that scene in such a long time. I enjoyed it my friend

  9. *Wonders is Greg will mind if I have just the cognac* :-) Mandy

  10. niasunset says:

    WOW! WOW! Thank you dear Rufus, have a nice day, with my love, nia

  11. Just the cognac for me too but yes please to the Godfather! Your drinks always look so appealing – ok then, I´ll give it a try with the coke too!

  12. BrainRants says:

    Godfather references make anything awesome.

  13. Its a good combination when you try to drink cognac for the first time..

  14. Kristy says:

    Love that movie. I think I watch it at least once a year. ;)

  15. Really pretty looking beverage! I’m guessing you must have used the cherry cognac because it has a little tint to the coke mixture? A really interesting take on the Cuba Libre…and a fun visit from the Godfather, too.

  16. Yum. Cuba Libre used to quite in the ‘it’ drink in Russia back in the day! (probably for obvious reasons haha and only after we got Coke there in the 80s:))

  17. Mad Dog says:

    As Jessica said above, the mention of cherries made me think of Cherry Coke and then Dr. Pepper – which might taste good. It reminds me that I read somewhere, that cherry soda used to be made by crushing lots of cherries and adding them to plain soda with ice.

  18. Good drink and good You Tube – nice one.

  19. egg me on says:

    Totally, completely, 100% agree with you that it’s gotta be Coke. Real, full-fat Coke. Anything else would as big of a betrayal as Fredo’s.

  20. Just realised that it’s Godfather footage – just not concentrating. Better have another drink.

  21. zestybeandog says:

    I agree with not using a coke replacement, just not the same!

  22. Kelly says:

    Hee.hee, love the involved garnish. Gorgeous colour on the drink too!

  23. Caroline says:

    Impressive garnish. And YES to regular Coca-Cola…I would never stray. I won’t touch Diet Coke or Pepsi. If a restaurant has those options, I just get water. ;) This drink sounds great.

  24. I’m in! Pass one over here please!

  25. Eva Taylor says:

    Cheers!

  26. You’re breaking my heart.. I’d like one of these, but it’s too early in the day!!

  27. Would it be terrible to admit I’ve never seen any of the Godfather movies?… I’ll take your drink though.

  28. We call everything down here in the South coke! Bet this is really good. Will give it a try.

  29. Pingback: You say Grenada … | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  30. This looks really good!
    I’ve traveled quite a bit and my favorite place of any that I’ve been to is Havana. The people are the most wonderful anywhere in the world.

Leave a Reply

