Apple Pie

I can eat pie anytime of the day or night

Apple pie is one of those things that really only has a few simple ingredients. It can also be cooked open faced, folded or with a latticed top. I like to use a mixture of granny smith, fuji and/or gala for the filling but any type of apple will work.

Apple Pie

  • 2 pie crusts
  • 6 cups peeled and thinly sliced cooking apples
  • 1 tbsp orange juice
  • 2 tsp orange zest
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 packed brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp fresh nutmeg
  • 1/3 cup chopped pecans

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl and let sit while you make the dough. Roll out enough dough for the bottom layer and place in a greased pie dish. Pour in filling and smooth out the top. Roll out more dough for the top and seal shut. Cut four slits in top and bake at 375 degrees for 25 minutes with foil on edge. Remove foil and bake until done, another 25-30 minutes.

Editor’s note to a Ms. Geni: Hi, it’s Katherine and I did not write this post or touch the pie dough before it went in the oven. Flour is one of Greg’s many mediums. Why stand in the way of art, or um, risk getting dough in your wedding band?

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Apple Pie

  1. TasteFood says:

    Now I want apple pie. This sounds great.

  2. nrhatch says:

    Drooling . . . all over my keyboard. :D

  3. Just made pie crust.. and wondering what to put in it.. guess I got my answer:)

  4. sallybr says:

    haven t made any pie in AGES!

    your production is a masterpiece!

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    This is one great looking pie! Like that you added OJ & zest, as well as pecans, to the filling. I bet that filling is something else!

  6. rutheh says:

    A classic with added zip! Wish I had a warm piece and a little scoop of vanilla ice cream right now. I don’t often make pie but I am a good consumer of pie.
    Am sending post to my friend Rob, the pie guy who is also a pie judge.

  7. A_Boleyn says:

    I haven’t made or eaten apple pie in years. This one sounds lovely. I sometimes add raisins to mine. :)

  8. rsmacaalay says:

    What a lovely classic!

  9. Jessica says:

    This looks great and I love the orange in it! Now I need to find a dude who makes pies.

  10. My husband would love that.

  11. Oh my…apple pie! Now, did you have it with cream, ice cream or custard…or all three?!

  12. Such a classic. Good warm on a winter’s evening with a cup of tea… fabulous on a summer afternoon cold with a cool glass of lemonade. Easy breezy…apple pie.

  13. Tandy says:

    I just love the rustic look of this pie!

  14. How the heck do you two stay slim?! :-) Mandy

  15. Rob, The Pie Guy says:

    Great looking pie. I am totally with you…pie day or night.

  16. Sad Man's Tongue: Rockabilly Bar & Bistro - Prague says:

    I need to take up baking, meat dishes are not making me fat enough :)

  17. billpeeler says:

    I recently bought a mandolin slicer but haven’t used it yet – I keep thinking about an apple pie like this to break it in. This looks great!

  18. Exactly! Who needs dough in their engagement ring or wedding band? =D

  19. I never thought of adding orange juice or zest – that is a great idea!

  20. P. Graham says:

    Looks FANTASTIC! Definitely going to try this one out :)

  21. zestybeandog says:

    Sounds so good with the juice and zesty I mean zest! My hands automatically type zesty ha! Cheers!

  22. Love your ideas. The crust is beautiful. Now that it is apple season it’s time to set aside time and make one using this recipe, of course.

  23. Great job, Greg, on the pie and for keeping Katherine away from the flour :) I love the orange zest!

  24. Kristy says:

    One of my favorites. And you know how I feel about making pie crust. :) I haven’t had an apple pie for a while…I should fix that. ;)

  25. Mad Dog says:

    Great idea to add pecans!

  26. This must be a sign!!! My friend and son have been asking me to make an Apple Pie for a month now. Today, I clicked to follow your blog & what pops up 1st? Ding ding ding, lol… Guess I better make a quick trip to the market… :)

  27. The filling sounds delicious! And of course, pie dough is my favorite food group. :)

  28. spree says:

    Oh, a man who bakes pies! Pardon me a moment of jealousy! ;) (this sounds fantastic, btw.)

  29. Eva Taylor says:

    Apple pie is one of those comfort desserts that works in any dining situation. Very nice.

  30. all of a sudden I am missing home! Nothing beat a good old fashioned apple pie! This looks so amazing- I can smell it from my kitchen

  31. Lover of the Pie – Have a Great Day:)

  32. niasunset says:

    This should be for me :) I love apple pie so much… Thank you dear Rufus, with my love, nia

  33. Courtney says:

    Nice work, Greg! This looks very, very tasty.

  34. I love pie and apple is my favorite. I could eat half that right now. Guess I will have to make one very soon!

  35. Purely.. Kay says:

    Just look at this apple pie… yup I can have a piece of this with some ice cream.. a la mode

  36. Mmmm sounds yummy, apple season is upon us here so pie is definitely on the menu

  37. Karen says:

    I agree with you Greg, about mixing apples. When anyone is at my orchard for apples to make a pie, I always suggest they put four or five different varieties in it. Sweet, tart, firm and soft…it makes a great pie.

  38. Duly noted Katherine. ;) Pie looks fabulous GREG!

  39. This is actually perfect – love your pie very much :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Maple Raisin Ice Cream

  40. I love the addition of orange! Yummy looking pie!

  41. If I might make one request?? A photo of that pie sliced, with all it’s appley goodness oozing out, and a scoop of vanilla ice cream melting on top. You know, just to torment your readers!!! Sounds delicious!

  42. karencooking says:

    My daughter asked just the other day for an apple pie. This looks like a great one to try!

  43. spicegirlfla says:

    I can eat pie day or night too!! In fact, I like to have a fruit filled pie…such as this one, for breakfast!! That way I feel I can burn off my dessert calories early in the day!! Nothing beats a good apple pie…and GREG made this?? wow, I’m so impressed!

  44. chefconnie says:

    Love it. I was just thinking of making an apple pie with all these grannies I have. I am starting now….

  45. nancyc says:

    I haven’t made an apple pie in years, but I love apple pie-just don’t like peeling apples! :) Guess I need to invest in one of those rotating apple peelers!

  46. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: A Thanksgiving Feast | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  47. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Calling All Hunters | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  48. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Day Recipes in One Place | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  49. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Recipes in One Place (Take Two) | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

