Colcannon

Some may say that mashed potatoes are the secret to a life of happiness

Nothing goes together like potatoes and cabbage.

Colcannon

  • 1 small head cabbage quartered and cored
  • 6-8 medium boiling potatoes peeled
  • 2 slices bacon, chopped fine
  • 6 green onions, white and green parts chopped fine and separated
  • Milk
  • Butter
  • Salt/pepper

In a large pot, salt and boil enough water to cover cabbage. Add cabbage and parboil until almost cooked. It should have a bit of bite. Strain, reserving water, and slice cabbage into quarter-inch strips once cool. Bring strained water back to a boil and cook potatoes until tender, adding more water if needed, about 45 minutes. Meanwhile render fat from bacon and set browned bacon bits aside. Mash potatoes with milk, butter, to desired consistency. Add green onion parts, bacon, salt and pepper. Reheat bacon fat and saute white parts of green onion. Add sliced cabbage and cook until softened stirring often.  Mix cooked cabbage with mashed potatoes and serve immediately.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Colcannon

  1. rutheh says:

    Yours looks like an improvement on the recipe I have which is fairly bland. I will try your version with the bacon. I think that will really make it rhyme!

  2. I reckon I could survive on this type of food! Your recipe looks great, particularly the addition of bacon. We make a bastardised version with fried leeks and garlic instead of cabbage (as leeks are what we have growing in the backyard!). :)

  3. Carolyn Chan says:

    Perfect timing for St Patrick’s Day ! I love the caption and totally subscribe to that theory.

  4. Hey… never thought of that combination before… egg and cabbage… sounds very interesting, something I’d probably consider trying (although I’m not a huuuge fan of cabbage…)

  5. You really have the Irish theme going this week.

  6. Tandy says:

    Perfect for a Sunday dinner with some bangers, I think :)

  7. A_Boleyn says:

    A very pretty dish for St. Paddy’s day.

  8. This is one of my favourite winter dishes. It’s famously Irish but, as England are playing Ireland in the final game of this year’s Six Nations Tournament on Saturday, I’ll wait until after the game to decide on how much I like Irish dishes.

  9. Yum yum! Perfect for saturday, or any day. I am always looking for a good side to pere with pork roast.

  10. niasunset says:

    What a wonderful recipe… I loved it, Thank you dear Rufus, have a nice day and weekend, with my love, nia

  11. BrainRants says:

    So delicious. Irish comfort food.

  12. The Wookie says:

    I have a love/hate relationship with colcannon. I hated it as a kid since it was served, by my Irish mother, with almost every meal but tend to love it now because it is a taste of childhood that I don’t get that often. My mother’s recipe uses leeks where you use green onions and adds in a little sour cream.

    The best thing my mother did was use the colcannon leftovers to make skillet colcannon cakes the next day. She would mix a beaten egg and some cheddar cheese into the leftovers, form small cakes, flour them, and then pan fry in bacon fat. It’s all the creamy goodness of colcannon on the inside with a crispy crunch on the outside. Served with a couple of fried eggs it’s the perfect after St Pat’s hangover cure.

  13. Potatoes are one of the secrets. They also saved the Irish. Happy early St. Patrick’s Day!

  14. Ooh, a glorified yet different kind of, sort of bubble and squeak just more scrumptious. :-) Mandy

  15. ray says:

    Must have a great flavor with those pieces of bacon. Looks delicious, Greg. Happy Saint Patrick’s Day and cheers!

  16. Amy says:

    I’ve never heard of this but it sounds amazing! Not to mention it’s a great way to “lighten” up mashed potatoes. I will definitely be trying it!

  17. Anything with bacon has my vote. Did you see the other day on pin interest someone posted a link for bacon flavored toothpaste? (That is a little on the edge)

  18. Lynda says:

    This is one of my favorite Irish recipes. I love your version.

  19. billpeeler says:

    I’ve never heard of this, but sounds like a great side dish for some corned beef and a Guiness. Looks delicious!

  20. Wonderful – like posh bubble and squeak!

  21. Have a Great Weekend – Happy St Paddys Day!

  22. I concur…mashed potatoes and cabbage are a key to a happy life.

  23. Potatoes and cabbage go together like bread and butter. If it has a potato in it, my family loves it. Can you tell we are a little bit Irish.

  24. Purely.. Kay says:

    I LOVE cabbage.. but really never thought to add potatoes to it before. You should see how my face looks right now lol. I’m mad I didn’t think of this. Thanks guys.. will be making it

  25. This sounds fantastic! I am dying to get out my corned beef and cabbage, but potatoes and cabbage is sounding really tempting!

  26. spicegirlfla says:

    Your photo makes me want to dig right in!! Lovin all these Irish dishes!

  27. ChgoJohn says:

    Every March I see recipes for colcannon and vow to make it. And then the next March comes around and I repeat the vow. This time I really mean it! You added bacon. If that doesn’t get me to make colcannon, nothing will.

  28. Courtney says:

    I completely agree with your caption. Completely.

  29. I’ve never seen anything like this casserole type dish. How yummy and comforting.

  30. Karen says:

    I do colcannon for St. Patrick’s day as well…and we know everything is better with bacon.

  31. Christina says:

    Mmmm…looks perfect for St. Patrick’s Day! :)

  32. Very simple and healthy dish.

  33. ....RaeDi says:

    Lovely dish and a Happy St Patty’s Day to you and Katherine!

  34. Mad Dog says:

    You could be right – even plain old leftover fried potato makes me happy ;-)

  35. So this is what Colcannon is!! I’m adding it to my recipes to try file.. my kids would love the bacon in this one! Happy St. Patty’s Day!!

  36. Jessica says:

    Cabbage in potatoes? I think I need to experience this.

  37. Cabbage and potatoes ..I love colcannon and my recipe is very simialr to yours with the addition of paprika

  38. Kristy says:

    Your picture has me almost wanting to eat cabbage. Almost…still scarred from childhood. ;)

  39. PhobicFoodie says:

    Mmmm…my great aunt (who was the most amazing cook I’ve ever met and my number one cooking inspiration) used to make colcannon for us. It was the first dish that really made me see how delicious cabbage can be! She used to serve it with browned sausage and call it Bubble ‘N’ Squeak. Looks delicious! Thanks for triggering some of my most special memories!

  40. safifer says:

    Reblogged this on A Single Serving and commented:
    Here’s another that is really good!

  41. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Irish Eyes are Smiling | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

