Avocado salad

I like my salad in my taco

Now we can already guess some of you will ask if the bell pepper has to be yellow and so we’ll just say this: red will make this salad look like Christmas and green will make it too monochromatic and more bitter. Folks, looks are important. Toss this on top of fish or beef tacos, OK even chicken, eat it as a side dish or throw it over a spinach salad.

Avocado Salad

  • 2 avocado, peeled, pitted, chopped
  • 1/2 large cucumber, diced
  • 1 yellow bell pepper, chopped fine
  • 1 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • juice from half a lime
  • juice from half a lemon
  • salt/pepper

Combine all ingredients. Let sit for about 30 minutes at room temperature or in the refrigerator and taste again. Season with more salt and pepper if needed.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Mexican, Sides and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Avocado salad

  1. nrhatch says:

    Great salad bowls . . . and one less dish to wash!

    What about a peck of purple peppers . . . like the ones that Peter Piper picked? Green and Purple would be tres majestic, eh? :D

  2. Do you think an orange pepper would be ok? I get orange and purple in my CSA a lot.

  3. Mmm I like the idea of adding cucumber to the salad. Looks great!

  4. Yum. Avocado in taco form…

  5. I’d love this on some grilled fish. Love lime and avocado… (damn, now I wish I was having that for dinner.)

  6. Love the idea of salad in a taco… we get a recipe for those beans, too?

  7. Laura says:

    I make an avocado salad with ripe mango and cilantro… yum! I’ll try adding a bell pepper—maybe orange, for the rainbow effect?

  8. Purely.. Kay says:

    I love avocados, and I’m wondering why I never thought of making this type of salad before. This looks delicious guys

  9. I love this take on Advocado salad (minus the taco). I am always looking for healthy options I am going to try this. I may try it with an Orange pepper as yellow peppers are the price of truffles here in Portugal. In fact I suppose given the cost I should try and grow my own!

  10. That looks and sounds great. Are those refried beans in the background. If so, can you post a recipe as we limeys have never really understood how to make them. Are they really fried twice, or cooked in water, cooled and then fried?

  11. Carolyn Chan says:

    Love the idea of that in taco’s!

  12. Perfect and love the colour co-ordination!

  13. crustabakes says:

    Lol. of course. colour is very important!

  14. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve always liked avocado salads but never think to buy the ingredients when I’m at the grocery. With a little luck, seeing yellow peppers will trigger my memory and I’ll treat myself to your avocado salad in the near future.

  15. Misky says:

    Brilliant. In a word: yum!

  16. Yum…cucumber…just the crunch I need in a salad. Healthy salad!

  17. Now if you put some grilled swordfish into this taco with your lovely avocado salad I would be really happy. Or just super all on its own as a great vegan option. Hope your weekend is grand. Take Care, BAM

  18. easybaked says:

    Oh my…I want to try this SO badly….just developed an allergy to avocado–seriously, this looks AMAZING!!!

  19. sallybr says:

    Nice salad, Greg…. I’ve got a question, though – does the bell pepper need to be yellow?

    (Sally ducks quickly) ;-)

  20. That looks like a delicious salad, Greg. We have one similar to it at our Mexican restaurant, and they put jicama and mango into it and dress it with lime juice, really yummy!

  21. Amy says:

    oh yummy, I love this little salad! I never think to use avocado in a “salad” except for guacamole. Great idea :)

  22. I like my salads in taco shells too. And I have been known to choose add-ins just because they photograph well… no one wants Christmas tacos in March! :)

  23. Kristy says:

    Delicious! This will be a hit in our house. :)

  24. Lovely and colorful! Great idea.

  25. the dressing sounds nice and zingy

  26. Mad Dog says:

    They look good! I wan tacos now ;-)

  27. The texture of this taco looks very good. It looks like a fruit taco. Very nice.

  28. niasunset says:

    This is so delicious, so delicious… And also so healthy to eat… Thank you dear Rufus, you did great shot again. Have a nice new week, with my love, nia

  29. Kiki says:

    I love avocade – funnily I just made an avocado face mask yesterday :-) It was hard not to start eating the avocado while preparing the mask. Should try this salad next…

  30. Jessica says:

    haha, I like to pick my food based on colors. Yummy salad!

  31. Hee.hee, I like tacos too… fully loaded! These look delish ;).

  32. Agreed- looks are important! So many people don’t realize the thought and care that goes into that. :)

  33. Norma Chang says:

    Crunchy cucumber with smooth avocado, great texture contrast, love it,

  34. nancyc says:

    That sounds so good…a great way to enjoy avocados!

  35. ceciliag says:

    Miserable that i cannot grow avocados, we used to hang out the second story windows in Nz and pick them with pool cues, you know the pool stick you put the cue into when you have a long shot, i cannot remember its name, (showing my miss spent youth tho) oh how i miss them! (the avocados) But when I get home next i shall make the exact salad.. divine!.. c

  36. You KNOW I love avocados…and I just happened to have bought a bag of them today….thanks for a great idea!

  37. It couldn’t be simpler, what a lovely way to liven up a meal.. I agree about the yellow pepper!

  38. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow I really like this one, the creamy avocado would be a match in that crispy taco

  39. billpeeler says:

    What a great idea – as much as I love guacamole, this looks like a great alternative. Love, LOVE avocado!!

  40. I’m not shy….I can usually enjoy a bowl of avocado salad on its own. BTW..do you have these commercials in AR? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A5yFxkUitBw

  41. spicegirlfla says:

    Yum…very vegetarian and healthy! Seriously, isn’t presentation so important these days!! Good choice in bell peppers!

  42. Sounds simple but tasty!

  43. Ah! yellow and green I see! THIS LOOKS DELICIOUS!

  44. Yum, this looks so good. I could eat it right now and it is 11 p.m. Trying not to eat at night and am starving!

  45. Stef says:

    Christmas…. or Mexico. ;)

  46. Pingback: Nom Nom Nom… Fish Tacos! | just a smidgen

  47. Pingback: Carne Asada and a Cinco de Mayo Roundup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  48. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Cinco De Mayo Preparation | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

