Pepper Vodka

It took awhile to perfectly drink, I mean measure, 375 ml from a fifth

So this is my second attempt at flavoring a vodka and I must admit it tastes really good and spicy. This is perfect for a Bloody Mary. Marx Food was nice enough to supply the dried peppers. This can easily be doubled or tripled.

Pepper Vodka

  • 375 ml quality vodka
  • 3 tbsp dried Pequin chilies roughly crushed
  • Glass bottle with resealable lid

Add peppers to vodka and seal. Store in a cool dark place and check every two days until it is spicy enough for you. Strain pepper bits from vodka and return to bottle.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Spirits and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Pepper Vodka

  1. I find any concoction like yours interesting. I whip up a batch of Limoncello every year and a few days ago started a batch of Blood Orangecello…I like anything spicey so would love your vodka. Thanks for the recipe.

  2. I love spicy booze! For New Year’s Brunch one year i did a habanero-bacon infusion to make bloodys there wasn’t a drop left! :) i have some dried ancho chilies and some vodka… this needs to happen!

  3. nrhatch says:

    Nothing like a spicy bloody mary to get our juices flowing! :D

  4. rutheh says:

    A shout out to you on my blog today. Happy coincidence.
    Cheers!

  5. Purely.. Kay says:

    You guys are my alcohol teachers LOL. I know I’ll never drink this stuff, but doesn’t mean I can’t be a good bartender with your help lol

  6. Jessica says:

    Fancy yet simple!

  7. Tandy says:

    I have preserved chillie’s in Vodka, but never thought to actually drink the vodka afterwards!

  8. Y’all know I like an infused vodka! Cheers.

  9. I will trust that your peppery version is delicious. I’ll stick with rum or tequila myself. Great photo!

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    Just what I need, another vodka. Seriously. I need another vodka. Keep ‘em coming.

  11. This also works well with cinnamon sticks or Buddha Hand, depending on what kind of drink you want to make.

  12. Bloody Mary’s are a favourite of mine, and this vodka would make them that bit bloodier.

  13. Carolyn Chan says:

    Ooh that would be great in a Bloody Mary !!

  14. I adore Bloody Marys, I have the chillis….I NEED to make this now!

  15. BrainRants says:

    Would this work for bacon?

  16. zestybeandog says:

    Love those chiles, they have such a great heat!

  17. Oh i can name about a million different things this would go great with! Love it

  18. ceciliag says:

    Of course, this is great! I guess i could use the dried chillies form the garden too! I can think of someone who will be into this one! c

  19. billpeeler says:

    This will surely help brighten up a good bloody mary – nothing better!

  20. Oh, wonderful! And definitely perfect for cocktails. I like the peppery vodka with something fruity too.
    Have you tried making it with horseradish? Also great.

  21. egg me on says:

    Homemade pepper vodka! You guys are too much. Sound great.

  22. Kristy says:

    Very cool! :)

  23. I remember being given a Vodka shot with chillies and a few other Indian spices, and it was fabulous. I’ve never quite been able to remember the exact contents though! Oh, and I adore Bloody Mary’s

  24. Lynda says:

    I bet this tastes great.

  25. Caroline says:

    This is too cool. Wish I could try it!

  26. Mad Dog says:

    Home made sounds interesting. I’ve had the Russian peppered vodka before, but I didn’t like the fact that it made my head feel very hot!

  27. Vodka is definitely my vice of choice. This peppery one looks like a great one to add to my list to try.

  28. Well this sounds easy and good. Why haven’t I tried this before?

  29. This works well with vanilla bean to make your own extract! Great idea with the pepper!

  30. You always come up with such cool stuff!

  31. eva626 says:

    those chilies look like jewels

  32. I love this idea!

  33. mikedalley says:

    This is being tried, like, immediately!

  34. This really sounds interesting. I like bloody marys, too.

  35. Young Wifey says:

    Now I want a bloody mary!

  36. What a great idea Greg. I love pepper flavoured vodka. I bet you didn’t know that in Canada (and some states that Canadians frequent – like Arizona and Florida) they serve a drink similar to Bloody Mary but it’s called a Caesar…it’s made with clamato juice (tomato and clam juice). First time I ordered in the US when the waitress asked for our cocktail order, she looked at me like I was from another planet…”the salad?” she asked.

  37. Rock Salt says:

    Very interesting! At first I thought it might have been szechuan peppers – I wonder if that would also work?

  38. What’s not to love?

  39. That sounds crazy and great!!

  40. That sounds awesome. Love drinks with a kick! :)

  41. alex says:

    wow I bet thats got a kick!

  42. ....RaeDi says:

    I was going to ask you if you have a recipe for a really good virgin bloody mary!

  43. spicegirlfla says:

    Very cool!! I know you can buy these flavored vodkas, but making them yourself is just always more special!! I have to try this one out!

  44. Charles says:

    Nice idea – does it string when you drink it though?

  45. Sissi says:

    I have brought once a bottle of chili vodka from Hungary. Even though according to my Hungarian friend it was a tourist trap, I love it! (I still have some). Chili in vodka gives an additional kick and is actually very refreshing. Seeing your home production I am thinking I should make it too one day. Thanks for the great idea!
    By the way, the chilis look very unusual for me. I have never seen anything similar.

  46. Pingback: Tomato Martinis | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  47. Pingback: A Little Bit of Spice is Nice | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

