Chili with Smoked Brisket and Venison

By Katherine

Hot and spicy

I love seeing chili recipes, but never use one. It’s always about what’s on hand. A spoonful of salsa, leftover pico de gallo or burrito sauce, jalapenos that are getting wrinkly. (Oh come on, it happens.) But when Greg smoked a beef brisket, a treat his lovely wife picked up to make his day thanks very much, I knew some of it would be going in the pot. Well, after it went on the smoker of course.

While Greg insists everyone should have smoked meat in their refrigerator at all times, I realize not everyone has the pleasure of being married to him. Oh and not everyone has a cool friend who sends them venison. So take this recipe and do what you must, adjust, adjust, adjust. All you really need is a big old pot. Oh and clear some room in your freezer.

Chili with Smoked Beef and Venison

  • 16 ounces kidney beans
  • 8 ounces dried black beans
  • 28-ounce can whole tomatoes (crushed by hand or roughly chopped)
  • 14.5 ounce can diced tomatoes
  • 1 lb ground venison
  • 3 cups smoked brisket, shredded or chopped
  • 1/4 cup chili powder
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 1-2 jalapenos, diced
  • hot sauce to taste
  • salt/pepper to taste

Soak the beans overnight. Drain and refill pot with enough water to cover the beans with an inch or two to spare. Set over medium heat and get to chopping. Saute onion in a skillet over medium heat, with just a bit of oil. Throw in the venison and brown. Drain any fat and return to eye. Sprinkle about half the chili powder over the meat and onions and stir to incorporate. Dump the meat mix into the pot, along with the peppers, tomatoes, the remaining chili powder, brisket and a splash of hot sauce. If the mix is too thick add about two cups of water. Bring to a boil, then turn down and let simmer until the mix gets thick and the beans are tender, about an hour and a half to two hours. Taste periodically and add salt, pepper and more hot sauce to taste. Remember to blow on your spoon first so you don’t burn your tongue.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Beef, Food, Recipes, Soups and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Chili with Smoked Brisket and Venison

  1. ceciliag says:

    fantastic, i have a brisket in the freezer, not cured yet, but once I have gotton that done i shall get out my big old pot and make this while the woodstove is still cranking.. what an excellent idea! Thanks katherine! c

  2. Hmmm, sounds like someone might have burnt her wee tongue;) I would probably scarf a bowl down and realize after I’d burnt my entire mouth.. fantastic chili with the new additions:)

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    Some dishes are just well-suited for cleaning out the fridge. Some of my best chilis, frittati, and pasta have resulted from going through the fridge. Even so, I doubt if any of it ever approached this chili of yours with both venison and smoked brisket. Sounds great!

  4. Carolyn Chan says:

    You have some awesome friends who always seem to give you wonderful meats that you make delicious meals from ! Chilli should be a staple in everyone’s house :)

  5. The idea of brisket in chili sounds delicious! I’ll have to make some tomorrow!

  6. Courtney says:

    It started snowing around here today – so a big bowl of chili sounds perfect right about now. I love how it looks so hearty and full of good stuff.

  7. Purely.. Kay says:

    Awww.. just reading this post, tells me, that the two of you still probably have googly eyes for each other.. after all this time :). There’s nothing more special than that :). Love the smoked brisket in this

  8. Oh boy, comfort food doesn’t get any better than this! :-) Mandy

  9. Makes me wish I hadn´t given my fridge quite such a good clear out! Seriously thogh, this looks amazing and it´s been far, far too long since I made chili. Greg is a lucky man to have such a thoughtful wife. And a smoker….

  10. hotlyspiced says:

    This recipe sounds great. I just cooked chilli for dinner tonight served with rice, avocado and corn chips – but no venison!

  11. BrainRants says:

    Great recipe – much the way I do mine… except hotter. That and I have no friend who offers me deer meat.

  12. Last year I bought JT a Smoke Daddy smoker which attaches to our Weber; we just don’t have the space for a full blown smoker like you guys have! It can actually cold smoke which is really cool. JT loves venison and would likely love this, but as you mentioned, there is no venison on hand. I do love the spice. You should try a little cocoa powder in it, it really adds a lovely background flavour.

  13. rutheh says:

    We had some snow so to me it is chili weather. Good timing on your post!

  14. Amy says:

    Great idea to use smoked meat in the chili!

  15. egg me on says:

    I love that this is so simple, yet crazy flavorful. If only I had some smoked brisket and venison!! Sigh. A guy can dream.

  16. Kristy says:

    I love a meal that makes good leftovers to toss in the freezer. It’s always so fun to pull it out a few months later and enjoy an easy, but delicious meal all over again. :)

  17. This dish would really go over big at my house. It looks wonderful and you can almost taste and smell it from the picture!

  18. eva626 says:

    that looks awesome…spicy is always a good thing!

  19. ....RaeDi says:

    Brisket in chili… what a wonderful marriage! Sounds and looks delicious

  20. niasunset says:

    WOW! I loved it, exactly so delicious… no chance to be opposite :) Thank you dear Rufus, with my love, nia

  21. Katherine, that looks delicious, thank you for the recipe! We’ve just discovered slow cooked brisket, so it’s wonderful to have something to do with it!

  22. aaaaahh… so heaaarrttyyy… :)

  23. That’s a really rich and beautiful looking chili, Katherine!

  24. That’s my view on chilli too, I have never posted my recipe because it is different every time, it’s all about tasting as you go. I bet the smoked brisket makes it delicious. I could really eat a chilli now!

  25. Great use of the extra brisket.

  26. Looks like something I should make for dinner tonight, but I don’t have a Greg to smoke my brisket! *sad face*

  27. Pingback: Lazy Sunday, The Leftover Edition | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  28. Pingback: Chipotle Pintos | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  29. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Some Chili cause it’s Chilly | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  30. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Game Day’s Approaching Part Two | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

