Cool as a Cucumber

It's monochromatic

This is not your grandfather’s gin and tonic. Because think about that, how long would that have been sitting out? The key is to let the gin and cucumber have plenty of time to get to know each other, like an hour or two. Trust us, we took it upon ourselves to try cucumber drinks that weren’t infused, and guess what: The cucumber flavor was nonexistent.

Cucumber cooler

  • Juice from 1/2 lime
  • 2 ounces gin steeped in cucumbers (8 ounces gin, 1/2 cup cucumber)
  • soda water

Thinly slice half a cup of cucumber and place in a shallow bowl. Cover with eight ounces of gin. Let sit for 1-2 hours in the refrigerator. Fill a tall glass with ice and then pour two ounces of the gin mix and juice from half a lime into the glass. Fill with soda water and garnish with cucumbers. Resist the urge to eat those cucumbers, they’re really strong after a two-hour gin bath. We stayed away from them for a total of two minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Cool as a Cucumber

  1. Yuri says:

    Cucumbers are so refreshing. This is a drink I’d like to sip on :)

  2. I’ve had drinks made with cucumbers and gin, which are made for each other, but none that sounds as refreshing as this! I’d definitely nosh on those drunken cukes.

  3. Sounds so refreshing, and I love gin!

  4. eva626 says:

    oh that does look refreshing…great picture!

  5. Purely.. Kay says:

    You’re right.. I don’t ever remember a gin and tonic looking like this. Really nice

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ll definitely be revisiting this post come Summertime. It looks oh, so refreshing!

  7. Tandy says:

    other than a refreshing drink, this post has made me smile :)

  8. rsmacaalay says:

    This would be a good drink in the Philippines, they love their gin there

  9. Sounds an ideal summer drink …..or spring…..or fall:-)

  10. Ooh now this is definitely my kind of drink! I am sure I can be patient enough to wait the hour or two… :-) Mandy

  11. Carolyn Chan says:

    I love how your household is so boozy !

  12. BrainRants says:

    If this takes the juniper edge off of gin, I might have to revisit my relationship with that form of firewater.

  13. Great post and yes, gin with cucumber is officially delicious! And it must be good for you…right?

  14. I always hope that when I see the cucumber water in my health club that it would actually be gin & tonic. Ha!

  15. Sissi says:

    Cucumber is one of my favourite all-year vegetables, so this drink sounds like especially for me. I am so intrigued by the results, I will certainly try it. Thanks for the wonderful idea!

  16. egg me on says:

    Gin-soaked cucumbers?? Where have these been all my life?! I can’t believe you waited as long as 2 minutes. What kind of gin do you guys prefer?

  17. I have a friend who loves G&Ts, I will surely pass along this recipe to her. What a great idea.
    I sometimes infuse cucumber in still water in the summer, it is very refreshing and it looks so pretty.

  18. Amy says:

    This looks so refreshing! I think even subbing out the alcohol (since I don’t drink) for club soda or something would be equally delicious :)

  19. spree says:

    Never considered such a pairing, and now that I do, it seems what could be more natural? How will I keep track of all the drinks of yours I’d like to try???

  20. Rachel says:

    Sweet. I thin I’ll print the picture and hang it over my desk… maybe next summer will seem less harsh! Coooool mmmmm…

  21. Sounds like a winner, especially on a hot day!

  22. Alli says:

    I can see this would be a nice refreshing tipple for summer.

  23. My drink of choice! I always put a ton of lime into mine but this addition of cucumbers sounds lovely.

  24. Caroline says:

    Wish I liked cucumber!! For some reason, I just can’t stand the smell/taste. But I know how refreshing it tastes in a drink like this. I’m sure my friends would love me if I made this for them. :)

  25. Kristy says:

    I had a cucumber drink in Hawaii and didn’t enjoy it very much. I’d be willing to try a different kind of drink with cucumber though. Perhaps it was just the mix.

  26. nrhatch says:

    I don’t think a cucumber cocktail appeals to me . . . I’d rather have a Vodka Tonic with lemon or lime.

  27. ceciliag says:

    Oh WOW, have you any idea how GOOD cucumber is for you!? and soaked in gin! This is the healthiest drink .. I know this is an oxymoron for morons but really I love this one! Roll on summer and some cucumbers.. c

  28. Mmm…this reminds me of the beautiful, huge, water urns they had in our hotel in Hawaii that were filled with star fruit and cucumbers in the lobby. So refreshing! Would have been even better with the gin… :)

  29. Very cool…..More like lady drink.

  30. hotlyspiced says:

    That looks so refreshing. It’s a very hot day in Sydney today and one of those G & T’s with infused cucumber would go down nicely.

  31. niasunset says:

    My Love will love this. But I should say this, the photograph is so beautiful and so charming too. Thank you dear Rufus, with my love, nia

  32. Nice refreshing twist on a gin and tonic.

  33. We get the cucumber mix with shochu in Korean restaurants in Tokyo only the cucumber is cut into thin strips. The cucumber adds a faint sweetness to the shochu which can otherwise have a very strong smell. Your drink looks very refreshing.

  34. What an awesome refreshing drink – so cool (pun intended of course ;))
    Love your blog!!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Two Twix Fudgy ‘Whities’

  35. Looks like a “cool” drink. I am not a big gin drinker but would try this.

  36. As a Gin and Tonic drinker myself, I think this is something I’ll branch out to for variety sometime. Thanks for the cucumber tip!

  37. fussylady says:

    I love cucumbers and i love Hendricks Gin which has that cucumber element already…I will definitely try this out in the summer though. Good post!

  38. Pingback: Cucumber Lime Martini and a WordPress Discovery « Kitcheninspirations

  39. Pingback: Our Favorite Summer Cocktails | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

