Shrimp with Redeye Gravy over Cheesy Grit Cakes

By Katherine

It's like a fashion model on the runway

Redeye gravy is normally served over creamy grits as a main dish, and it normally has lots of butter. But we were having an herbed butter with our main dish, so I didn’t want to overload on butter. Yes, that’s possible. Instead of sauteing ham in butter, as some recipes suggest, I went for bacon, with its built-in fatty goodness. Hey, I know how to make Greg happy. (This was our starter on Valentine’s Day.) To serve this as a main dish, make the grits as directed, but don’t chill and form into cakes.

For Grits

  • 1 cup grits (not instant)
  • 3 cups shrimp broth (chicken will work too)
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1/4 grated Romano or Parmesan
  • salt/pepper

Line a baking sheet or pie pan with parchment paper and set aside. Bring broth to a boil and stir in grits. Lower heat and cover, cooking until broth is absorbed and grits are tender, about 12 minutes. Stir cheese and butter into grits; season with salt and black pepper. Be sparing with the salt, since the cheese is salty. Pour grits onto prepared dish and smooth into an even layer. Cover and refrigerate until very firm, a few hours or overnight. Use a biscuit or round cookie cutter to cut out cakes, about 8-10; cover and refrigerate. Or just cut them in squares to avoid leaving any scraps. If you do have scraps, put them in the fridge and eat them for breakfast the next day.

For Shrimp

  • 2 slices bacon
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms
  • 1 cup finely chopped green bell pepper
  • 1 small jalapeno, seeded, diced
  • 1/2 cup minced onion
  • 1 tbsp minced fresh thyme or parsley
  • 1 cup shrimp broth (chicken will do in a pinch)
  • 1/2 cup freshly brewed hot coffee
  • 1/2 cup diced tomatoes (canned or fresh)
  • 1 tsp hot pepper sauce
  • 1/4 cup Madeira or sherry
  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 pound medium uncooked shrimp (about 16 to 20 count per pound)
  • 1/2 tbsp butter or olive oil

Saute bacon until crisp, in a heavy large skillet over medium-high heat. Remove bacon, reserving drippings in the pan, and set aside. Once cool chop or crumble both pieces. Return the pan to heat and add onion to the the drippings. Saute until tender, about two to three minutes. Add mushrooms, green and hot pepper and saute until tender, about three minutes. Add broth, coffee, tomatoes and hot sauce; bring to boil. Mix Madeira or sherry and cornstarch in small bowl. Add to sauce and bring to boil, stirring constantly. Reduce heat and simmer until thick, about three minutes. Season gravy with salt and pepper and additional hot sauce if desired. Stir in half the chopped bacon and half the parsley. Can be made a day ahead. Melt butter or heat oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Add shrimp and saute. While pink on the outside but opaque in center, add gravy and heat through until shrimp are fully cooked, about 3 minutes.

To assemble: Heat grit cakes in an oven set to 300 until warmed throughout, about 10 minutes. Place one or two grit cakes on each plate and top with shrimp mix, crumbled bacon and fresh parsley. Drizzle gravy around the side.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, Seafood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Shrimp with Redeye Gravy over Cheesy Grit Cakes

  1. rumpydog says:

    Oh Dog! That sounds scrumptious!

  2. Purely.. Kay says:

    *singing* Work.. work it girl.. do your than on the runway..” LOL. I had to respond to your caption Katherine lol. You already know I LOVE this. Anything with grits and shrimp.. I’m there. Hands down. Team ‘No Instant Grits’ here.

  3. nrhatch says:

    Yummy! And, on a related note, I made fried green tomatoes and grits for lunch yesterday. ;)

  4. Michelle says:

    Beautiful photo! And, really, what’s not to like?

  5. Kristy says:

    Great Valentine’s starter! Nicely done Katherine. :) We have a cheesy grits thing coming up…I think I’ll be back here for reference.

  6. A_Boleyn says:

    Sounds like a very tasty meal.

  7. Carolyn Chan says:

    What a wonderful starter for Valentines ! Lucky Greg :)

  8. OMG! I so want! Are you free to pop over and cook this for us tonight!

  9. Wow! That looks absolutely amazing!

  10. lisahudson says:

    I’m not a fan of grits (my Midwestern upbringing is showing), but this looks delicious. I think my stomach just growled!!

  11. k.m. says:

    I’ve never tried grit cakes before, but I trust your judgment! Plus the sauce for the shrimp sounds great, shrimp with sherry is so good.

  12. Nice pic and a very tasty recipe – Greg should be happy with that.

  13. A perfect portion of heaven right there! Delicious! :-) Mandy

  14. ChgoJohn says:

    What a great way to start a celebratory meal! Your subbing bacon for ham was perfect!

  15. Tandy says:

    clueless me, what exactly are grits? I see them being cooked on Chopped but we don’t get them here, and I never tasted them that I can recall when I was in the States :)

  16. Oh wow – this really is a “died and gone to heaven” dish!

  17. Bacon an heat my boy would be all over this dish. BAM

  18. Joanne says:

    I just bookmarked this and am TOTALLY making this ASAP! I love the ingredients list…coffee?!?!?! YES!

  19. Oh, my my…that sounds amazing! Not-instant grits are nearly impossible to get up here…I think I need a care package from home!

  20. sallybr says:

    great looking dish! I’ve never cooked grits, only polenta, which I suppose would work here too. I like the fact that you can make the whole dish pretty much ahead of time and have zero prep when serving, perfect for entertaining

  21. you have this southern gal drooling all over her computer screen! YUMMMMM

  22. Wonderful! A new way to “fix” grits! Can’t wait to make this. Too much butter???

  23. zestybeandog says:

    Sounds great! DO they call it re-eye gravy because of the coffee?

  24. Maureen says:

    wow.. haven’t had redeye gravy since I left Tennessee. Down home flavor!

  25. G-LO says:

    Whoa! That looks delicious!

  26. Ah, Southern food…I dream of it sometimes. Like this dish!

  27. This looks so, so good! I had a – NYC-sized – version of this for brunch on Saturday. Could have it every day.

  28. This sounds lip smacking good!

  29. You served that as a starter on Valentine’s Day? That must have been some meal. Sadly, I would not do well in the south, grits are definitely not a favourite (heck, I don’t even like polenta!). The shrimp looks great, that’s for sure.

  30. Caroline says:

    OoooOooOo la la, so gourmet!! This sounds and looks fantastic. Very impressed, Katherine! Great starter for your Valentine’s Day dinner.

  31. spree says:

    Fashion-model beautiful! What a great looking dish that is! Mm,mm,mm!

  32. Courtney says:

    What a luck guy! If this was just the starter, I can’t wait to see what your main dish was. :) Looks amazing, Katherine!

  33. aFrankAngle says:

    No grits for me, but the red gravy on the shrimp with some couscous or quinoa sounds like a treat.

  34. Greg is a very lucky guy. These look spectacular! The gravy is just dripping all over the shrimp, calling out to be almost slurped up. YUM!

  35. spicegirlfla says:

    Gorgeous presentation! And this was just the starter!! Can’t wait to see the rest!! I agree with Greg, he’s a lucky guy…and you two make the perfect couple!!

  36. ceciliag says:

    Oh no you caught me out, I still haven’t tried grits, what kind of an adventuresome New Zealander am I! love love c

  37. rsmacaalay says:

    Oh Gregg, you got me here. Awesome! That thing rocks!

  38. Wow this looks awesome! I’ve got a bunch of shrimp in the freezer and grits in the cupboard that would really like to jump into this recipe!

  39. Karen says:

    Sounds like a great dish for Valentines or any day.

  40. shrimp and grits = yummy! it’s like i’m living in the South again!

  41. Christina says:

    Shrimp and grits are one of my favorite comfort foods! I can’t wait to try this! :D

  42. katyarich says:

    This recipe is all I like…wonderful!

  43. Pingback: {Recipe app review} Southern style prawns with grits « Wholesome Cook

  44. I would definitely go with this spicy recipe. Just need some fried rice & good wine.

  45. What on earth?! I need this RIGHT NOW. You should be very thankful I’m not your neighbor. I would be hanging around on your doorstep every night hoping to be invited in for dinner!

  46. Charles says:

    I don’t have any idea what grits are like (not even sure I can get them around here…), are they anything like polenta? It looks so wonderful though – cheese, shrimps – I know I love those so I’m betting the grits would make a winning trio! :)

  47. Mel says:

    I’d much rather stare at your food than at any fashion model on any runway.

    Not tried grits before, I don’t think I’ve ever seen them here – in my mind they sound a little like a cross between couscous and polenta?

  48. Joanne Ozug says:

    I had not even heard of Redeye gravy until this post and my goodness it was DELICIOUS!!!!!! My husband and I loved it.

  49. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Now with Caffeine | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  50. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: A Southern Mashup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  51. Pingback: Southern-style Prawns with Grits | Wholesome Cook

Leave a Reply

