Twice-baked Potatoes with White Cheddar and Mushrooms

I don't even see the steak behind it

We’ve had a really mild winter, which is pretty normal in these parts. But on a recent weekend when the temperature dropped into the 30s we were craving some comfort food and something hot out of the oven.

Twice-baked potatoes

  • 3 medium white potatoes
  • 1 cup sliced button mushrooms
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream, or milk
  • 1/2 cup grated white cheddar
  • 1/8 tsp black truffle salt (optional see note)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Bake potatoes at 400 until done, about 45 minutes. In the meantime, saute mushrooms in a tablespoon of butter until tender. Salt and pepper to taste and set aside. Place the remaining tablespoon of butter in a large bowl to soften. When potatoes are done, cut them in half and scoop the flesh into the bowl, reserving the skins. Scoop as much flesh out as possible without tearing the skin. Mash potatoes with butter, salt, pepper and cream. They should be the consistency of mashed potatoes. Scoop the potato mix back into potato skins, smoothing the top with a spatula or knife to make even. Divide the mushrooms evenly on top of each potato, then do the same with cheese. Bake in a greased baking dish at 350 until cheese is melted and potatoes are heated through, about 15-20 minutes.

Note: If you don’t have truffle salt, which we got as part of a goody bag from Marx Foods, a bit of truffle oil will do. But the recipe is just fine without either.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Twice-baked Potatoes with White Cheddar and Mushrooms

  1. Yuri says:

    Twice baked potatoes are one of my bf’s favorite appetizers :) love the idea of adding mushrooms.

  2. Somehow I’d forgotten just how good a twice baked and stuffed potato could be. Thanks for the delicious reminder. And now, to go get some potatoes…

  3. A_Boleyn says:

    Like the previous poster, I love twice baked potatoes, in fact, potatoes in any form. :) This is another side dish that seems to be made to order to be served with a medium rare steak.

  4. Reblogged this on Delorespearl By Amber's Blog and commented:
    On my list of recipes to try this week!

  5. Joanne says:

    Look at all that cheese…WANT!!!

  6. Sounds delicious! Can’t wait to try it!!

  7. Ruth says:

    A comfort food winner!
    Looks so satisfying.

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    Oh, I see the steak — but I’d dive into that potato first. The aromas from that plate must be incredible. Grilled steak, sautéed mushrooms, cheesy potatoes. It’s all good!

  9. Kristy says:

    I agree with John…I see that steak. Yum! And this potato looks awesome. I love that you used white cheddar. Mmmm. I could use a bit of comfort! :)

  10. nrhatch says:

    Once I swap out the shrooms for broccoli . . . I’ll be ready to tuck into it! :D

  11. BrainRants says:

    Dude, the ‘taters sound great, but what’s behind that ‘tato in the picture?? It looks quite edible.

  12. Purely.. Kay says:

    I don’t care if this was three times baked or if it was fried.. I would eat this. Hands down. :)

  13. Yes please! I will skip lunch for an extra one of these! :-) Mandy

  14. Tandy says:

    I am a potato addict – and right now, if I could, I would have these for breakfast :)

  15. That’s a recipe that we often do at home – good winter food.

  16. Yum! I’ve never made 2ce baked anything… but every time I see twice baked things, I wish I could try some… should bookmark this and try it out soon! :D

  17. Yum! I was having visions of a similar dish using bread this afternoon – potatoes sounds more delicious though! LOVE!

  18. I’d forgotten about twice-baked Baker’s.. what a great recipe to keep on hand for chilly days.. well, for any day!

  19. My husband would love those potatoes!

  20. Maureen says:

    You have hit my hot button with these potatoes. I could eat one now, even though it’s really hot and humid. That’s how great these photos are :)

  21. I see both the potato and steak! They look delicious!

  22. First thing I taught my kids how to make – sans truffle salt, of course!
    Did you have snow on Monday? Dad said they had 4 inches up in the mountains, but most of it was gone by Tuesday.

  23. Love, love, love potatoes – and with cheese and mushrooms…well, perfect! What, I get steak too?!

  24. As if twice baked potatoes were not amazing enough you go and throw on juicy meaty intoxicatingly rich mushrooms! WOW!

  25. I want Marx foods to stop by my blog. ;) This potato looks heavenly and sinful at the same time.

  26. Thanks for bringing back an old classic with a new twist. You can try to hide that steak but I am hoping that hits the website as well. Yum. BAM

    • That one won’t but another one will. All we did with this one was grill it, then saute about a cup of mushrooms with a tablespoon of butter and a tablespoon of balsamic for the topping. I guess we could’ve just added that to the post, but it seemed too easy!

  27. This goes perfect with Chales’ steak and mushroom sauce! mmm!

  28. niasunset says:

    Seems so delicious… I cooked today potatos too for dinner! Thank you dear Rufus, have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

  29. I almost don’t see the steak behind it either ;) These look like serious comfort food!

  30. Judy says:

    Works great with sweet potatoes too. Mmm!

  31. Amy says:

    oooh boy these look rich, but I love twice baked potatoes! Def gonna add mushrooms to mine next time :) Thanks!

  32. Courtney says:

    Yum – and I can see it was paired perfectly with a gorgeous piece of meat. Meat and potatoes is my kind of meal.

  33. Eva Taylor says:

    Cheddar and mushrooms, what an amazing combo, Greg. What steak?

  34. spree says:

    Greg, what can i say that hasn’t already been said a hundred times? love the mushrooms and cheese on an already earthy and wonderful potato. simply mmmmmmm!

  35. Caroline says:

    STOP. Looks way too delicious! Oh man, what a combo.

  36. What a fantastic recipe – looks simply divine since its classy and tasty to the boot :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Healthiest Natural Sugars Muesli Bars

  37. Sissi says:

    Potatoes with melted cheese and mushrooms and cream… I love your way of keeping warm :-)

  38. zestybeandog says:

    I love meals like this, they are comforting and a great guilty pleasure of mine! These look great :)

  39. Karen says:

    I use truffle oil with mashed potatoes all the time. I know the twice baked must have great.

  40. Sydney Jones says:

    Oh, I love twice-baked potatoes!! The cheese, oh the cheese :) looks yummy!

  41. Norma Chang says:

    Great combo, potato, cheese and mushrooms and truffle salt. One of my favorite comfort foods.

  42. jo-lyn says:

    Wow! These look super tasty! =)

  43. Potatoes and mushrooms are heavenly together!

  44. Meenakshi says:

    I stumbled onto your food blog via Gourmandistan…loving it! Potatoes and butter are a match made in foodie heaven. And I too, would have ignored the steak in the background!

  45. Love the combination of flavors!

  46. Leah says:

    This looks like heaven on a plate!

  47. I like your caption. I only noticed it after pulling my eyes away from the juicy steak, I mean, potato.

  48. Zo Zhou says:

    Ahhh, that would be so perfect right now (or any other time for that matter). I would love to try this with taleggio too, but it might be a bit too rich :P

  49. rsmacaalay says:

    That melting cheese on top is so tempting

  50. This looks so good. If it’s a potato my family likes it. Doesn’t matter what kind or how they are fixed!

  51. TasteFood says:

    These sound great. I love cheese, truffle and mushrooms!

  52. Sophie says:

    These look so interesting & looks like great comfort food: top notch!

  53. nancyc says:

    Love all that cheese on the potato–sounds yummy with the mushrooms, too!

  54. Mushrooms, cheese, and potatoes are like my three favorite things. This looks brilliant.

  55. Black truffle salt is not an option.

  56. thecoastallivingmom says:

    Looks awesome!

  57. Pingback: A Lighter Twice Baked Potato | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  58. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: More Cheese Please | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

