Grapefruit Granita

To climb on top of mount grapefruit

We love granita, no matter the season. It’s a light dessert that keeps well and uses lots of juice, perfect for those times an 18-pound bag of grapefruit is on sale at Whole Foods.

Grapefruit Granita

  • 4 large ruby red grapefruit
  • one lime, juice and zest
  • 1/2 tsp orange flower water
  • 1/4 cup simple syrup

Juice fruit and strain into a large bowl. Stir in simple syrup, orange flower water and zest. Pour into a glass container (about the size of a brownie pan), cover and freeze. To serve, scrape into bowls. Garnish with fresh mint.

Note: To make a simple syrup, heat equal parts sugar and water over medium heat until dissolved. Remove from heat, cool and store in the refrigerator.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Grapefruit Granita

  1. Yuri says:

    Love the pink color :) I got some rose water and orange blossom water the other day. This looks like the perfect recipe to try with it!

  2. nrhatch says:

    Light and refreshing . . .

  3. k.m. says:

    How did you know grapefruit is my favorite! This is a definite must-make.

    Also, that bowl is really pretty.

  4. Sounds so refreshing!

  5. Courtney says:

    Gosh, that looks good. With no guilt, too. :)

  6. Yum! Going to try that next time I buy some grapefruit :)

  7. Jebus, 18 pounds!

  8. So beautiful. What can I substitute for the orange flower water?

  9. Aha – some of those grapefruit were destined for this gorgeous granita. Lovely, and I love the little pot!

  10. Rachel says:

    Perfect for the endless summer here in TX! Mmmm… one feels cooler just *looking* at it!

  11. lvaletutto says:

    Looks delicious! Looks like you guys are going to be eating grapefruit for a while!

  12. Amy says:

    This sounds seriously refreshing and delicious. Nate loves grapefruit so I may just have to whip up a batch ;)

  13. Judy says:

    Snow in the forecast for today, so this recipe will have to wait for that first warm push of Spring.

  14. spree says:

    I’m with you Rufus! A frozen grapefruit dessert is one of the most delicious finishes to a meal that I know of. Very nice recipe!

  15. What a lovely intermisso! I love a good granita.

  16. So simple…don’t know why I don’t make them more often…
    Oh, and great use of Pyrex! ;)

  17. ChgoJohn says:

    This is such a great little dessert, great after one of Winter’s more heavy meals and even better on those too hot Summer nights.

  18. Maureen says:

    18 pounds of grapefruit? Wow. I love granita but I’ve never made it out of grapefruit. What a cool idea.

  19. chefconnie says:

    Grapefruit is always wonderful and the pink is fabulous. Love this recipe!

  20. Granitas are so much fun and so easy to make I wonder why we don’t whip them up more often? Your Grapefruit granita is fantastic looking. I will try this recipe for sure. Yum.

  21. Very pretty… this would be perfect for a baby shower in that shade of pink… or a morning’s brunch. What a great use for a mountain of grapefruit;)
    ps messing around with Facebook and have added/readded with my JustaSmidgen identity… very confusing to say the least, but I’m trying to keep my personal email and cooking blog separate but now my own posts don’t go to Facebook, sigh… Anyway, I think I still have you friended and liked over there? If not please let me know!

  22. Caroline says:

    Mmm perfect dessert! Huge fan of granita.

  23. Norma Chang says:

    Clever idea, grapefruit is so in season now and on sale, timely recipe, thanks.

  24. This I’ve got to try! It’s just beautiful. We’re trying to take a healthy tack for a while and I was casting about trying to think of things I could make that were dessert-like but not heavy or fattening…I’d completely forgotten about granita. Thanks and Yay!

  25. oh how refreshing and yummy! I am one of those that LOVE my grapefrui- my husband can’t stand it but i love it. Granita makes me happy too so I will be making this soon!

  26. spicegirlfla says:

    Mmm….refreshing and pretty too!! We are still having pretty warm weather here and I could see this as a nice cooling treat!

  27. A_Boleyn says:

    I agree that it SEEMS simple but this is also classy and flavourful and complex with the addition of the zest and orange flower water. By the way, I finally baked the only ‘Swedish’ dish I know. :) Enjoy.

  28. Lynda says:

    I love granitas and I love grapefruit, so this is perfect.

  29. Granitas are so easy and delicious! Never thought to make them in the winter with grapefruit, but it sounds so good right now!

  30. Purely.. Kay says:

    I have never tried granita before. T here.. I finally said it lol. But you guys definitely make me interested in trying it VERY soon

  31. Allison says:

    Sorry if I wrinkle my nose up at the call for orange flower water – sounds a little gross. What is it like and could I swap out for something else? I once tasted Elderberry water and it was vile – this is what I’m thinking of with an orange tinge.

    Otherwise I’m totally on board. :)
    A

  32. Sissi says:

    What a coincidence! Grapefruits at your house too :-) This granita looks so beautiful and refreshing, but I doubt if I would have the courage to make it with the freezing cold we are still having here. I bookmark it for the Spring.

  33. Sophie says:

    That must taste amazeing & tangy a bit! I love grapefruits & this recipe is a real winner!
    Tjis is also very refreshing! :) A real delight !

  34. Looks great! What a refreshing idea and drink. I just love grapefruit, too.

  35. So lovely and refreshing, I’m a grapefruit addict.

  36. This really makes me yearn for summer! Looks incredible!

  37. Pingback: Valentine’s Vegetarian Extravaganza Dinner Menu « Kitcheninspirations

  38. peasepudding says:

    Perfect, I’m surprised our not making a boozy granita!

  39. Pingback: Grapefruit Granita « Kitcheninspirations

  40. ....RaeDi says:

    Wonderful dessert and love the little bowl!

  41. Pingback: Broiled Grapefruit and Other Ruby Red Favorites | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

