Venison Hash

It starts off healthier at least

After realizing how much we like venison, I can’t believe we didn’t think of this earlier. The red bell peppers add a nice hint of sweetness to offset the gamier flavor of the meat.

Venison Hash

  • 1 lb ground venison or venison sausage
  • 1 red bell pepper diced small
  • 1 small onion diced fine
  • 4-5 potatoes
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tbsp mace
  • 2 tbsp fresh sage chopped fine or a handful of dried sage leaves crushed to a powder
  • Salt/pepper
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 tbsp butter

Peel potatoes and cook until tender in boiling salted water. Drain and cool potatoes, then chop into medium cubes. Season flour with mace, salt and pepper and coat potatoes in it. Shake off excess flour and set aside. In a large saute pan melt one tablespoon of butter with a tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat. Saute onion until it begins to turn golden. Add peppers and cook until softened. Add venison and brown meat breaking it into small chunks. Add sage and season with salt pepper. Melt two tablespoons butter in pan and add potatoes. Mix well and cook  until potatoes have browned on the outside a bit, making sure to scrape up bits as you go. Serve hot with fried eggs.

A note: Venison is a leaner meat, so to keep it from sticking I used a bit more fat. The butter also keeps the potatoes from sticking. If you don’t have venison, try a corned beef or pastrami hash.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Venison Hash

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    Hash is another US/Canadian dish that I’ve never tasted. Venison is still on my list of things to try one day as well.

  2. That looks great. I haven’t had venison since I was small – lots of deer hunting in Michigan where I grew up.

  3. BrainRants says:

    Loves me some deer flesh, loves me some hash. This is like a Reese’s – two great tastes all in one. Yet again: email me some.

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    Hash is such a great dish, although making it with venison is something new to me. I just can’t get my hands on venison anymore. :(

  5. Sounds great – I’m a huge venison fan

  6. Vension hash.. yes I haven’t had this dish in such a long time. And pastrami hash is another one of my favorites. This would be the perfect breakfast for me :)

  7. Mmm… that looks really good. I don’t know if I like venison, because I don’t believe I’ve ever tried any.

    P.S. Check sp. in blog post title, then remove my little P.S. if you want to :)

  8. Breakfast with eggs! Wonderful, Greg.

  9. Holly says:

    We don’t get venison that easily over here. It’s more a speciality meat I guess. Do you just get it in a normal supermarket?
    Uttering the words “hash” and corned beef though still gets me excited!

  10. Hash is wonderful but have not made it for oh so long. I won´t be able to use venison unless you send me a Red Cross parcel,but I am sure I could try to recreate it. Delicious, fancy this for breakfast now!

  11. rutheh says:

    I shared it with my daughter’s in-laws. If I heard right, he has gotten five deer this year so I am sure they need some new recipes.

  12. I have never had venison but it sure does look delicious.

  13. Maureen says:

    I haven’t made hash since leaving the states. I must change this soon. Your venison hash sounds really good.

  14. Oh, hash….how I’ve missed you!

  15. Now that is a decadent recipe, JT would love it.

  16. Lisa says:

    Surprisingly, in spite of being overrun by deer in our area, I haven’t had venison in years. Thanks for bringing it back to mind.

  17. I love it! Venison is great and this is such a good way to use it, flavorful and probably less intimidating to any venison newbies out there too.

  18. I love venison and elk meats. I’ve a freezer full of elk that my father-in-law provided. I think I’ll give this a try with the ground elk – gotta be great! I love making hash out of leftover meats too, like roasts and such. Happy Saturday! Better start shopping for that waffle iron :-)

  19. Rachel says:

    Mmmmmm!! This looks dandy – do you have a grinder? Or did you get the meat ground elsewhere? I still have some deer in the freezer from my neighbor, maybe I’ll try this!

  20. TasteFood says:

    What a great idea!

  21. We have deer that destroy our vegetation and pose a danger to our dog (the dog just barks, they have antlers and they’re not afraid to use them) … this is how I’d like to see the next deer that traipses through our yard. Alas, it is illegal to take matters into our own hands and eat the fearless yard/dog wreckers. (oops, did I say that out loud?)

  22. jo-lyn says:

    YUM!! We love venison around here, but I haven’t tried it like this before, this is one I will definitely have to do!!! =) Thanks!

  23. See, I always thought we were supposed to make hash from leftovers. It’s nice to know it’s a proper meal on its own, and yours looks very appealing. I’d like some for breakfast right now, actually! :)

  24. Looks delicious, but I’ll have to try it with chorizo since I’ve got some leftover from this weekend.

  25. Charles says:

    Booooo, I went back to the section of my store where they’d been selling venison and wild boar before Christmas and it’s all gone :( Turns out Frenchies only eat the stuff around Christmas :’( Not sure if I’ll be able to find venison again for another year – I’ll have to ask around some butchers! Lovely looking hash Greg – love the idea of the peppers. Bet it made a nice offset to the game flavour.

  26. spicegirlfla says:

    Ah hash…always a great weeknight dinner…or weekend breakfast. This was a good idea to use your venison in.

  27. I love venison. The flavor and texture are just wonderful. I’ve never had it in hash, but this recipe makes it sound delicious.

  28. rsmacaalay says:

    Great idea for a hash, never tried game meat for a dish like this. Yummy as usual!

  29. I love venison, too. This looks so good. I could eat this for breakfast.

  30. Kristy says:

    This looks really, really good. I’m sure the red peppers are fantastic in this. Yum!

  31. I’d make this but I still haven’t receive that package of version from you yet.

  32. Love hash of any sort – yours looks awesome!

  33. Sounds lovely, except for mace… isn’t that what the police use to dissipate rowdy crowds, pepper spray? Curious….

  34. Carolyn Chan says:

    I don’t have access to venison but I love how you have used it here. Could you do the same with beef?

  35. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Breakfast for Dinner | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

