Guinness is good for you

Yipee cheese and beer

Any excuse to buy Guinness is good in my book. We saw this recipe over at Serious Food For the Soul and made a few adjustments because of what we had on hand. No parsley, seriously! Afterward, we had extra beer on hand, but not for long.

Guinness and Cheese Dip

  • 4 ounces cream cheese
  • 4 ounces goat cheese
  • 1 ½ cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup shredded Swiss or Emmental cheese
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp horseradish
  • 2 Tablespoons Greek yogurt or sour cream
  • ¼ Cup Guinness draft beer
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • sprinkle of kosher salt
  • dash of Sriracha sauce

Preparation

Combine the cheeses, mustard, horseradish and yogurt or sourcream in the bowl of a food processor or blender. Sprinkle in a pinch of kosher salt and pulse until combined. Pour in the beer and blend until smooth. Add the green onions and hot sauce; pulse a few more times. Taste for seasoning and add a bit more salt and cracked black pepper, if desired. Transfer the mixture to a bowl and chill for at least an hour, or overnight. Before serving, soften slightly, by letting the dip warm at room temperature. Garnish with green onions and Sriracha sauce. Serve with crusty bread or crackers.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Guinness is good for you

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    Guiness is too rich for me. I can only drink half a pint before it gets to be too much. The dip would be a nice alternative to drinking it straight. :)

  2. Perfect dip to serve my husbands friends on game night!

  3. I have all of this in my fridge and am on my second glass of scotch. Lord help me. ;)

  4. eva626 says:

    ‘crusty’ bread?..

  5. That would be entirely too dangerous for me to keep around. I have cheese moderation issues.

  6. nrhatch says:

    Oh, wow . . . that could be a great addition to Super Bowl Sunday! Thanks, guys!

  7. Now that is some serious cheesy goodness there… tell me what’s Sriracha? Tabasco-ey type thing?

  8. I had to check this one out, anything that begins with … “Guinness is Good for You” is a recipe I’d love!!

  9. Oh yeah.. cheese dip.. oh yeah. Who doesn’t love a good cheese dip. Not sure about the Guinness though.. and don’t go banning me from this blog because I said that either lol.

  10. Oooh yes, beer and cheese! It’s like an updated fondue! :)

  11. That’s a very innovative cheese dip. I would have thought it would be darker with the Guinness.

  12. Tandy says:

    I don’t normally read blogs over the weekend, but as I agree with your blog title, I had to! Sounds very interesting :)

  13. Wonder if I will be frowned upon for eating this as a main meal? Delicious! :-) Mandy

  14. Charles says:

    Guinness and cheese “dip”? Wow, I wasn’t expecting *that* when I read the title. Was thinking maybe some sort of soup or stew. Nice one. I have a bit of a weakness for dips in any form, so it’s always nice to discover new ones.

    Thanks for sharing :)

  15. I try and I try to like Guinness, but I don´t…the good news is I love it in food..yippee! And as I adore cheese I want to try this soon. When my mum had me, they gave her toast and jam and a bottle of Guiness in the hospital to sort her out after the “ordeal”. Apparently it was quite normal back in the “old days” to do that in UK hospitals…what a great idea!

  16. This looks like exactly what I will be making for my next get together. Perfect dip!

  17. ChgoJohn says:

    4 cheeses AND a bit o’ Guinness? Sounds great! I bet this dip is going to grace quite a few tables come Super Bowl Sunday.

  18. BrainRants says:

    This could also be a good fondue dip.

  19. I love cheesy dips but I can’t stand Guinness. Can you tell me how much of the guinness flavour actually comes through because I love the smell but I just don’t like the taste :(

  20. sallybr says:

    Hummmmmm…. interesting recipe! When I saw the post I tried to guess what you were going to make, and somehow I expected a chocolate cake! Couldn’t be more wrong! ;-)

  21. Eva Taylor says:

    My favourite beer of all time, seriously. And it’s lower in calories and carbs than lite beer! So drink to your health! I love the cheesiness of this dip, it really looks and sounds tasty. Cheers Greg and Katherine!

  22. My daughter will love this one!

  23. OMG. I am *so* trying this… and look at how pretty too! Beautiful visuals :).

  24. aFrankAngle says:

    Rich sounds good by me … and unlimited dipping stuff.

  25. You know it! Looks delicious.

  26. TasteFood says:

    Guinness and Sriracha? I love everything about this dip.

  27. Rachel says:

    Oh I am so going to try this! Mmmm… it *sounds* happy!! Thanks!

  28. Chef Scar says:

    Sounds great! I still have some Guinness left over from Christmas (we had it with several dozen East Dennis Oysters) so will put it to good use.

  29. A recipe after my own heart…in more ways than one, I suppose it could be said, but that won’t stop me. Cheese, wonderful cheese…and beer!

  30. spicegirlfla says:

    I’m so not a beer drinker, never have and never will….but I do and will cook with it!! Go figure! So this recipe definitely excites me…sounds perfect for game watching!!

  31. The Wookie says:

    A recipe that starts with Guinness and ends with a dash of Sriracha …. now that’s cooking I can get on board with. Looks great. I’ll have to give it a try.

  32. ceciliag says:

    wow, guiness, i love guiness, looks great, c

  33. Christina says:

    Any excuse to buy Guinness sounds great to me! This would be great for a Superbowl appetizer! :)

  34. Sissi says:

    It’s funny, because I have made a Guinness cake tonight ;-) I totally agree Guinness is good for you, in sweet, savoury or pure form. This dip sounds delicious.

  35. Maureen says:

    What a great dip. First the cake and now the dip. It’s an omen, I’m sure.

  36. Four types of cheese and Guinness in a recipe???? Oh Greg… what are you doing to me? I’m torn between bookmarking this and pretending I never saw it….. *drool*.

  37. Karen says:

    With all the football parties going on…this will be perfect.

  38. This sounds like a great dip, I love it.

  39. Courtney says:

    Well, of course it is! (especially this way!)

  40. Oh how I LOVED dark, dark, beer before going gluten free…and cheese for that matter (before going dairy free). Guinness is my mom’s favorite beer, she would love this!

  41. Kristy says:

    Fabulous! I love a cheesy beer dip. I think we should revisit our rarebit recipe with Guinness too. Yum!

  42. Guinness is good for you! Especially if you drink 2 pints a day while studying abroad in Ireland. You walk it off every day!

  43. Natalie says:

    The Washer Up loves Guiness, it’s his favourite thing! I can’t imagine it with cheese but hey, I’m willing to try anything and I’m sure I wouldn’t have any trouble using up the rest of the can either!!

  44. SimpleP says:

    Cheese and guinness should be a healthy part of any diet! Great pre-game beer recipe.

  45. canalcook says:

    In Ireland, they used to give you a pint of guinness after you donated blood. We seriously believe the guinness is good for you. Love this idea (plus the obvious love seeing people using Irish products!)

    • Guinness is a personal favorite. I love those signs and while my relatives are of German and Italian descent when we visited the Guinness factory, Katherine joked I’d returned to my motherland. I love the idea of donating blood and getting a pint in return!

  46. After a couple of miscommunications, I need a way to get back into my husband’s good books. i think this could do the trick, as it combines his two favorite food groups — cheese and beer. I MUST try this!

  47. egg me on says:

    I already love cheese and Guinness, so I know I’ll REALLY love this dip. Although I imagine myself eating it all, like a soup. Is that wrong? Don’t judge. I know you’ve thought about it too.

  48. Whoa..this looks incredible! I love cooking with alcohol, too!

  49. Guiness is good for grown ups especially!

  50. niasunset says:

    How beautiful your photograph… I loved it and also I wanted to taste it too… Thank you dear Rufus, with my love, nia

  51. Guinness is good for you and one of the great elixirs for the soul. I usually would say more Guinness is needed in the recipe, but then again one must have something to drink. ;-)

  52. I am making this Saturday night when we have friends over for dinner. It sounds perfect for the couple we invited! Guess I”ll head to the liquor store!

  53. My daughter drinks Guinness. It’s her favorite beer. I am sending her this recipe. I know she will love it. Thanks.

  54. I like honey Dijon. A small amount of alcohol will act as a medicine.

  55. Stef says:

    Look at you guys even making an aesthetically pleasing presentation with the strategically placed drops of Sriracha – nice!

  56. Pingback: Your one-stop shop for game day apps | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  57. Pingback: Your one-stop shop for game day apps | Sad Man's Tongue Rockabilly Bar & Bistro – Prague

  58. Carrie says:

    Oh my god! I need to make this either tomorrow or for Saint Patty’s Day. Thanks for sharing some of your recipes on my page! Everything looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

