Cranberry scones with rosewater syrup

That scone is enormous

By Katherine

See that shiny glaze and the bit of scone that’s super moist? No it’s not undercooked, that’s the wonderfully tasty, and sticky, rosewater syrup. The syrup is adapted from Fati over at Fati’s Recipes. She’s used it on all sorts of wonderful things like this and this. And we’ve wanted to put it on something for awhile. We essentially scaled down her recipe and used lemon juice instead of citric acid. Did we heed her warnings that it was sticky? Of course not. Greg had some of it on his chin for most of breakfast. Perhaps, I should have told him. Use a fork if you must, but remember life’s no fun if your food isn’t messy sometimes!

Cranberry Scones

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp freshly grated nutmeg (or 1/2 tsp ground)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen cranberries
  • 1/2 cup pecans, chopped coarsely
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 egg

Rosewater syrup

  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp rosewater

For the scones, preheat oven to 375 and grease a cookie sheet or line with parchment. In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, nutmeg, baking powder and salt. Cut in butter until the mix resembles coarse crumbs. In a small bowl, whisk buttermilk and egg. Add to flour mixture and stir until dry ingredients are just moistened. Dump in nuts and berries and stir until just combined. Turn out on a lightly floured surface. Gently knead about 10-12 times. Divide into two balls and shape into two six-inch rounds. Cut into four to six wedges, but don’t separate. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown. Make syrup while the scones are baking. Brush top with syrup while still warm.

For syrup, place sugar and water in a two-quart sauce pan over medium heat, stirring occasionally. When the mixture turns clear and boils, turn the heat down to low and stir slowly for another few minutes to thicken. Add lemon juice and then rosewater, stir for another two minutes.

Looking for other tasty ways to use cranberries? We love this cranberry coffee cake over at Sweet & Crumby and these cranberry orange pecan muffins at Sweet Pea’s Kitchen, not to mention her cranberry orange bars. Also, NancyCreative has had some wonderful cranberry recipes lately too, including these cranberry sauce muffins with a cranberry sauce glaze.

Notes: If you don’t have buttermilk, you can put a half tablespoon of lemon juice or vinegar in your measuring cup and fill it the rest of the way to the one-half cup mark with regular milk.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Cranberry scones with rosewater syrup

  1. Lovely, sticky, yumminess:)

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    The scones look lovely with the fresh cranberries though I’d give the syrup a miss as I didn’t care for it the last time I used the rosewater. :)

    I’ll have to check out the cranberry recipes as I have a can of cranberry jelly to use up.

  3. jeanne says:

    This one is going on the must have it, gotta have it SOON list!!!

  4. nrhatch says:

    I have cranberries . . . and I love scones. {{quickly puts two and two together and smiles}} :D

  5. Tandy says:

    the syrup sounds lovely! Happy New Year to both of you :)

  6. Must be something in the air: I’m posting (in part) about roses as food tomorrow too! This looks like a stellar combination. What fun!

  7. Oh.. I LOVE that you added some syrup to this scones. I am so hungry for sweets right now.. that I’m looking for a piece of chocolate lol. I love these

  8. The cranberries look delicious and jewel like – when is the cranberry season?

    • katherine says:

      I’m not 100 percent certain. They’re normally only in the stores in November and December. We try to buy a few extra bags and freeze them.

  9. Lovely, have seen a few recipes for cranberry scones and I have a few frozen ones left…love the sound of the syrup too. Messy is always good!

  10. Hot from the oven with a tall glass of milk. Yum, I have never made a dish with rosewater might have to give it a try.

  11. Heheheee… Thanks for the links. I’m glad you guys liked the syrup! That scone looks amazing! I’ve never been a fan of scones because I’ve always had boring plain ones but I’d love to try this recipe, and give it a go with the syrup (I’ve never thought of doing that before!) :D

  12. Sticky food? I think that’s all we have around here these days, from the look of the Little One’s face – and my walls….
    Beautiful recipe. And, the image of Greg with syrup on his chin is priceless!

  13. I wish I had some of these right now! Notice I said “some” not “one”. They look so good.

  14. I love Nutmeg, Rosewater combination. I got to try this one up soon.

  15. Karen says:

    A warm scone and a cup of tea. Yummy.

  16. ChgoJohn says:

    These do look good, Katherine, sticky or not, and those that you’ve mentioned sound great, too.

  17. Happy New Year, Katherine! Hope you had a wonderful Christmas. I’m not a huge fan of Rose Water so I’d probably pass on that flavour, but a wonderful eucalyptus honey syrup might be just the right substitute.That scone is indeed huge, or the plate very small! I wouldn’t have told Greg about the sticky chin either…sometimes it’s just right to make fun of your spouse!

  18. Christina says:

    I love a good scone recipe! These look great! I bet the addition of the rosewater syrup on top is amazing. :)

  19. niasunset says:

    Ah, rosewater syrup! You really make me to taste this one… before your recipes I was saying I don’t like rosewater in the kitchen but with your beautiful recipes and sure, photographs, I really want to taste them. What can I say more, this will be a big change for me. Thank you dear Rufus, with my love, nia

  20. Kristy says:

    I’ve never made scones before and I need to give them a try. They look so darn good. The kids would love these too – they are all about sticky messy food. Miss A has a particular knack of getting things stuck in her hair. :)

  21. spree says:

    Fingerpicking loveliness. Will bookmark this for when we’ve dropped our five extra festive pounds.

  22. Courtney says:

    Sticky and messy are always good in my book!

  23. spicegirlfla says:

    Happy New Years Katherine! Love the look of the cranberries in these scones. The syrup sounds delicious and I like that it was brushed or poured on as a glaze but do you think it could be served on the side with the scones?

    • katherine says:

      I think it’s too sticky and would be hard to work with that way. You could try half and half. I think it just starts to congeal too fast, not to make it sound unappealing. It’s really tasty if you like rosewater.

  24. Mmmm…one of those would go very nicely with the cup of tea I’m getting ready to brew.

  25. eva626 says:

    that loos very good and tasty…i love the cranberries peeking out and i def love the size of it!!!

  26. ay ay ay! Yum. Now that is a way to kick start your day. Those flavours together sound lovely, and if they stick on your chin even better…more for later.

  27. Charles says:

    Now I *really* have to get myself some rosewater. I love the idea of putting it on scones… I can imagine it gave it a fabulous flavour! I’m still not entirely sure of the difference between scones and biscuits though :D

  28. ....RaeDi says:

    Beautiful, you captured it perfect and I want one!

  29. Ooo… Katherine, you are speaking my language today! I had a dream a couple of nights ago I made scones (for my life is that exciting) and now I feel this is another omen. I should make scones. THESE scones.

  30. Looks like one yummy, messy, sticky, gooey,and tasty treat!
    I’m doing the Whole Living 28 day challenge and what did I decide to make today? Candied orange peels. Yep, don’t ask me why but I did. I did well uptil I added sugar on the candied oranges and ate one or maybe three! I’m going to bookmark this recipe so I can make these wonderful scones and try them with my orange simple syrup.

  31. aFrankAngle says:

    Too bad smellovision hasn’t made it to the blogs because if it did, this blog would be up at all time on this computer.

  32. Caroline says:

    Mmm rosewater syrup? Incredible! These look great. Happy New Year to you both.

  33. Amy says:

    There you go using that delicious rosewater again…I need to get some of that! These look amazing. Happy New Year :)

  34. Jessica says:

    Yum, looks great! My roommate has some rose water…

  35. I LOVE the idea of rosewater syrup! These scones are a great teatime treat. :-) Mandy

  36. SimpleP says:

    That’s the tastiest looking scone I’ve ever seen. Glazes always make sweets even sweeter.

  37. Sissi says:

    I have never had scones, but I have seen lots of them. This one is certainly among the most beautiful and appetising ones!

  38. needtotaste says:

    Nice! I think I’ll try this with Orange Blossom Water.

  39. I dearly love scones – would take them over a muffin any time! Very nice!

  40. nancyc says:

    Another cranberry recipe I need to try! Thanks for mentioning and linking to the cranberry sauce muffins! :)

  41. k.m. says:

    Rosewater adds just the right amount of decadence to a lot of dishes, I can’t wait to try these scones!

    (Also, I had chocolate on my cheek earlier for a bit…good to know that I’m not alone, haha)

  42. thecoastallivingmom says:

    That rose water syrup is so cool! I’ve been wanting to try a recipe with that ingredient for a while. Thanks for the idea!

  43. Love the introduction of rosewater syrup into the scones. I can already imagine how good these are. Delish!

  44. I have a bottle of rosewater in my fridge that has just been hanging out waiting for this recipe. Thanks!

  45. oh my! these look heavenly..I love rosewater in desserts

  46. What a good idea to pour rosewater syrup over scones. I’m thinking blackberry, to heighten the blackberry-rose connection. When summer comes, I’m trying it.

  47. Ooh, shall have to give this rosewater syrup a whirl, with the cranberries lurking in my fridge. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

