Lazy Sunday fried eggs and ham

Layering is always fashionable

Brown a little ham and polenta in a frying pan, fry up an egg or two, stack ‘em all up and, mmmm…..

This may also help soak up some of the previous night’s revelry.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Lazy Sunday fried eggs and ham

  1. JamieAnne says:

    Yum!

    Happy New Year!!!!

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    That looks like a piece of Canadian bacon under a perfectly cooked sunny side up egg … a very yummy Sunday breakfast or brunch.

    Happy New Year!

  3. nrhatch says:

    That polenta would be all that I need to get the day going . . . with one of your breakfast martinis!

  4. Bring on the hot sauce!!! Happy New Year Greg and FAM! BAM

  5. rutheh says:

    No lazy Sunday possible here as about 16 people are coming over for Open House at 1!
    Fireworks making the 9 month old puppy anxious but bringing in a bang of a new year!
    Looking forward to more of your wonderful recipes and stories. (Thanks for all the witty and fantastic comments on my blog, too!)

  6. Good way to start off a great year!!
    Cheers!
    Kathryn

  7. So did it soak it up? ;-)
    Happy New Year kitchen gurus!

  8. Make mine a double order please! Looks wonderful….Happy 2012 :)

  9. Susan says:

    Good lord! You’re up early! Happy New Year!

  10. Wishing you and your family a fabulous 2012! Looking forward to reading your blog in the year ahead, and actually trying out some of your cocktails. Re this post – I definitely needed this meal after last night’s party with my friends…

  11. Kiki says:

    Wish I’d read your post before I had breakfast… :-) Happy New Year!

  12. I must get round to trying my own polenta someday soon. Thanks for the reminder :)

  13. Eva Taylor says:

    Who? Me? Revelling? Well maybe just a little! ;) I love the simplicity of ham and eggs! A little gruyère grated on top and I’m sold!

  14. That’s definitely the food for today – have a good New Year both of you.

  15. ChgoJohn says:

    The Breakfast of Champagners!

  16. Upon arriving home after fighting an insanely crowded farmer’s market yesterday, I discovered I am out of eggs. I’m sure this would be lovely though. Grrrr… #fail

  17. Carolyn Chan says:

    Absolute genius for my rather sore head from last night’s festivities.

  18. egg me on says:

    Looks great! I could totally use something like this to soak up last night’s revelry …

  19. eva626 says:

    have a great 2012…and do what you two do best…display some beautiful food for us all.

  20. This sounds perfect for a follow up of last night with too much champagne. And here I am, slowly munching on a bowl of cereal…blegh.

  21. Well.. I just woke up and I want to eat this LOL

  22. spicegirlfla says:

    Great idea using the polenta! I love it; you know I will be stealing this trick!

  23. aFrankAngle says:

    Mine with no polenta please.

  24. Great minds think alike and all haha – I made this for breakfast today too:) But what a great idea with the polenta!

  25. spree says:

    Polenta for breakfast, now there’s a good idea!

  26. Charles says:

    I thought those were hash browns for a bit… was surprised to read it was polenta :D Your post also inspired me to finally look up explanations for the confusing array of terms Americans and Canadians use to refer to the humble fried egg. Now I actually know what “over-easy” means… hooray :D

  27. Lisa says:

    This looks like a great way to use up some of that Christmas ham we still have hanging around here.

  28. I’ll have some of THAT thank you very much. That would be the best breakfast or breakfast for dinner anytime. Yum, yum, yum!

  29. zestybeandog says:

    Love it! Happy New Year!!!

  30. nancyc says:

    That looks good–I haven’t had polenta before, but I’ll have to try making it and having it this way. Happy New Year!

  31. I was in desperate need of this yesterday (day ahead in Oz remember). I’ve also never fried up polenta for breakfast, I really should, considering my love of the grain (do we call it a grain? seems about right to me).

  32. Well I see you had eggs for breakfast the first day of the year as well. Late evening with food, champagne, a street party, fireworks…so your good solid breakfast looks kind of what I made for us this morning….good “soaking up” food. Have a Happy New Year.

  33. My kind of breakfast!

  34. Korena says:

    I went out for breakfast today with some friends and we tried 4 different places before finding one that was a) open and b) without an hour-long wait for a table – apparently New Year’s Day breakfast is popular?! I wish someone had made this for me at home!!

  35. TasteFood says:

    It’s Monday now, but I’m still going to do it. Happy New Year!

  36. Fried eggs and ham! My favorite breakfast. I do declare I think you are becoming more Southern every day!

  37. Kristy says:

    LOL! I actually went out to eat for something very close to this the day after my birthday celebration. It does help! :) Next time maybe I’ll have Mike whip it up for me at home while I stay in bed. ;)

  38. Asmita says:

    Looks fantastic! Would love that for breakfast every single day!

  39. Happy New Year! This looks great! I’ve never tried ham and egg with polenta – will have to rectify that soon!

  40. Ginger says:

    You’re making me hungry as always! Happy New Year, I wish you both 365 days of happiness and mushy love!

  41. A perfect New Years breakfast. :-) Mandy

  42. Sissi says:

    This luscious breakfast might convince me polenta is actually good ;-)

  43. Stef says:

    This seems like perfect post-revelry food…

Leave a Reply

