Lucky black-eyed pea cakes

Looks like someone has made a surprise visit for dinner

There’s an old Chinese proverb that eating black-eyed peas on New Year’s Day will bring one luck in the new year. Oh wait, it’s a Southern thing.

Black-eyed pea cakes

  • 4 cups cooked black-eyed peas
  • 2 minced serrano chiles
  • 6 cloves minced garlic
  • 1/2 red onion minced
  • 1 green or red pepper minced
  • 1 cup diced ham (optional)
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 to 1 cup bread crumb
  • 3-4 tbsp chopped cilantro
  • salt and pepper to taste

Mix garlic and serranos in a large bowl. Add peas and mash to a pulp. You can throw in the eggs at this point if it’s difficult. Once peas are mashed add eggs (if you haven’t already) ham, green pepper, onion, cilantro, salt and pepper and mix to incorporate. Add 3/4 cup bread crumbs and form into patties. Heat enough oil in a large skillet to cover the bottom f the pan and brown patties on each side, until crisp on the outside and warm inside, about 2 to 3 minutes per side. Garnish with fresh pico, or hot sauce and sour cream.

Hankering for some more black-eyed pea recipes? How about black-eyed pea and ham stew? Jamie Anne over at A Dash of Domestic has this Texas Cavier. (Funny we always call it Cowboy Cavier, but we are one state over.) Judy over at The Southern Lady Cooks has some crockpot black-eyed peas or hoppin John. And check out the smokin’ hoppin’ john over at cooking-spree.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to Lucky black-eyed pea cakes

  1. ceciliag says:

    Well. I WILL be making these for sure this weekend, I have johns vegetarian (go figure) children staying and I bet I could make a vege version and an omni version of these.. excellent TASTY timing!

  2. Extra serranos in mine, please! Love the idea of serving black-eyes peas in cake form.. Are you making collards too?

  3. Kristy says:

    Another veggie I’ve never eaten…you are always inspiring! :)

  4. nrhatch says:

    Yummy! And that camera toting visitor is ADORABLE. :D

  5. pixilated2 says:

    I love black eyed peas, so naturally I will have to try these! ~ Lynda

  6. pcadams says:

    Don’t forget the greens, Greg. They’ll bring you money in the new year too! Peace, Phil

  7. Yup, whoever gets to eat these cakes is one LUCKY winner!

  8. rutheh says:

    Oh my, it is my lucky day to be in your kitchen. Wondering what I am drinking!
    I am going to go and link to your delicious and spicy recipe post with my “cardboard self” in it right now. What fun!

  9. Pingback: 3 Year Old Salts Her Popcorn « Ruth E Hendricks Photography

  10. Pingback: Cardboard Me Dines in Arkansas « Cardboard Me Travels

  11. I was just going to say.. Chinese proverb? LOL. Guess what my mother is making on Sunday? You guessed it right :). Too bad they’re not my favorite :)

  12. Those look good. Is that a salsa on top?

  13. I could do with a truck load of those black eyed peas, for luck:)

  14. These look good enough to eat every day!

  15. niasunset says:

    Wonderful, I didn’t know before… I should make too. Thank you dear Rufus, Happy New Year for you both, with my love, nia

  16. SimpleP says:

    I was just about to look up leftover ham recipes. This is perfect, and I’m thinking the black eyed pea and ham stew may be on the menu for this weekend. Your timing is impeccable!

  17. Cj says:

    Hello, I am a follower of flat Ruthie, and a fan of this post. For years my mother made black-eyed peas on the New Year. I only wish she was still with me to see this recipe today. Great pic and great grub. Thanks for both.

  18. Michelle says:

    I usually find black-eyed peas a little meh, so the cake idea is intriguing. I suppose I’m gonna have to come up with some way to eat them soon, lest I have bad luck in 2012.

  19. spicegirlfla says:

    I’ve definitely heard of having black eyed peas for New Years, but I’ve never tried it before. I think your version in a patty will be my entry into trying these out. And I know my kids will like them served this way. So…what’s the story behind the paper doll? Is that Katherine whom we’ve never seen before???

  20. I love this tradition! We have lentils in Italy, and hangovers in Spain so think we´ll be getting a good healthy dose of legumes to sort us out! Seriously, they look good…just need to get my hands on some Black Eyed Peas now!

  21. Ah the Black Eyed Peas, a great band and obviously a great pattie :)

  22. Black eyed peas are pretty much the only food on earth that I don’t like. But…YOU have managed to make them look inviting and tasty. You’ve got some serious skills if you can make me ponder black eyed peas. ;)

  23. jeanne says:

    looks like a winner…

  24. ChgoJohn says:

    Although I’ve heard of Hoppin John for New Year’s, this is my first “cake” and I like the change. Say, Greg, besides lentils, are you aware of any other Italian traditions? Mom always gave us grapes and I wonder if others follow that tradition.

    • According to Chica, hangovers in Spain are a great tradition. I’ve heard of grapes, but we never did it. The black eyed peas, definitely from Katherine’s family!

      • I learned of the Spanish grape thing one New Year’s Eve from a friend who grew up in Spain: pop one grape in your mouth for each chime of the clock at midnight, not biting or swallowing any until you’ve crammed all twelve in–if you can. Once you’ve figured out how to semi-gracefully dispense with a jammed mouthful of grapes without choking to death (which is a particularly embarrassing way to leave a party, with the whole body bag thing and all), then any necessary kissing may commence. Which, on that learning occasion, it did, with the guy I’d just fallen in love with and was very soon engaged to marry. So I heartily approve of the whole grape ritual, even though I usually don’t like to eat grapes. Go figure! :)
        Kathryn

  25. We definitely had that tradition in our house even though I never acquired the taste for the beans! Fun to think of those memories — Happy New Year to you both!

  26. needtotaste says:

    goooood idea! We always do Hoppin’ John, must add this to the New Year’s Day menu. Southerners unite! Don’t forget the hog’s jowl.

  27. karencooking says:

    Yes, our family always eats black-eyed peas on New Year’s Day, but never like this! Now I’m intrigued. Thanks for yet another idea, and Happy New Year!

  28. Alli says:

    I love the idea of black-eyed pea cakes! I’m keeping it simple with just hoppin’ john and collards this year, but this is definitely bookmarked for next.

  29. spree says:

    Love the idea of the bean patty Greg and so would my crowd. Must try! Looks like no end to good luck this year. Thanks so much too for the link back!

  30. I’ve never made bean cakes with blackeyed beans before. I want to now… rummaging around in cupboard, yay! Have to soak them though…mmmm? I’m so pleased I managed to get hold of some of those large portabellas you use, I was actually jumping up & down in the supermarket, I’m off to find your stuffed with sundried toms & goats cheese (I think) recipe now so dinner is sorted. Have a great New Year & thanks for your constant support & inspiration!! xx

  31. Pingback: smokin’ hoppin’ john | cooking-spree

  32. Sissi says:

    They sound excellent! I had no idea it was a Southern tradition. I hope they bring you happiness, joy and prosperity!

  33. eva626 says:

    you both should come on up to NY for newyears eve…and hand me that plate of black eyed pea cakes.

    for real.

  34. Caroline says:

    Oh these sound great! Your surprise visitor makes them look even more fantastic.

  35. Sounds like a great NY’s tradition. Black eyed peas, I need one of these or two or three! Happy New Year!

  36. spree says:

    Greg (& Katherine) I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award.

  37. Karen says:

    I made a recipe similar to this a few years ago when we celebrated New Years day with friends that brought their children. I thought black-eyed peas in a fried patty might be accepted better than Texas caviar. The recipe I used originated in Africa…dried black-eyed peas are ground and used like flour. Your recipe sounds great and is much easier to prepare.

  38. My black-eyed peas are in my cupboard right now ready for tomorrow!

  39. I never thought to make a cake out of black eyes peas! Great idea. Happy new year!!!

  40. Stef says:

    I like your dinner visitor. :)

  41. They are really beans, aren’t they? The cakes look wonderful and the spice combo within sounds delicious!

  42. Carolyn Chan says:

    Yum they look great!

  43. These sound delicious – I love spicy cakes and Chinese proverbs ;)

  44. Laura says:

    Did Flat Ruthie bring a hostess gift?

  45. k.m. says:

    Haha! I did a double-take after reading that. Chinese New Year isn’t for a bit, but in case you want to get ready now, serve a whole fish for good luck!

  46. Nice cakes for a surprise guest. I love hot sauce to spice things up.

  47. Ingenious sounding recipe. I’ll take two.

  48. Pingback: You Inspired Me…to cook! Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide | jeanne's blog…a nola girl at heart

  49. Never had this before but it looks and sounds good. Will have to try it.

  50. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: To Bring Wealth and Health | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

