Hot buttered nog

Mmmmm butter

Who doesn’t want an excuse to drink butter?

Hot buttered nog

  • 1 cup eggnog
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup sweet vermouth
  • fresh grated cinnamon
  • fresh grated nutmeg
  • 1 tsp butter

Heat milk and eggnog until warm, but don’t allow to boil. Add vermouth and stir to incorporate. Grate cinnamon and nutmeg over mixture and divide between two mugs. Put a half teaspoon of butter in each mug.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Hot buttered nog

  1. Lord that looks good!

  2. nrhatch says:

    Because eggnog is NOT caloric enough. ;)

  3. jo-lyn says:

    nom nom nom…

  4. I will drink butter any darn day of the week LOL..

  5. needtotaste says:

    This makes me happy. When I lived in France, I began to put butter in hot chocolate on a whim. Spectacular. I say YES to drinking butter!

  6. rutheh says:

    Yes, the phrase drinking butter is delicious wording. Going back to the gym in January!

  7. This sounds so decadent!!!

  8. Tori says:

    In the near future, i am seeing a taste test in my house: Hot buttered nog versus hot buttered rum!

  9. I am so far in favor of your butter-drinking proposal that I would consider it a perfectly appropriate recipe for Hot Buttered Rum if it included only the titular ingredients. This Nog, however, one-ups the concept I’m pretty sure!

  10. Carolyn Chan says:

    decadence in a cup !

  11. Hotly Spiced says:

    I am a big fan of butter but I’ve never put it in a drink. I guess it’s only a teaspoon! Must give it a try.

  12. Fantastic – have never heard of it before, but it looks amazing!

  13. Looks like butter tea from Bhutan!

  14. Sissi says:

    Greg, you want to destroy my liver already tired by Christmas and post-Christmas drinks? This looks delicious and very exotic for someone who has never had an eggnog.

  15. Eva Taylor says:

    Holy cow! Hot buttered nog sounds so decadent. Do you use sweet or salted butter?

  16. egg me on says:

    A boozy melted stick of butter! Mmmmmmmmmm.

  17. ChgoJohn says:

    Jeez, Greg, It isn’t even 9:00 am and you’ve got me salivating over a cocktail!

  18. zestybeandog says:

    I’m not a huge fan of egg nog but this looks like something I’d sip on… I guess it’s just the carton of eggnog at the grocery that scares me ;) Cheers!
    -Jen

  19. nancyc says:

    That sounds good–I really like eggnog, and have to have it every holiday season!

  20. Rachel says:

    Oh my! I’ll take mine with a smidge of rum, too, please… mmmmmmmmmm!!

  21. A very Paula Deen-worthy drink!

  22. peasepudding says:

    It’s not even cold here in NZ and I fancy a cup of that.

  23. spicegirlfla says:

    You two make the most interesting cocktails!! I just can’t keep up on my testing of all your recipes!! That swirl of butter puts the taste of this drink over the top good!

  24. Haha…ya I’ll drink some butter. Fire it up bartender!

  25. rsmacaalay says:

    Certainly good to wake up with this as a breakfast

  26. aFrankAngle says:

    A three-Lactaid drink for me.

  27. I must have this and very soon!

  28. ceciliag says:

    Butter in a drink.. I’m in! c

  29. Kristy says:

    LOL! Yes, I could drink butter. It must be genetic. I’ve seen the kids sneak pads of butter into their mouths at restaurants. ;)

  30. Watch out, Paula Deen….that looks positively, wickedly, good!

  31. Caroline says:

    Paula Deen, is that you!?

  32. Ha – this made me laugh. It looks quite tempting.

  33. Korena says:

    Oh my goodness. Just what eggnog needs – butter!!

  34. Lisa says:

    Good grief! I guess no one ever said that eggnog was a diet drink.

  35. This looks so good. I absolutely love eggnog.

  36. Scary — did Homer Simpson sneak into your house? No, I guess not — he would have made it with beer. Happy New Year!

  37. Pingback: Winter Drink Roundup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  38. Pingback: Thanksgiving Drinks to Warm the Soul | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  39. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Recipes in One Place (Take Two) | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

