Turnip greens

Hey, it's the other side of the plate

We have trouble finding a greens recipe that works for both of us, so when we saw one for collard greens over at AnnaShortcakes we just had to try it. Katherine often thinks greens are too bitter, unless they’re cooked in a fashion that eliminates any nutritional value, and I like them about anyway you serve them. We like this recipe because it used a bit of brown sugar and vinegar, which cuts the bitterness. The original recipe was part of a great Southern meal on AnnaShortcakes that included cheesy baked grits and chicken in pecan sauce. Also, check out her horseradish-crusted pork chops.

Turnip greens (slightly adapted from AnnaShortcakes)

  • 1 bunch turnip greens
  • 1/2 red onion, finely chopped
  • 3 slices bacon
  • 1 can beef broth
  • 1/8 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper
  • 1/2 dried chili, diced

Rinse greens and drain well. Cook bacon in a Dutch oven until crisp, remove and allow to drain on a plate lined with a paper towel Saute onion in the remaining bacon grease over medium until tender, about 5 minutes. Add broth, vinegar, brown sugar and peppers. Bring to a boil. Add the greens, stirring occasionally. Continue to boil until the greens are wilted. Crumble the bacon and throw that in the pot. Reduce heat to a simmer and continue cooking until tender, about 20 minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Turnip greens

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    I don’t have much experience with greens and am more in the school of cover them up with stuff that adds a million calories ie gratins rather than quick stir fries with a few spices and seasonings. I’m sure this was very tasty. And one day, I’ll even make brussel sprouts. :)

  2. Charles says:

    Ya know, I only found out this year that one *could* actually eat greens (I mean the “greens” from things like beetroot, turnips etc ofc)… I feel like I have a whole world of culinary exploration open to me these days, just from that! I had beetroot greens back in the summer with some chilli flakes and lemon juice… that was delicious. Adding in bacon and some sugar looks like it would really give them a nice bit of oomph!

  3. papipnarong says:

    ไม่หน้ากินเลย

  4. This looks like a gorgeous version of that beautiful elixir known as “a mess o’ greens”. Yes indeedy, I will be trying this one. Thanks!

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    I’ve never had turnip greens before, Greg. I’m wondering if the texture is soft and mushy or does it still have a bit if a bite to it? Sweet and spicy is something I might enjoy.

  6. I love all greens. we almost always just steam them, but this looks like a great recipe to add a bit more flavor. Yum!

  7. So delicious.. and anything like this would be so good for you as well… bonus!

  8. Sounds good. I did a pretty similar thing with brussel sprouts, vendeen ham, garlic and Worcestershire sauce! Love the idea of both of us talking about ingredients that neither of us know! Turnip Greens?

  9. nrhatch says:

    A good reminder that I should eat some veggies today . . . yesterday I ate far too many sweet treats. :D

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    I’m with you, Greg, in that i can take my greens any way but this sounds great, as does that recipe for horse-radish crusted pork chops. Thanks for passing both along.

  11. Rachel says:

    Mmmm… you know greens make *me* happy! Greens and *bacon* makes me even happier… woohoo! Happy New Year, y’all and keep the good recipes (and delicious pictures!!) coming!

  12. I am so flattered that you featured my recipes! Thank you! I hope you and Katherine had a wonderful Christmas and have an even better New Year filled with delicious experiences.

  13. The Teenage Taste says:

    A few years ago my Mom and I experimented with lots of greens and discovered that the best ones always involved bacon and lots of vinegar! Looks like you know what you’re doing! I love that you added crushed red pepper for a little heat!

  14. Karen says:

    I love every kind of green. I always serve the greens with tabasco vinegar. In Texas, it was always served when ordering greens as a side dish.

  15. Stef says:

    I agree that greens can be bitter – but with the right seasonings good cooking technique, the bitter can be made much more mild. The balsamic/brown sugar/chili combination sounds intriguing; I’ll have to try this one.

  16. This recipe is right up my food alley so to speak! I love greens cooked like you have done and I also add red peppers for a bit of heat. Tasty!

  17. spicegirlfla says:

    I’m with Katherine on not wanting bitterness, but then I do not like any greens or veggies overcooked. So I’m quite interested in this recipe. Not being a Southern gal, I don’t have much experience with greens…except those dandelions my dad use to pick!!

  18. I recently read somewhere that turnip greens were edible! Ha, I have so much to learn. I love turnips, so I’m guessing I will love the greens, too!

  19. These greens look delicious. Though, as a Southerner, I have to admit that I prefer my greens with some bacon in them.

  20. Carolyn Chan says:

    Love the addition of bacon.

  21. Spree says:

    Greens is what I Crave this time of year. With all the rich and sugary foods, a good heaping helping of greens with its bit of “bitter” tastes delicious to us! Turnip greens aren’t as easily found where we live, but I’d love to try them so will look a bit harder.

  22. joshuafagans says:

    Bacon and greens, wonderful!

  23. Kristy says:

    I tend to side with Katherine when it comes to greens. I may have to give this a try if she gave it a seal of approval. And for the record…the brie…AMAZING!

  24. I’m not a fussy green’s eater, but think this will be a bit of a favoured recipe. :-) Mandy

  25. I love pretty much all vegetables and think would be a perfect way of cooking a Savoy cabbage I have in the fridge. Should have been for Christmas Day with bacon and chestnuts but we forgot….too much celebrating was going on!

  26. I am going to try this. Of course, I love turnip greens just about any way you fix them.

  27. k.m. says:

    Turnip greens are one of my favorites. I think almost any green like it (collard, kale, swiss chard, etc.) can usually take a pinch of sugar, especially when stir-fried; brown sugar adds a new twist though that I’ll definitely be trying soon! Can’t wait :)

  28. Sissi says:

    I have never had turnip greens. I must test your recipe! As soon as I saw bacon I knew it must taste great!

  29. Well, any greens can be a bit bitter, but there are ways you can tune down the bitter taste in which I think Katherine will love and still get the nutrients. You did an amazing job with your greens :). Never heard of using beef broth.. usually we use pork to get an amazing taste out of it :)

  30. rsmacaalay says:

    Like you I love greens in any state, but crisp and vibrant would be the way if I had a choice.

  31. I am with you Greg I love greens any way you serve them and these look really tempting

  32. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Cafeteria Style | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  33. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Easter Dinner on a Budget | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

