Coffee and cream brownies

The trifecta: Cheese, chocolate and liquor

Because caffeine is good for you…

Coffee and Cream Brownies

For topping

  • 8 ounces cream cheese (softened at room temperature for about 30 minutes)
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 ounce coffee liqueur
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tbsp. flour
  • 1/4 tsp ground coffee

For brownies

  • 6 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 2 ounces unsweetened chocolate
  • 2 ounces bittersweet chocolate
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2/3 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground coffee

Preheat oven to 350 and butter square brownie pan. With a hand mixer on medium speed, blend ingredients for topping  until smooth. In a heavy saucepan, melt butter and chocolates until smooth. Remove from heat and let cool for 10 minutes. Stir in sugar, coffee and vanilla until smooth. Stir in flour and salt, until just combined. Spread batter evenly in pan, smoothing to level. Drop cream cheese mix in large spoonfuls on top of batter. Smooth to cover evenly. Use a knife or small fork to make decorative swirls on top, if desired. Bake for 50 minutes or until top is golden and a tester knife comes out clean. Cool in pan before cutting. Store in refrigerator between layers of wax paper. Serve cold or at room temperature.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Coffee and cream brownies

  1. These look wonderful

  2. I really like the ground coffee in these brownies. The photo is yummy, very yummy looking. Thanks for sharing.

  3. joshuafagans says:

    Hard to go wrong with coffee and cream!

  4. needtotaste says:

    Oh, that must be delicious!

  5. fwcollision says:

    These sound absolutely AMAZING! Great photo!

  6. You can just ship those out here: the post office is open tomorrow.

  7. I just gained 5 pounds looking at these! Yum! We will be doing holiday treats tomorrow and these would be just amazing. I hope you and Katherine enjoy your holiday weekend. : )

  8. eva626 says:

    I SO hate when you guys post late at night. This triggers my food cravings.

    now i guess ill go grab a bowl of cereal…again.

  9. Joanne Ozug says:

    Okay now, this looks SO good!!!! I’m definitely making these. I love brownies combined with cream cheese!

  10. Did you just say brownies? I absolutely love brownies.. any time of the day, any day of the week. This recipe will be saved and made :).

  11. Delicious brownies. Have a great Christmas and thanks for a year of good recipes.

  12. Wonderful balance!

  13. papipnarong says:

    คงไม่มีปัญญาได้กินมังแบบนี้

  14. Oh double decker brownies – great, except I would skip the coffee bit, don’t enjoy the flavour of cold coffee.
    Enjoy your Christmas. :-) Mandy

  15. Sounds wonderful…can I have one – or two – fro breakfast?

  16. niasunset says:

    So beautiful…. Thank you. Happy New Year and Merry Christmas dear Katherine and dear Rufus, you are one of my beautiful blogger friends that I have met in this year, 2011… Greetings and Love from Istanbul, nia

  17. aFrankAngle says:

    A great treat for Christmas Eve breakfast, snack, party … oh … any day!

    Merry Christmas Team Rufus. I invite you to visit and select a present under the tree. http://afrankangle.wordpress.com/2011/12/24/on-a-time-for-gifts/

  18. aFrankAngle says:

    PS: … and yes, a glass a port with those brownies please.

  19. ChgoJohn says:

    Trifecta is right; these sound positively addictive! I hope you guys have a great Christmas!

  20. Amy says:

    Oooh, I love coffee in desserts and I love cream cheese brownies…These have the best of everything!

  21. Courtney says:

    You better believe it is. :) Merry early Christmas to you and Katherine!

  22. Mmm, cream in my coffee is a must, so this more than works for me :D

  23. Kristy says:

    I heard a story the news the other night that they have found a way for people to inhale your caffeine. Still I think I’d prefer these-chocolate and all. Merry Christmas guys! Hope Santa’s good to you!

  24. these look insanely good!

  25. nrhatch says:

    Tis the season to be . . . fat and jolly! Yum!

  26. Yes! Caffeine is good for you…in all forms!

  27. jo-lyn says:

    nom nom nom…don’t sound too hard to make, either, always a plus! Merry Christmas!!

  28. zestybeandog says:

    Oh my!!!! I’m making these! What a great combo, cheese and brownies! YES!!!!
    -Jen

  29. The coffee and cream caught my attention! These look divine! Stopping by to wish you both a “Buon Natale!” :)

  30. Sissi says:

    Caffeine is definitely good for me! These brownies look delicious and are very original. I have never seen a combination: a coffee brownie with a coffee-flavoured cheesecake top! Must be excellent as an energising dessert with a cup of coffee. Merry Christmas to you and Katherine!

  31. Charles says:

    Oh, I never thought to add ground coffee to baking before – I assume you mean untouched ground coffee… like, literally Beans -> Ground up -> sprinkled in? Looks delicious :D

    Merry Christmas Greg and Katherine :)

    • Merry Christmas to you too. Yes, on the ground coffee. Funny story… our friends were moving and gave us groceries from their pantry a few years back. They slipped in some Folgers. That stuff lasted forever. If you don’t have Folgers just think of mud.We had that for years, only used it in brownies.

  32. Karen says:

    What a clever idea…coffee and cream brownies. You two really come up with some different treats for us.

  33. You mean because caffeine and liquor is good for you, right?

    Happy Holidays and Merry Christmas!

  34. egg me on says:

    Talk about a caffeinated Christmas! These look totally awesome. How genius: coffee, chocolate and cream mixed together to make a brownie! I’m really impressed. Maybe Santa will bring me some of these tonight. (Fingers crossed!)

  35. GregsKitchen says:

    These look very intoxicatingly delicious. I definitely have to try these.

  36. These look great!

  37. Somebody said coffee liqour !!… Its an adult snack. Looks very good remainds me of one of the Indian sweet during winter without alcohol of course.

  38. Eva Taylor says:

    Cheese cake and brownie in one, and my flavourite flavour too!

  39. Stef says:

    Caffeine is fanastic, and these brownies look wonderful! Yum yum.

  40. spicegirlfla says:

    Yum…I’ve heard coffee added to chocolate enhances the taste..perfectly made!

  41. These look great! I love brownies and a little coffee and cream cheese just make them that much better!

  42. Love it! I am trying so hard to be good since I have been so bad during the holidays.

  43. seabeegirl says:

    You are making me fat. :P

  44. Great combination! I will be posting about a chocolate, coffee and hazelnut torte very shortly – I promise I didn’t steal the idea!

Leave a Reply

