Portobello caps with goat cheese and sun-dried tomatoes

Mushroom caps remind me of flying saucers

One of our favorite guilty pleasures is spending too much money at the olive bar at our local grocery store, which is where I picked up the marinated sun-dried tomatoes in this recipe. It’s a wonderful first or main course.

Stuffed Portobello Caps

  • 2 portobello mushroom caps (remove any stem and chop finely)
  • 3-4 ounces goat cheese
  • 1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes, marinated in oil
  • 1 tsp bread crumbs
  • 1 tsp chopped fresh oregano

Clean mushrooms and remove and remaining stem. Place in a baking pan and broil until tender, about 10 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool slightly. Meanwhile, chop tomatoes finely and mix with any bits of chopped stem and goat cheese. (You’ll need enough of the mix to fill each cap so adjust the amount accordingly.) Spread mix evenly across each cavity. Sprinkle bread crumbs and oregano on top and place cheese side up in the baking pan. Return to broiler and cook until cheese is browned and bubbly, about five minutes. These are also excellent grilled.

Speaking of the olive bar… The night before Thanksgiving, Katherine was walking toward it when she saw a little girl use it as a launching pad to climb into a cart. Katherine later regaled me with stories of her and her sisters’ own childhood grocery store shenanigans, but at this moment her maternal, err foodie, instincts kicked in and she reacted with horror to the sneaker approaching the gourmet array: “No, that’s food — stop. You can’t do that!” And trust me, that little voice can carry. The olive bar attendant was out with the sanitizer in a flash and the children quickly vanished, a disappearing act Katherine’s parents are probably experts at.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Portobello caps with goat cheese and sun-dried tomatoes

  1. Mushroom pizza without the dough! This sounds really good — I’ll be making it next time I get portobellos.

  2. This recipe has pretty much all of my favorite things, looks amazing!

  3. Kristy says:

    I was seriously just talking about portobellos with my friend and all the wonderful meals that can be made from them. This is now on the list! Yum! And I love Katherine’s foodie, err maternal instincts. ;) Yeah, that would freak me out too.

  4. MarkG says:

    Makes a great first course. I like this version with ricotta cheese and olives.

    Ingredients (serves 4)
    4-6 large field mushrooms, stalks removed
    olive oil
    3 cups (600g) ricotta
    60g sun-dried tomatoes, finely chopped
    1 tablespoon chopped pitted kalamata olives
    1/4 cup (20g) grated parmesan
    2 teaspoons chopped oregano
    2 tablespoons chopped flat-leaf parsley, plus extra for garnish
    salt and pepper
    1 egg, lightly beaten

    Method
    Preheat oven to 200°C. Brush the mushrooms on both sides with olive oil. Place mushrooms, cavity-side up on a baking tray lined with non-stick baking paper.
    Combine the ricotta, sun-dried tomatoes, olives, parmesan, oregano, parsley, salt and pepper and egg, in a large bowl.
    Divide the ricotta mixture between the mushroom cavities, piling the mixture roughly in the centre.
    Bake mushrooms for 15-20 minutes or until topping is golden and mushrooms are tender. Place on serving plate and sprinkle with extra chopped parsley. Serve with a green salad or toasted bread.

  5. Carolyn Chan says:

    I’m reading this around lunch time and all I want now is to go home and make these !!

  6. jeanne says:

    I LOVE the olive bar.., it is also a weakness for my husband and I. I think we will have the stuffed shroom caps for dinner tomorrow. Thanks for sharing.

  7. BrainRants says:

    I would make myself sick on these things.

  8. rutheh says:

    Love the recounting of the Olive Bar episode!
    (and the caps look great too)

  9. Love mushroom caps – especially with goat cheese! A little crisped proscuitto would be awesome in them too.

    Katherine’s “maternal” instincts sound a lot like mine. Save the food! :)

  10. Sensational starter for with the family this festive season. I can see my nephews doing something similar in a grocery store – oh dear… :-) Mandy

  11. I love Katherine’s response… oh… the horror! (grin) Someone’s gotta protect the merchandise, eh? This is a lovely recipe.. I have all the ingredients but am distressed that the portabella (apparently mine are the “feminine” version of portobello??:) that I had purchased were already sliced.. so I can’t stuff them, drat!

  12. I never knew you could have a maternal/foodie instinct.. and I have to say I loved the story :). And the mushroom cap turned out wonderfully

  13. Love those big mushrooms. We have some here called coulemelles, but I think they’d be too delicate for that treatment. I must seek out some Portobellos.

  14. Indulgence in great food is a wondeful guilty pleasure! These mushroom caps look delicious.

  15. Tandy says:

    I am a recent convert to goats cheese so will give this a try :)

  16. Sissi says:

    I know and love goat cheese and dried tomato combination, but the mushroom sounds here very intriguing. Excellent and very appetising idea!

  17. niasunset says:

    Made me hungry now… This is so beautiful dear Rufus, Thank you and Have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

  18. Tee hee – great story! And lovely, lovely mushrooms. We don´t get those here but I think I could do something layered with oyster mushrooms using this recipe. Ooh, yum, now fancy this today!

  19. SimpleP says:

    These look gorgeous, easy and delicious. My kind of apps!

  20. I may have just found my dinner for tonight! I absolutely LOVE goat cheese in stuffed mushrooms!! Looks awesome!

  21. Charles says:

    I love portobellos – they seem so perfect for things like this! You know, I’m starting to think fresh oregano doesn’t exist in all of Europe :( Sucks to be me :(

  22. egg me on says:

    Huuuuge mushrooms. Somebody said it, but these are a bit like mushroom pizza turned inside out. (A fancy mushroom pizza, of course.) Awesome recipe.

  23. aFrankAngle says:

    Love stuffed mushroom caps … and these look yummy and remind me of a unique pizza bite.

  24. Ritchey would just drool if he saw this post! He loves portobellos and everything else in this recipe! This would make a nice surprise this evening! Thanks!

  25. I’m having a little holiday gathering with small bites and cocktails and these mushrooms are so going on the menu plan.

  26. Sophie33 says:

    Classic flavours beautifully combined in these portobello’s!
    They look utterly delicious! :)

  27. spree says:

    Some of my very favorite things in one (very big) delicious bite! I now know what’s for dinner. Thanks!

  28. Jen says:

    This looks amazing and I’m def going to make these!

  29. The mushroom caps sound grand — goat cheese is right up there with chocolate for me, the rest of the ingredients just melt into the background. Like my youngest, I got into everything as a child and there was very little “out of reach”. I too am horrified by it now, crazy how that changes ;)

  30. These look so yummy and have my favorite flavors, goat cheese and sun-dried tomatoes. I’ll bet those would make great little cocktail nibbles with that filling stuffed into baby bella (crimini) mushrooms!

  31. Stef says:

    I made a similar-yet-different version of stuffed mushroom caps a while ago; here’s the link if you (or anyone else is interested): http://savorysundays.wordpress.com/2011/07/24/margherita-stuffed-mushrooms/

    As for Katherine’s story, I have one word: gross. (Or, alternatively, EW!)

  32. sallybr says:

    Great low-carb option for a side dish, but of course I would probably serve it next to a nice bowl of pasta… there goes the low carb, but life is too short to worry ;-)

  33. Absolutely DIVINE! Rich and hearty flavor of the portobello with the creamy cheese and slightly sweet tomatoes! I am in heaven

  34. Eva Taylor says:

    What a great recipe for Meatless Mondays! Thanks Greg. Your story reminded me of the time we were with our friends Paul and T from Illinois in Whistler BC. We were picking up food in the local grocery store, when for a split second the ladies let the boys out of their site. Next thing we know is John is running long and Paul is tossing a loaf of bread to him across the aisles in the vegetables. We were just thankful they didn’t throw us out. We bought the bread.

  35. ChgoJohn says:

    3 great flavors — sun dried tomatoes, goat cheese, and mushrooms — together again in a single bite! Just once I’d like to come to a party at your house.

  36. jo-lyn says:

    i so want one of those right now! they looks so good!!

  37. These are the best looking flying saucers I’ve ever seen! Love the blow-up shot.

  38. Karen says:

    Your mushrooms, a green salad and a lovely thick slice of garlic bread would be a nice light dinner.

  39. ceciliag says:

    I hate portabello mushrooms, i think they taste like dirt, there I have said it, but I love sundried tomatoes.. and every cheese know to man and woman..so i hope i am forgiven! c

  40. Great idea! Makes a great substitute for those that are on gluten free diet!

  41. I love these mushrooms and thoroughly enjoyed the grocery story. I have quite a few myself being the mother of twin girls or maybe I should say they were twin imps!

  42. Oh I wish we could get those big portobellas here. This is my idea of heaven! And good for her telling the kids off. They get away with murder these days…. Help!! Sounding like my Mother, not a good thing!!

  43. Raymund says:

    Look at those gorgeous mushrooms

  44. Sad Man's Tongue: Rockabilly Bar & Bistro says:

    Rufus, you are making it quite difficult for me to concentrate on my blog today with recipes like this. Please Please Please continue :)

  45. Woody, earthy, goodness right there in that pic.

  46. Pingback: Cheesy Bison and Shallot Stuffed Portabella Mushrooms Topped with Zucchini and Parmesan « Zestybeandog's Blog

  47. Oh yes!!! I will definitely be making these for dinner one night this week, thank you!!

Leave a Reply

