Mulled wine and a movie

Santa butt mugs are optional

This drink always makes us think of Christmas in Germany, roaring fireplaces, mulled wine, a nice aged brie. Oh wait, that’s our favorite Christmas movie, the fun for the whole family Die Hard. That Snape is evil!

Mulled Wine

  • 1 750-milliliter bottle dry red wine
  • 2-3 small cloves
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 pod of nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp whole green peppercorns
  • 2-3 inch strip of orange peel

Place ingredients in a small saucepan and heat over low heat. Don’t allow to boil. Strain ingredients into mugs. Sit by the fire and sip while watching this:

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

83 Responses to Mulled wine and a movie

  1. Carolyn Chan says:

    So it’s not just my favourite movie to watch over Christmas ?? Yay !

  2. Yuri says:

    I’ve never had mulled wine. Saw a recipe the other day and now here, I think I should try it :) meanwhile I’m sipping on some pinot noir. I love the holidays!

  3. needtotaste says:

    Also, did you try Eierpunsch in Germany?! That, friends, was a treat!

  4. I’ll make the mulled wine but change to a different movie! ;-)

  5. rutheh says:

    I remember when we lived in Germany going to a Christmas market and eating potato pancakes and applesauce and drinking hot glühwein (I had to go look up and find a spelling). Another treat served was thin slices of swiss cheese on a deli-paper with a liberal sprinkling of salt and pepper all over the cheese. A nice side with the wine or beer.
    Here is one I found online and it has similarities but adds actual orange juice which sounds sangria-like but warm. Hmmmm. Might have to do some taste testings with the family.
    I guess my question is mulled wine the same thing as glühwein? Will keep searching.
    http://dreamingofwinter.blogspot.com/2009/08/gluhwein-recipe.html

    • Oh wow, you’re making me hungry. The best food we had in Germany was at an Italian restaurant! OK, seriously, awesome schnitzel, sausage, desserts. The one thing we didn’t like was the potatoes. They had a different variety over there. Thanks for the link!

  6. always wanted to make mulled wine… looking forward to trying this!

  7. egg me on says:

    Yippee Ki Yay Mo—oops! Great recipe. Cute mug. Awesome movie.

  8. ah yes Gluhwein. brings me back to the days when I lived in Muenchen and played Eisstockschiessen (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0mBW-chMScI) at Nymphenburg Palace. always a great time.

  9. Kristy says:

    Yippee ki-yay mother f*&$@er! ;)

  10. Love a good mulled wine – can’t say I have enjoyed it while watching Die Hard though. :-) Mandy

  11. Wow.. those actors look young lol.. this movie took me back for a moment. Very nice drink recipe.. I think my girlfriend will love this

  12. Tandy says:

    ooh, I have not tried it with peppercorns before – good plan for winter :)

  13. Mulled wine AND Alan Rickman before breakfast …. your job is done. My day has already reached the heights of perfection :)

  14. peasepudding says:

    That’s one thing I miss about Christmas, mulled wine, it’s just too warm here in NZ.

  15. niasunset says:

    Mulled wine and the photograph seem so beautiful, should be nice to drink… But to be honest, I can’t watch Die Hard… Even I like Bruce Wills… Thank you dear Rufus, with my love, nia

  16. Love mulled wine. Reminds me of walking in cold winter street festivals in Italy.

  17. Where’s the queue? Is this it? I’ll have a glass of vin chaud please :)

  18. Charles says:

    Yay, mulled wine – I was making a post about this in a few days myself. Not a fan of the Swedish version, glögg, so much – they put nuts and fruit at the bottom so as you empty your glass you get a mouthful of stuff… very odd :D

  19. My dad used to always make this! He was Dutch. Thank you for the memory.

  20. Classic! Flawed good guy beats really evil and arrogant bad guy, what more could you want?! Oh, yeah, and a little mulled wine. :)

  21. Stef says:

    Die Hard really is a great Christmas movie. That, and A Christmas Story. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uvMLfSQrHKE

  22. Tammy says:

    I’m not sure why but mulled wine and Die Hard is making me laugh out loud! Sounds like a fun evening.

  23. ChgoJohn says:

    Judging by all of the comments, I’ve missed out on something. No, not Die Hard but mulled wine. It wasn’t served at home and I was never abroad or in mull-friendly areas over the holidays. Perhaps this shall be the Christmas of Mulled Wine. (Warn the villagers!)

  24. aFrankAngle says:

    Mulled wine is always on hand for the musicians at church between the Christmas Eve services!

  25. ceciliag says:

    Do NOT forget you are making mulled wine and let it boil, this is most important!.. years since i have had mulled wine, how could I have let it go this long.. c

  26. Amy says:

    Mmm, I love the taste of mulled wine! This sounds soooo good and festive. I’m allergic to alcohol…How long do you think I would have to cook it to have the alcohol burn off?

  27. Courtney says:

    I seriously need that mug. And some mulled wine wouldn’t be turned down either.

  28. Oh, so good to see Alexander Godunov again…a great ballet dancer if not a great actor…and they do all look so young! I love the sound of this mulled wine, especially with the green peppercorns in it. Something to try over the weekend!

  29. Sissi says:

    Green peppercorns sound very unusual! I even don’t add nutmeg to my mulled wine. I’m sure yours tastes great. I love mulled wine.

  30. Fox@n says:

    Great Movie!
    And Post

  31. Caroline says:

    Oh, this just screams Christmas. A warm cup of this mulled wine, fireplace, lit Christmas tree, movie = golden. Pretty sweet mug too!

  32. Sad Man's Tongue: Rockabilly Bar & Bistro - Prague says:

    Hey Rufus, it’s My Grandparents Kitchen. Over here now. Great post as usual on your part

  33. nrhatch says:

    Mulled wine and cider . . . tasty in front of a toasty fire.

  34. I would never have thought of green peppercorns!! Thanks!

  35. spicegirlfla says:

    I adore mulled wine! It’s my favorite way to enjoy wine over the holidays. I just need to turn on the AC or wait for the chilliest night! and brie, yes of course, the perfect compliment! (And don’t think I didn’t notice those biscotti!!)

  36. Our nights are getting colder…your mulled cider sounds perfect.

  37. Eva Taylor says:

    We love mulled wine, the spices, the wine, the wine, and oh, the wine.

  38. Mulled wine is so great, especially when walking outside the Chriskringlemart, the German Christmas shopping plaza.

  39. Again, another for me to save once the US and Australia swap seasons and you start making salads and I start holding steaming mugs of mulled wine. Have you ever tried mulled cider? A new one for me this year and I’m absolutely in love with it! This looks good enough for me to almost want it on this 86F day! Almost…

    • Listen little lady, we just finished with summer, like two weeks ago. You can’t have our winter. Oh, OK maybe the snow. It took almost two hours to get into work yesterday and it didn’t stick. Must try mulled cider!

  40. Young Wifey says:

    Sounds wonderful! Our Christkindl Market starts tonight! And yes, you can even buy and walk around the streets with mulled wine!

  41. Holly says:

    I have pretty much been on a diet of mulled wine or red wine for weeks now!!

  42. Hey,
    I can’t believe you serve mulled wine in a mug! LOL is it a man thing? We love mulled wine in the winter :)

  43. SimpleP says:

    Peppercorns….interesting. Nothing cozier than a warm boozy beverage and a movie.

  44. So funny, we just re-watched Die Hard this summer – I don’t tend to associate it with Christmas but I guess I should ;0 – love the peppercorns in your mulled wine and Santa’s butt is always welcome.

  45. Always enjoy a great glass of wine with a good movie.

  46. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Day Recipes in One Place | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  47. Pingback: Winter Drink Roundup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

