An abundance of caramel

Make sure you get real apple cider

We recently made a chocolate caramel tart that was so sinful you should just head over to Fifteen Spatulas to find the recipe. Wait don’t go yet, please. Something funny happened when we made the caramel layer. We had too much for one tart. Joanne that is not a complaint! Oh what to do with all the leftover caramel…

Caramel appletini

  • 2 parts spiced apple cider (the good, thick stuff, not the stuff that’s really just mislabeled apple juice)
  • 1 part vanilla vodka
  • 1 apple slice
  • caramel sauce (homemade or store bought)

Combine cider and vodka in a shaker with ice and stain into a martini glass lined drizzled with caramel. Garnish with apple slice.

Wait are you still here? Take a look at Joanne’s tart. OK, well this one was ours!

Oops the ganache is crooked, better cut another piece

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

84 Responses to An abundance of caramel

  1. easybaked says:

    Oh my WORD- amazing! Love the creative use of the leftover caramel— YUM!!!! Happy Thanksgiving!!!! :)

  2. Yuri says:

    All I can say is WHOAAAA! I’ll have a slice of tart with an appletini, s’il vous-plait!

  3. nrhatch says:

    Those both look terrific. I love caramel.

    Happy Thanksgiving . . . hope it’s full of good cheer and good friends. I know your day (and your bellies) will be full of good food!

  4. I looked at that tart pic and then immediately scrolled away before I ruined my keyboard with drool or looked at the recipe. If you need help finishing it, I’m happy to volunteer though. ;)

    You’re so right about the cider – the “juice” just won’t do.

  5. A_Boleyn says:

    Sinfully delicious… :)

  6. Mary says:

    Yum, amd YUM! I have 2, 4.5″ spring form pans, I think I am going to try to halve the tart recipe, or maybe…I’ll make 2 and freeze one. They are both absolutely sinful.

  7. Fox@n says:

    Looks so great omg I gotta try these. I love your pics they make my mouth water.

  8. They look wonderful and perfect timing I just happen to have some left over honey caramel and some apple cider!

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    What a decadent pairing! I’m more drawn to the appletini, however, if only for the health benefits. An apple a day, and all that rot. Have a great Thanksgiving!

  10. Tandy says:

    I think I am going to have a cocktail party soon – your recipes are inspiring :)

  11. Well, I think that tart looks divine… and I love that you used up every bit AND got to get a little tipsy at the same time:)

  12. See.. you can’t send me into a chocolate tailspin here.. that is NOT right AT ALL lol. Happy Thanksgiving!!!!

  13. Joanne says:

    HAHAHAHA leftover caramel is never a burden, you’re right. And I’m not a big drinker but I’m definitely trying this appletini because I love all the ingredients in it.

    PS I baked the chocolate pecan pie earlier today and I’m super excited to try it tomorrow. Is it terrible that one thing I hate about pies is that you can’t taste any of it before serving? LOL it would be pretty unacceptable to serve it with a piece missing LMAO. Oh, I also am making the cornbread stuffing. I would never have tried it but Katherine’s story swayed me…if you are so adamant about the cornbread stuffing then it must be good! I’ll let you know how it goes.

    • Oh, I can’t wait to hear how those turn out. Thanks again for the inspiration and have a great holiday.

      • Joanne says:

        The cornbread stuffing was really delicious. I added some rehydrated dried cranberries to it because I love any excuse to eat dried cranberries. And pecan pie is always great! I think I may prefer it without the chocolate though, now that I’ve tried both. I’m not a huge chocolate fiend though.

      • Thanks for the report back. I actually liked the chocolate pie more than Katherine, which is rare. (She liked it too.) My mom’s requested it on her next trip.

  14. You had me at caramel….I actually chose a restaurant for dinner last night based on the fact tat they have a bakedapple wth salted caramel on the dessert menu. Dinner was just a ruse to get one of those!

  15. Mel says:

    Oh my word, eating AND drinking caramel! Those both look delightful, Greg! Okay, I actually feel like drooling now. My keyboard is telling me I shouldn’t.

  16. It all looks so naughty but nice….love caramel!

  17. Oh my…forget the mince, pecan, pumpkin pies…I really want to go straight to the chocolate.

  18. a fabulous and tempting post/photos/recipes :)

  19. Kristy says:

    You guys are awesome! Happy Thanksgiving!

  20. Kelly says:

    Happy Thanksgiving from Canada! Loved your holiday series guys… all the best, enjoy the festivities.

  21. Karen says:

    I have a friend that loves having an appletini. Wait till I give her this recipe…she will love it.

  22. That tart is downright rude- you should be ashamed of yourselves – you lucky people.

  23. tandre07 says:

    Jaime Oliver has a caramel apple pie that’s made with ducle de leche… HIghly recommend it. Have a great holiday!

  24. Yum, who needs food when you have cocktails like that? Happy Thanksgiving to you and Katherine, have an amazing one!! xx

  25. I want to reach in and grab that slice of tart and the caramel appletini they look so good. Happy Thanksgiving to you!

  26. spicegirlfla says:

    Here’s a toast to you, Greg and Katherine! Happy Thanksgiving! Also a wonderful cocktail recipe and you’ve doubled it with an awesome drippy, gooey dessert!!

  27. pursuitofhappieness says:

    Happy Thanksgiving! This looks divine.

  28. Eva Taylor says:

    Holy cow, Greg! Caramel tart, caramel appletini? What delicious concoctions! My ultimate favorite sweet is chocolate and caramel. PS, you can never have too much caramel!

  29. Brilliant! Have a Happy Thanksgiving! :)

  30. Charles says:

    I’d say save the hassle and just eat the excess caramel direct with a spoon, but this doesn’t look too bad at all :D

  31. ceciliag says:

    I LOVE that it is so crooked and UnPerfect, though unfortunately you may have not got much further than the Wodka!! c

  32. ceciliag says:

    No I meant – I.. I ! would not have got past the drink..not YOU.. that read so wrong it read like maybe Katherine was sat with the drink and you were getting crooked, I mean cutting crooked.. ok i quit.. c

  33. I love it! Happy Thanksgiving!

  34. rsmacaalay says:

    I would never think of using leftover caramel like you did, what a genius.

  35. Oh sweet goodness! Now that is just cruel. That tart….that tart….

  36. Sissi says:

    Both ideas looks gorgeous! The drink would probably be safer for me: the cake might disappear in my stomach in one night ;-)

  37. Now this looks like my kind of drink!

  38. Holy Moly….what an absolutely yummy looking tart that is and the drink is very ooh la la.

  39. peasepudding says:

    Wow that tart does look sinful…and amazing. I love the idea of using the excess caramel in a cocktail, very creative.

  40. Mama Lisa says:

    Delicious! Firstborn made a caramel sauce for some cookies she spent all afternoon on. We used it for apple-dipping. I should have checked your blog first.

  41. I take it you all are of the notion that the cuts must be straight, as in, you have to keep ‘cleaning’ (eating) up the edges so all the cuts are perfectly straight?! That tart would sure call for such action.

  42. Great use for extra caramel!

  43. If it has caramel in it, I like it. I would love this!

  44. needtotaste says:

    Um, Yum. But what is the glass garnish? (I know it says apple, but my eyes deceive me).

  45. Pingback: Exploring the World of Cocktails and Martinis – Part 1 « pursuitofhappieness

  46. Pingback: Fall (Off Your Stool) Drinks | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  47. Pingback: Apple Crush | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  48. Pingback: Our Favorite Apple Drinks (So Far) | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  49. Pingback: Cool Thanksgiving Drinks | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

