Turkey and Black Bean Burritos

There can also be cheese added inside before baking

This is a great way to use up a lot of leftover turkey. Although it may a couple more days before everyone has a bunch of cooked turkey on hand. Until then leftover chicken works as well.

Turkey and Black Bean Burritos

  • 2 cups black beans soaked in cold water overnight
  • 1 ancho chili
  • 4 cups diced cooked turkey meat
  • 2 jalapenos diced fine
  • 1 medium onion diced fine
  • 1 green pepper chopped medium fine
  • 1 28 ounce can whole tomatoes crushed by hand
  • 1 cup rice
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 2 tbsp fresh cilantro
  • Salt/pepper
  • 3 cups burrito sauce
  • large tortillas

Tear up ancho chili into small pieces and cook with beans over low heat until done, about 1 hour. Strain beans reserving 1 cup liquid. In a large pan saute onion until translucent. Add green and jalapeno peppers and cook until softened. Add turkey and reheat. Add broth and cilantro, season with salt and pepper and deglaze pan. Reduce liquid by half, then add black beans, rice, tomatoes and reserved bean juice. Bring to a boil then simmer stirring occasionally for 15 minutes. Place pan in a 365 degree oven and cook until rice absorbs liquid and mixture seems almost dry. Grease a large baking dish. Spread 2 tsp burrito sauce over a tortilla and spoon 2-3 scoops of filling into shell. Roll up into a burrito and place in pan. Repeat until out of filling or pan is full. Spoon the rest of the sauce over the finished burritos and cover in grated cheese. Bake in oven until cheese melts and inside is hot, about 25 minutes. The burritos can be prepared up to the baking a day ahead and kept in the refrigerator.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Mexican, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

69 Responses to Turkey and Black Bean Burritos

  1. I can’t remember the last time I had a burrito. Totally craving one right now! So you’ve been eating thanksgiving food all week, huh? I should try this next year. Love all your thanksgiving posts! Panda hugs to you and Katherine :)

  2. TasteFood says:

    This sounds great. In a few days I’ll be trying this.

  3. spree says:

    Steady thinking ahead to leftovers! Amazin’! These look wonderful.

  4. nrhatch says:

    Burritos es muy bueno! Ole!

  5. Carolyn Chan says:

    Inventive idea for using leftover turkey ! Loads of beautiful colours and flavours there.

  6. Kristy says:

    Greg, this is perfect!!! This is exactly what I’m going to make after Thanksgiving. The kids will eat this up!!! Of course, I may have to dial down the heat a bit, but still…loving it!

  7. I’m always looking for a good left-over turkey.. or chicken! recipe:) The kid and my husband would love this:)

  8. I want to serve these for Thanksgiving dinner! They look so much better than the dried out turkey I’m sure to be gnawing on. ;) Great idea!

  9. rutheh says:

    Best leftover turkey use I have ever seen! Posted on FB and the photo is wonderful too.

  10. Joanne says:

    This really helps leftover turkey seem like less of a burden LOL.

  11. Looks great – I’ve heard a lot about black beans recently, in that they are really good for you, but I don’t think they’re available in France. Nice left over recipe.

  12. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve always been a post-Thanksgiving turkey sandwich kinda guy. For me, it has to be something really special for me to willingly devote some turkey meat to something other than my beloved sandwiches. This burrito recipe is certainly special enough. Thanks for the inspiration.

  13. peasepudding says:

    That certainly is a fine way to use up turkey, mind you since living in NZ we no longer have turkey at Christmas as it is too hot! Although there was one year I made the inlaws suffer a traditional English Christmas roast in 26C ….never again :0)

  14. No patience to wait for leftover anything – will cooked up some chicken to make these. :-) Mandy

  15. Lovely – I have some tortillas and chicken here so we may have this today if I can get that lovely burrito sauce made!

  16. what a great idea I am always looking for fun ways to use leftovers, especially turkey which seems to go on and on! i LOVE black beans, they are in my top 5 foods.

  17. Barb says:

    WhooHoo. Just in time. I’m in the kitchen baking pies and prepping T-day dishes and saying to myself, Crappy -crud. I don’t have a thing for dinner tonight. So I stuck several chicken breasts in the oven. Ate one tonight. Now I know what to do with the other tomorrow night. Thanks.

  18. This looks fantastic. On Day 3 (after T-giving when we’re getting tired of the same leftovers), it’s nice to use turkey in a totally different meal than the traditional way.

  19. Charles says:

    Something fresh-tasting to chase away the post turkey, post-stodge blues! I’ll remember this for after Christmas this year!

  20. zestybeandog says:

    Looks great! Nice and filling! :)

  21. Tammy says:

    That photo is amazing! Yum!

  22. Chef Scar says:

    This looks really great and is a good use of leftovers, if any remain after the turkey soup, cold turkey sandwiches, hot turkey sandwiches and turkey salad. I will have to save some for your burritos.

  23. spicegirlfla says:

    Ahh…the turkey day leftovers!! I always make sure to have extras! Easy and delicious…exactly what I like!

  24. egg me on says:

    Look at how STUFFED that burrito is! Awesome! Great idea for leftover turkey. Now I want turkey day to get here already so I can make this! Happy Thanksgiving!

  25. afrankangle says:

    Preparing the way for leftovers … thanks for thinking ahead.

  26. This sounds so good. My girls would love it, too. I am sending them this recipe.

  27. Kelly says:

    I love that we are on to leftovers before Thanksgiving – that’s planning for you! Looks so yummy too… yay for black beans.

  28. You’re so right Greg.. this is an amazing ad fun recipe to use up that leftover turkey. I know We won’t have much this year with my family here.. but I did enjoy this recipe :)

  29. sallybr says:

    Imagine that: I’ve NEVER had a burrito. Fajitas, yes, but burritos I only admired from a distance. I like everything about the fillings you chose, and yes, like others, your Thanksgiving series has been wonderful…

  30. ceciliag says:

    Well the problem is I really do Not like turkey, for some reason the size of the birds unsettle me, it does not seem natural somehow, so we are having Duck. However burritos are something I have never made, so i shall study this and ADAPT c

  31. Sissi says:

    Hmmm… burritos… They look so good I think I would hide the roast bird (at least half of it) to be able to make it from leftovers ;-)

  32. Leah says:

    I don’t think I can wait until after Thanksgiving for that goodness. I want it tonight.

  33. Definately plan on making this in the next couple of weeks. Thanks for this idea. Honestly what I am most excited about is the sauce recipe. Very nice…

  34. k.m. says:

    These look really good! I have a sneaking feeling we won’t have enough turkey left over; no matter how large a turkey we make it always seems to be just enough. I’ll have to try this later on in December instead!

  35. Oh yes…the most perfect recipe for leftover turkey. Are you roasting a turkey and doing all the sides? I really like leftover turkey more than “original” turkey so I love this recipe. Have a great Thanksgiving.

  36. rsmacaalay says:

    Just look at that burrito! all that lovely filling inside. Mmmmmmmmmmm.
    Happy Thanksgiving to you!

  37. Pingback: Asparagus and beef rice bowl | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  38. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Leftover Magic | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

