Super Sandwich # 12

I like my bread extra toasted

Sandwiches have come a long way from slapping a piece of meat between two slice of bread. One has to wonder if the Earl of Sandwich ever knew just exactly what he created when he was to lazy to eat dinner in a more conventional manor.

In that spirit I created this fantastic addition to any lunch routine. High quality deli meat can be substituted for anyone who does not have big chunks of seasoned meat in the refrigerator, but really everyone should.

Sandwich #12

  • 2 slices wheat bread
  • 1 thick slice pastrami
  • 1 thick slice smoked chicken breast
  • 2 slices salami
  • 1 pickled pepper sliced into thin rounds
  • 4-6 leaves spinach
  • 2 slices sharp cheddar cheese
  • 2 slices asiago cheese
  • Mayonaise

Preheat the oven to 365 degrees. Heat a cast iron griddle on the stove top to medium heat. Spread a thin layer of mayonaise on one side of each slice of bread and place on hot griddle. While bread cooks spread another thin layer of mayo on the up side of the bread. When the one side is toasted flip bread over and remove griddle from the stove top. On one slice of bread place the pastrami, salami, jalapeno and cheddar cheese in that order. On the other piece of bread place the chicken, spinach and asiago in the same order. Place the griddle in the oven and cook until cheese melts and bread is toasted. Press two halves together and eat with a nice Belgian beer and Utz potato chips.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Super Sandwich # 12

  1. BrainRants says:

    I’m waiting for one in the mail.

  2. Kas says:

    Gasp that looks good!!

  3. easybaked says:

    YUM! all that cheese….I might need to go and get a midnight snack after looking at these yummy pictures :)

  4. eva626 says:

    would yogurt also work instead of mayo??

  5. rutheh says:

    Your instructions are precise…right down to the type of beer and chips! Everything tastes better grilled in cast iron! Tonight I ate a Grilled Cheese platter(not the actual china dish) in Columbus OH. The temp outside being in the forties.

  6. kat says:

    yum, yum, yum!!! now that’s a sandwich!!!!

  7. JamieAnne says:

    That’s my kind of sandwich.

  8. Carolyn Chan says:

    I’m a bit dusty from last night’s drinks and your photos make me hungry!!!

  9. Making super sandwiches like this one is always a treat for me! Definitely picking up some pastrami tomorrow when I go shopping.

  10. Yes, please – I’ll take one of those! I don’t know about you guys but I think pastrami is the best late night sandwich.

  11. Oh this sandwich is like a fine wine.. its goes down smooth and would make me happy. Not that I know anything about wine.. but forget the failed analogy.. this just looks good! And I love pastrami..

  12. Oh my – it´s a luxury Scooby Snack! I love it :)

  13. Throw in a cup of tea and it is guaranteed to be a perfect afternoon for me.
    Have a super weekend. :-) Mandy

  14. ceciliag says:

    The Lord of Sandwich was a very dark fellow, I would say his cook had had quite enough of being gotton out of bed,by his satanic friends all turning up in the middle of the night with the vestal virgins shouting for food. So she made something she could just leave out, went to bed and locked her door!! I love pastrami! c

  15. Lea Ann says:

    Love the combination of meats in this!

  16. Mmmm, what a sandwich!
    Little story time: Years ago, when my kids were small, and went on play-dates with other moms and kids, we would pack lunch to take to the park. I made them with good, homemade bread, cheeses – not Kraft singles – and more than one kind of meat, sprouts or vegetables…and the other moms made fun of them, as they and their kids ate PB and J on WonderBread…
    Nowdays, I’ll bet they’re paying nine bucks a pop at a trendy deli for that same sandwich I used to bring to the park!

  17. Amy says:

    Nothing like a good sandwich! Great combos :)

  18. Alison says:

    This looks great, as everything you post always does!! Funnily, I just posted a sandwich too!

  19. ChgoJohn says:

    There are sandwiches and there are sandwiches. You, my friend, have created a sammich! Deli meats may be fine for a sandwich but, for a sammich, only roasted meat will do, with the bread toasted to perfection. Yes, this is a sammich, and a mighty fine example of one, to boot!

  20. Kristy says:

    Oh I’d like to dig in to that sandwich right now! It looks so warm and tasty. I could easily spend a whole week eating nothing but sandwiches (as long as they’re this good anyway). Yum!

  21. TasteFood says:

    It’s early here as I read this, but I think I might just skip to lunch.

  22. How yummy does that look! I love how colorful it is.

  23. Ok… I want to get into your fridge right now! I can’t make that sandwich because I don’t have your peppers:( I guess I’ll have to give up slapping meat between bread as well. (embarrassed to admit I did that for my kid’s lunches) My daughter is looking over my shoulder and says this looks amazing! She wants to leave me and move in with you two!! Lol!

  24. Karen says:

    That is really an over the top sandwich.

  25. rsmacaalay says:

    This is what I call a sandwich, look at that melted cheese isnt that deliciously tempting

  26. Sissi says:

    I make very similar toasts very often (but without mayonnaise grilling stage) and the moment before making the cheese melt is when I would put spread some pepper jelly on the bread! Your mayonnaise method is very tempting…

  27. Rachel says:

    I’d pass on the jalapenos, but I’d happily help you out with the Belgian beer! :-)

  28. spicegirlfla says:

    Oh I like it!! When the kids were younger, Thursday night was sandwich night!! I had to keep a schedule of meals as we were always so busy with their sports! I love my bread very toasty too!! I don’t think it’s an Italian thing or is it??!!

  29. Looks like a beautiful cardiac arrest type of sandwich to me. one question though…what is with the mayo? :-)

  30. Who doesn’t have big chunks of seasoned meat in their refrigerator, Greg? Your posts make me laugh. Now that’s a high protein sandwich…and really, what is with that mayo?

  31. Never underestimate the art of the simple sanga (Australian slang for sandwich).
    Now a challenge for you if you like. I’m intrigued by the Reuben sandwich at the moment. I’ve never eaten one, but they look rather delicious, want to post one :-)

  32. peasepudding says:

    And I thought I had converted you to ‘open’ sandwiches until I read the last bit ;0)

  33. niasunset says:

    Superrrrrrr! I loved it. Thank you, with my love, nia

  34. Ginger says:

    Oh yummy! I think I know what I am making for lunch :)

  35. egg me on says:

    WOW. Great sandwich. I like you how say “lunch routine.” If I could eat this for lunch, I would A. be in heave and B. be 500 lbs. Love that you washed it down with a beer and Utz (!!!) potato chips, too.

  36. That is one great looking sandwich! Interesting that you spread the bread with mayo instead of butter when grilling – I’ll try that next time!

  37. Charles says:

    That is some yellow cheese there Greg… which one is that? Can’t beat a good sandwich – I’m loving the addition of spinach too… truly inspired!

  38. Ok…now my cold turkey sandwich for work tomorrow will NOT do at all. : )

  39. We love sandwiches and I try to keep something for sandwiches to go with soup for lunch in the fridge. I like my toast extra crispy, too. In fact, I can eat it burned.

  40. Woh there! That looks like one perfect sandwich. Delicious!

  41. Amazing sandwich paired with an icy beer and some crunchy chips sounds like a dream… or lunch tomorrow :)

Leave a Reply

