Stuffed Squash with an Indian Twist

Did you know the decorative squash at the grocery store are edible?

Here is a way to jazz up stuffed squash. I like to use the acorn variety because they form their own bowls. One acorn squash will serve two people so increase the proportions if making this for more folks.

Lamb and Potato Stuffed Acorn Squash

  • 1 lb ground lamb
  • 1 large acorn squash
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1/2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 15-ounce can diced tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp minced ginger
  • 2 medium potatoes cut into medium cubes
  • 1 small onion diced fine
  • 4 cloves garlic minced
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp tumeric
  • Salt/pepper

Slice squash in half and discard seeds and pulp. Place flesh side down in a baking pan filled with 1/4″ water. Bake at 360 degrees until a knife passes through the center easily, about 1 hour. Remove squash and place in a greased baking dish flesh side up. In a large saute pan heat two tablespoons olive oil. Add cumin seeds and cinnamon stick and fry on high stirring constantly until cumin begins to brown. Add onion and cook until the edges begin to brown over medium heat. Add ginger and garlic and fry until fragrant, about two minutes. Add lamb and brown breaking up the big bits. Add spices, potatoes and season with salt and pepper. Mix well, then add tomatoes. Fill tomato can with water and add to mixture. Bring to a boil, scraping any bits stuck to the bottom of the pan, then turn to a simmer and cook until thick, about 30 minutes. Remove cinnamon stick and scoop filling into squash cavities. Bake in oven at 365 degrees until tops begin to brown. Sprinkle shredded Romano cheese over the top and serve.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Lamb, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Stuffed Squash with an Indian Twist

  1. ChgoJohn says:

    Funny. I read your caption and thought how I’ll eat a fungus growing in a yard but pick a different squash from the bin? Heavens no! These really are beautiful, Greg, and sure to impress your dinner guests. I know I would be.

  2. I love any use for decorative squash- sounds great!

  3. New squashes are always a winder adventure. I just bought a Carnival squash that I can’t wait to stuff. Good call on the India spices – love that toasted cumin!

  4. I love the savory of the meat with the natural sweetness of the squash. I have made baked acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage but the indian spice combo sounds very yummy- will have to give this one a try.

  5. What a great twist! Love the tumeric and cayenne in this dish.

  6. Carolyn Chan says:

    Gorgeous way to serve the meat !

  7. That looks so good Greg. I have to see if I can find acorn squash here, Ihope so because I really like it a lot. A very nice man used to see me an acorn squash and sweet potatoes in the mail when I was in Mali!

  8. rsmacaalay says:

    After looking at that I badly need one, that looks so delicious.

  9. Yummy – we just stuffed pepper’s last night. Love the lamb and potato combo.
    Have a happy day. :-) Mandy

  10. Oh I just love squash but never thought of stuffing it ever. You have definitely blown my mind with this recipe.. and I love the potatoes in this dish

  11. Ginger, garlic and tumeric… all delicious staples around here. (What’s the difference between a pumpkin and a squash for you? For me, a squash is like a zucchini.)

  12. Stonking picture, nice one. With the amount of squash around at the moment, I’m interested in any way to make it interesting. Ideally that would be a time machine taking me back to August when they were’nt around.

  13. InCucinaDaME says:

    I am always game for spicy food

  14. Hey, this looks delicious.
    How do you eat it? Like spoon it out or something? :)

  15. Very nice, they look delicious.

  16. Ok, the weather is finally cold enough – it’s time to dig into that mountain of winter squash from this summer’s garden! Wonder if I can convince Hubby that this is ‘enough’ for a meal…
    Great spice combo, Greg.

  17. Love it! Looks delicious!

  18. Tandy says:

    lovely spices! I am not sure we get this type of squash here, but I like the idea of the food being the bowl :)

  19. egg me on says:

    Lamb and potato?? You’ve really kicked it up a few dozen notches, well done! Every time I’m at the store I gravitate towards the acorn squashes and all the odd-looking gourds and stare at them, thinking” what can i do with these??” Hmm. I think now I know!

  20. spicegirlfla says:

    I love these colorful squashes! I’ll cut a bit off the bottom of each so they are not so rolly polly when served. I think this makes a great one dish entre and the presentation is awesome! I had not thought to use lamb and the cinnamon gives this such an Autumn feel. Great recipe!!

  21. carol ann says:

    oh yes this ones a keeper!

  22. I love stuffing squash! That spice combo sounds really good… think it would work well with chickpeas to make a vegetarian version?

  23. Amy says:

    Ooh, I love this twist on stuffed squash! I always forget you can use squash as its own bowl. Looks delicious :)

  24. This recipe just may make me abort my aversion to acorn squash! Thanks for sharing!

  25. Judy says:

    I have one of those decorative acorn squash sitting on my counter ready to go. :)

  26. Kristy says:

    Now this would have been a great way to use up our leftover lamb! It looks fabulous. :) I’m a big fan of cumin and cinnamon.

  27. I love squash and your recipe looks amazing! I had no idea you could eat the decor. squash. I seen some the other day that were huge at the market! They were very unique looking as well!

  28. What a lovely presentation! And I’m sure they are taste just as good as they look!

  29. Eva Taylor says:

    You’re quite right Greg, I had no idea these little squashes are edible! What a wonderful autumn dinner, just in time for halloween!

  30. This looks amazing! I love lamb and I love curry. I will definitely give this a try.

  31. Rachel says:

    Oh yum! Lamb *anything* makes me happy… and this is beautiful as well. Mmmm… !

  32. Colline says:

    I think my husband will like this recipe. He has been asking for curried lamb, so I think I will give this one a try.

  33. eva626 says:

    oh yum! i just love desi foods. I think i should make this soon. but tonight we are having byrani.

    the potatoes look delish . i like how you added cinnamon. (click on me)

  34. zestybeandog says:

    These look great, and no I did not know the decorative squashes were edible!!!!

  35. niasunset says:

    I loved the decoration and the photographs. Thank you dear Rufus, with my love, nia

  36. Karen says:

    Hi Greg, I just finished catching up with all your posts that I missed while traveling in Europe. You have been cooking up a storm. Your stuffed squash sounds delicious…lamb, potatoes and those wonderful spices. Yum!

  37. ceciliag says:

    woo hoo and i have lamb in the freezer and a shelf full of acorn squash.. a winner!!! c

  38. Oh man Greg you out did yourself on this one. I almost feel like printing the picture and eating it.

  39. i have never stuffed squash like that before. how amazing- you seriously went over and beyond on this one. I can’t wait to try it out. Could I do it with any type of squash you think?

  40. nrhatch says:

    I love this time of year with all the lovely winter squash ~ butternut, acorn, hubbard. YUM!

    Thanks!

  41. I have several of these….can’t wait to try it!

  42. Cindy says:

    I am so going to make this!

  43. Sissi says:

    Even though I’m not a huge fan of pumpkins and squashes, I must admit you have made a beautiful dish and a lovely photo!

  44. Using lamb is such a great idea! Lamb owns me….

  45. What a wonderful twist! I love cumin and tumeric, very colorful and healthy!

  46. SoupAddict says:

    I took one look at this and thought, why, I would just cut off the top, scoop out the seeds, and have a whole one to myself. Like grocery shopping, one should never read food blogs while hungry. :)

  47. Charles says:

    Inspired by all these squashes I just bought a pattypan squash – can’t wait to use it :) Great recipe Greg – Lamb and Potato is awesome… such a satisfying combo!

  48. Stunning – looks and sounds amazing! You should check out a Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall recipe with a cheesy soupy filling for pumpkin….will try to locate it and send it to you. He also uses the squash as the bowl!

  49. This looks so good. Yum, yum.

  50. paleowod says:

    That sounds awesome! Definitely will try this one. Here is a curry clafouti recipe from my blog you might like: http://paleowod.wordpress.com/2011/02/21/currie-chicken-claflouti/

  51. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: One Dish Wonders | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

