Rosemary and Caramelized Onion Focaccia

Pack a bag of these for a trip to hell and it will be bearable

Focaccia dough is very similar to pizza dough until you cook it. It can be topped with many fancy ingredients or just with sea salt, but the result is always delicious.

Foccacia with Rosemary and Caramelized Onions

  • 1 batch pizza dough
  • 2 tbsp caramelized onions
  • 1 sprig fresh rosemary
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Sea Salt

Make the pizza dough according to previous post but only let it rise for 2 hours. Oil a baking dish and press the dough into it by hand making sure it is no thinner than 1/2″. Sprinkle rosemary and onion on top. Cover with plastic wrap and let rise 30 minutes. Meanwhile preheat oven to 400 degrees. Drizzle as much oil on top as wanted and sprinkle sea salt all over. Bake until golden brown, about 20 minutes. Slice into squares and enjoy.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Rosemary and Caramelized Onion Focaccia

  1. I am such an onion girl.. so I love this Onion Focaccia you’ve made. It is absolutely delicious looking. See every-time I come here I get hungry for no good reason lol. I also want to let you know that I mention Katherine in one of my post today :).. that will be online at 10 am eastern.

  2. nrhatch says:

    YES! Please. :D

  3. A_Boleyn says:

    If it wasn’t 1am, I’d go downstairs and start on a batch of pizza dough cause that picture makes my mouth water. :)

  4. Jessica says:

    I made a batch of this one night last spring when some friends were over and it put us in an oniony, herby, carb coma. Who needs drugs?

  5. Sea salt and rosemary foccacia is my ultimate favourite. Has to be very salty. But do like the look of your onion “jam”!

  6. Great looking recipe! There is a pizza cafe near where I lived last year that did something very similar to this and it was fantastic.

  7. Holly says:

    This looks incredible. Although – I love pizza so much, would it disappoint that it wasn’t just straight to pizza heaven [I only say this as after Torze and I climbed Etna we were shattered, exhausted and had only got through the pain of walking up a volcano [instead of using any cable cars] because we’d put our heart on a pizza after… we turned up after the lunch rush, all they had were foccacia – needless to say -IT WAS NOT A SUBSTITUTE and I’ve had a bad old feeling about the F-worded pizza pretending substitute ever since…] Sorry to long a comment?!

  8. Mmmmh, caramelized onions- love them!!! What a delicious foccacia- I’ll make a batch of these yummies tomorrow :)

  9. BrainRants says:

    Om nom nom. Now I see why the previous post or so was how to caramelize onions…

  10. Ooooh, this is wonderful!
    Add some crumbled fresh goat cheese when it’s hot from the oven, and I’ll be in heaven…

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    My family makes a version of focaccia called spianata. Never have I thought to add caramelized onions — until now. What a great idea! Can’t wait to make one here, as well as the next time I go home for a visit.

  12. I love onions and of course garlic but this fococcia bread is calling out my name! It would go perfect with my pumpkin soup!

  13. ceciliag says:

    Well this is good to know.. I have not made focaccia before.. c

  14. Great variation. I usually make mine with roasted tomato and/or rosemary. By the way, when I made my caramelized onions for yesterday’s ffwD, I followed your recipe with the oil and butter instead of Dorie’s which only called for oil!

  15. Love the sprinkling of salt on top for that added crunch. Fantastic recipe!

  16. Kristy says:

    Between this and Charles’ beer bread, you guys are going to totally blow my carb intake this weekend. I’m such a sucker for bread and foccacia in particular.

  17. Sissi says:

    I have always thought focaccia was different from pizza (I mean the dough). One lives and learns… Now we have to make your caramelised onions and no longer have the excuse such as “I don’t know what to do with them”. It looks fantastic, as usually!

  18. Shelvasha says:

    I’m now to the conclusion that I must make this. It just looks so amazing and delicious, I am now obligated to prepare this LOL. Thanks for posting another great recipe!

  19. These look wonderful – definitely a keeper!

  20. afrankangle says:

    Sounds wonderful … and something I could surprise my wife with one day to accompany dinner. thanks.

  21. Colline says:

    Had some store bought focaccia for lunch. Delicious! Thanks for telling us how to make our own :)

  22. Charles says:

    This is like the 4th time I’ve seen foccacia this week (been watching a lot of cooking shows with my wife recently). I think it’s a sign that I need to pull my proverbial finger out and try making it myself. Will be a great use for my caramelized onions too (when I actually get around to making those too! – damnit Greg, you make way too much nice stuff! Slow down and let me try some before I lose track!)

    • A_Boleyn says:

      He IS an evil enabler isn’t he? But you’re not blameless either … thankfully I was able to share the last of my poached quinces with a friend who dropped in yesterday. :)

  23. This would go nicely with the Pasta Fagioli I made today. I’d better caramelize those onions pronto.

  24. This foccacia is just screaming for a lovely glass of wine to pair with it. What type of wine would you suggest to pair it with? Have a great weekend!

  25. Hell sounds completely bearable with a batch of these by my side.

  26. Carolyn Chan says:

    You can’t go wrong with bread, rosemary and onions, can you? Looks delish!

  27. Eezy peezy yumminess! Not sure any of those are real words but you know what I mean. :-) Mandy

  28. egg me on says:

    Mmm! What a great app this makes! Or a dinner. Or breakfast. Or midnight snack …

  29. I should have known those caramelized onions had a mission! I love Focaccia. The first one I ever made was when I was in my late 20′s and home sick with mono (go figure, catching Mono at that age!). I was watching Biba’s Italian Kitchen on TV and copied the recipe down (this was before the internet had taken off). Biba’s recipe included a ‘sponge starter’ for the dough. I should make it again.

  30. spicegirlfla says:

    This is my favorite topping on a focaccia! I like this served as an appetizer….I could probably eat the whole thing!

  31. I can easily eat a whole pan of these!

  32. G-LO says:

    When I first saw the photo, I though you were going all Andrew Zimmern (ie. Weird Foods). The onions looked like a colony of ants. But then I saw that they were just carmelized onions and I was relieved! Dee-lish!

  33. I love foccacia bread and you can never go wrong with rosemary and caramalized onions

  34. I love foccacia bread. Need to make some of it, too. Caramalized onions sounds great on it.

  35. What a great idea to add those lovely caramelised onions…you clever things!

  36. Pingback: 2011 round up « Chef in disguise

Leave a Reply

