Trout Poached in Spicy Tomato Sauce

Me likey the spicy

Poaching fish is a great way to quickly cook dinner and it keeps the fish from drying out. Any fish can be poached, but the best results come when using firm fleshed white fish such as sole, catfish or trout. Of course the fresher the better and preferably whole.

I came up with this idea after growing tired of eating so much butter wine sauce. If you can’t get whole fish, the fresh fish stock can be substituted with half part white wine, half part bottled clam juice.

Trout Poached in Spicy Tomato Sauce

  • 2 whole trout about 3 lbs
  • 1 28-ounce can whole tomatoes crushed by hand
  • 1-2 jalapenos diced extremely fine
  • 1 medium onion diced fine
  • 2 ribs celery chopped fine
  • 4-6 cloves garlic minced
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 ½ cups fresh fish stock, or equal substitute
  • Salt/pepper

Fillet trout leaving skin on and season with salt and pepper. Place bones, leftover vegetable parts, and six cups water in large pot and simmer for 1 ½ -2 hours. Strain into bowl and set aside for later. In a large saute pan melt two tablespoons butter over medium low heat. Add onion and saute until golden brown. Add celery and cook until softened. Add jalapenos and garlic. Cook until fragrant then pour in tomatoes and fish stock. Bring to a boil, add one tablespoon parsley and then simmer for five minutes. Add fish fillets and cook until done, about seven minutes. Carefully remove fish from sauce and place on a plate. Bring sauce to a boil and cook down until thickened, about 10 minutes. Serve fish over cooked pasta, rice or polenta cover in sauce and garnish with about a tablespoon of parsley.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, Seafood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Trout Poached in Spicy Tomato Sauce

  1. BrainRants says:

    Thanks!! We love us some fishes…

  2. Delicious! I’ve never poached fish in tomato sauce, it sounds fab!

  3. nrhatch says:

    That looks good.
    I seldom eat fish . . . but I would give that a taste.

  4. Looks good. I love fish!

  5. Ooh, I have not eaten trout for years! This sounds scrumptious.
    Have a great weekend. :-) Mandy

  6. Tandy says:

    I love cooking whole trout but my hubby is not partial to it, so I will have to try this with some other firm fish :)

  7. Absolutely love trout, grilled especially but this sounds amazing. I’m so hungry right now and could go some of that sweet sweet fish!

  8. Gorgeous – we eat quite a lot of trout here as there is a village nearby that has a river running with them and they also have tanks to breed them in. I usually just grill, so this would make a very delicious change!

  9. Nice recipe. Good that you give the alternative to your fish stock, since whole fish can be hard to come by in the US, even on the coast…Back when I was in the biz, which wasn’t that long ago, I couldn’t give away bone-in fish…
    “Ewwww, it had the head on it! That’s gross!”
    Yes, those were the adults saying that, not the kids….

  10. Lea Ann says:

    I’ve never poached fish, really should give it a try. Great looking recipe.

  11. Judy says:

    A great weeknight meal, quick and delicious–score!

  12. Looks great! :) I don’t think I’ve ever poached fish… Does it taste a bit like grilling it, would you think?

  13. This looks amazing. : ) A nice twist to something that usually just gets broiled or fried.

  14. pursuitofhappieness says:

    Wow, going to try this soon!

  15. Amy says:

    I never think to poach fish, but I love the idea that the fish can’t dry out! Sounds delicious :)

  16. spicegirlfla says:

    Yum! Poached with a spicy tomato sauce sounds delicious! I made a very similar fish dish using my puttanesca sauce and grouper. Trout is something new to me; I’ve not yet tried it, but I’m sure with the poaching and sauce it must have melted in your mouth!!

  17. egg me on says:

    Mmm. A chunky, spicy tomato sauce. That would be great over a lot of things.

  18. ChgoJohn says:

    This really does sound delicious, especially with the addition of the jalapeños. Of course, once you mentioned serving it with polenta, I grew a little woozy but I’m better now. I gotta go get me some trout!

  19. Love poached fish! I agree an easy way to cook fish withou drying! The sauce looks good too, spicy!

  20. Sissi says:

    I see rarely a poached fish not looking boring and bland. Yours is beautiful and seems full of flavour! Thanks for the fish stock tip.

  21. Caroline says:

    What a perfect, healthy dish. That fish looks so happy soaking in the tomato sauce. I likey the spicy as well, but my mouth doesn’t seem to agree. I have an embarrassingly low spice tolerance. It’s pretty unfortunate.

  22. Even though I’m not a fish lover, this looks really good! Perhaps poaching is the way for me to go!

  23. It’s Friday, so that means fish! So now I have a recipe to use. Now if I could only get my virus laden behind out of bed and to the store, this is what I would be having for dinner.

  24. rsmacaalay says:

    I like it spicy too, or make it super spicy. Love the flavours on that fish

  25. ceciliag says:

    I cook fish in a similiar sauce (yours looks very yum) but I have to master polenta!

  26. This poached trout looks impressive and wonderful. You really did a great job here Greg. Me no likey too spicy but I love a twang lol

  27. I have never poached fish ..but it looks so moist and appetizing in your picture that I am tempted to try

  28. I grew up eating poached fish with tomatoes. This recipe looks delicious!

  29. JamieAnne says:

    I am not a fan of whole fish, but this recipe might convert me. Looks great!

  30. Eva@ kitcheninspirations.wordpress.com says:

    I love fish any which way! I’ve not poached it in tomato sauce before, but I LOVE the idea! Spicier the better.

  31. A_Boleyn says:

    A wonderful recipe which I had to take a second look at. You’re right, it would be great over some rice with a nice salad and a bowl of soup if you were really hungry and for any time of year.

  32. Kristy says:

    Whoa! Tired of eating butter and wine sauce?! Hang on while I pick myself back up off the floor…Now that the shock has worn off, these ingredients look like the makings of an equally delicious sauce and I don’t know that I’ve ever made trout before.

  33. Charles says:

    I just love trout. My uncle was a fisherman – used to go fishing in the Scottish highlands and bring us back freshly caught rainbow trout! Salmon and trout both poach really well I find, and I love them poached with tomato sauce!

  34. ambrosiana says:

    What a delicious sauce!!! Perfect with white fish!!!

  35. I have been on a fish kick lately. That’s all I want to eat. Trout is so good and I am going to have to poach some your way. Thanks!

  36. spree says:

    Poaching and grilling my favorite ways of eating fish. This one a new take that I’ll have to try. Sounds scrumptious.

  37. Sounds like a tasty way to prepare trout to me my friend!

  38. Carolyn Chan says:

    This looks absolutely amazing! We are trying to eat more fish and just like you I was getting bored with butter sauces. And crushing the tomatoes by hand will be soooo satisfying.

  39. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: The Anything But Turkey Edition | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  40. Tammy says:

    I grew up eating trout that was caught by my dad but now, have to get it in the store. I don’t do it often but poached in spicy tomato sauce sounds wonderful.

  41. petit4chocolatier says:

    Love the trout and spicy sauce :)

Leave a Reply

