Chicken with Pomegranate

There should probably be some vegetable and grain on the plate when it is served

This is a great way to use pomegranate seeds. The nut crust can be made with all almond or pecans instead of the mix below.

Chicken with Pomegranate Seeds

Chicken

  • 4 chicken breasts
  • ¼ cup whole pecans
  • ¼ cup whole almonds
  • ½ cup yellow cornmeal
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 egg
  • ¼ cup dry white wine
  • Cayenne pepper sauce
  • Salt/pepper

Skin and debone chicken. Remove the tender and set aside for another use. Pound out breasts to ¼” thick. Grind nuts to a flour. Add nut flour, cornmeal, parsley in a bowl and season with salt and pepper. Mix egg, wine and a few dashes cayenne pepper sauce in another bowl. Dredge each breast in white flour, then egg wash then nut crust. Pan fry the breasts in a pan until browned and place in a baking dish. Finish baking in the oven at 365 degrees.

Sauce

  • 1 pomegranate
  • 1 orange
  • ½ lime
  • ½ cup pomegranate juice
  • 3 green onions
  • 2 tbsp fresh chopped tarragon

Scoop out seeds from pomegranate husks. Remove all the pith. Chop white parts of the onion into small dice. Chop the green stems into small rings. Wipe out any burned bits in pan used to cook chicken and melt 3 tbsp butter. Add white part of onion and saute until softened. Squeeze orange and lime juice into the pan. Add pomegranate juice and deglaze pan. Bring to a simmer, then add pomegranate seeds, tarragon and green onion. Cook on medium low until liquid reduced by half. Serve over chicken breasts.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Chicken with Pomegranate

  1. I meant delicious.., I felt so hungry I could hardly spell it right. Have a great day!

  2. rutheh says:

    I have never served anything with Pomegranate to guests (seems like a lot of work to extract the seeds) but this looks like a must try!
    And photographing the color of the fruit? Nice They look like jewels.

    • k.m. says:

      An easy way to free the seeds is to cut the pomegranate in half, and then thwack the back with a spoon or something (with the pomegranate facing downward into a bowl). Well, Nigella Lawson did it on her cooking show, so I assume it works :)

      And I agree, this is a great photo :) Wish I could find some pomegranates now.

  3. JamieAnne says:

    Looks seriously yummy!

  4. brainrants says:

    Jeez that sounds awesome. Just made a brined chicken tonight.. urp.

  5. Love that idea of crusting the chicken with the nuts. Much more exciting than breadcrumbs.

  6. Carolyn Chan says:

    I love the crumb ! And that would be sooo good with the pomegranate.

  7. I’m such a chicken eater :) and I’m not ashamed to admit that lol. But I never thought of pairing chicken with pomegranate before. Hrm.. I definitely must contemplate trying this.. oh hell I’m trying it.

  8. wok with ray says:

    Looks good! I have never tried using pomegranate this way. It’s interesting. :)

  9. Leah says:

    Looks delicious and would be perfect for a Rosh Hashanah dinner.

  10. eva626 says:

    most people i know dont look in pink..but this looks great !!! howd u think of it??

    • Well, I do look good in pink, so I was wanting an outfit that showed that off. Also, Katherine got a pomegranate at the store and had no idea what to do with it other than make a drink or just eat the seeds. I figured there had to be a sauce recipe out there and I couldn’t find one. So I put on my pink apron and went to work.

  11. Sissi says:

    Very original chicken crust! And finally a recipe with pomegranate. (Can you believe I have never had it in my life??? and it’s waiting for me now on the market, I saw it a couple of days ago…). It adds a wonderful colour too.

  12. Beautiful and tasty!
    Have a happy day. :-) Mandy

  13. Love pomegranate and the season is nearly upon us here. Did you know that the Spanish word for pomegranate is Granada and that the pomegranate is the symbol of the city of Granada?! Looks very delicious and love the crust.

  14. Oh yum, this looks tasty. A very good and interesting combination of flavours. Delicious.

  15. Beautiful recipe – it would be a good sauce for swordfish or mahi, too.

    Our Whole Foods (ok, ‘our’ is a bit odd – it’s a 30 minute drive to get there) has containers of pomegranate seeds when they’re in-season, just in case you’re not up to the task of prepping them yourself!

  16. Eva@ kitcheninspirations.wordpress.com says:

    I love the freshness, and pop of colour pomegranate gives. I’m also loving the breading mix, what an amazing combo of flavours!
    Did you know that seeding pomegranates is best done under water? Well, just your hands and the pomegranate! It prevents the little squirts all over your shirt (I usually wear white when I do this, Murphy’s Law, no less!)

  17. Oh how fabulous..chicken and pomegranate seeds…beautiful looking. The crunchy chicken breading and biting into those little juicy seeds. This is a fab recipe..easy..& doable after a day of work. Great job.

  18. Lea Ann says:

    Oh gosh, is it pomegranate time already? I’ve not been to the store in over a week. As always, looks great.

  19. You just amaze me with the wonderful recipes you come up with for us to share. I bet this is so good.

  20. egg me on says:

    I think that piece of chicken looks just fine all by itself. The pecan & almond & corn meal crust looks delicious!

  21. spicegirlfla says:

    Fab U Lus!! You put breading chicken to a whole new level!! I’ve ordered out nut crusted fish and chicken, but have not been successful at home. I like that you processed it into a flour as when I’ve used crushed nuts, they fell off! This is perfect; giving the taste of the nuts and the ability to stay on the chicken! Great topping idea with the pomegrantes! Another winner!!

  22. ChgoJohn says:

    I like the idea of the pomegranate sauce but what really caught my eye was the crust using 2 kinds of nuts mixed with cornmeal. That’a another great idea!

  23. nrhatch says:

    I am s~l~o~w~l~y making the rounds . . . no thanks to WP. I want my LINKS back. :D

  24. nancyc says:

    That looks really good! I’ve never made anything with Pomegranate, so this would be great for me to try!

  25. I’m always intrigued when meats are paired with fruit. Great post!

  26. Jake says:

    My issue with pomegranite has always been that you have to spit the darned seeds! How do you overcome this drawback when serving this dish? Or do you just put out a “used seeds” bowl by each plate and let them fly?

  27. Kristy says:

    This is another one that I’m printing off. I have never eaten pomegranate before, but always wanted to. The color is so gorgeous! You always inspire me to make things I’ve never tried but always wanted to – you make it so much less intimidating. :)

  28. Joanne says:

    I LOVE pomegranate (and that bottled juice doesn’t taste nearly as good as noshing on seeds)! Seeing those seeds makes me think about when my mom would buy a bunch and my brothers and I would sit around the table and nosh on pomegranate seeds for a half hour. Yum!!

  29. Charles says:

    I’ve only ever eaten pomegranate on its own, as a fruit snack kinda-thing, and boy is it a messy fruit. Could probably stand get my hands “stickified” for the sake of a good meal :D Looks great :)

  30. Kelly says:

    Oh, I like the nut crust on your chicken and how neat that you’ve paired it with pomegranate – a delicious contrast of flavours and textures.

  31. ceciliag says:

    Pomegranate is a super food, so good for you.. I just love them and they look like jewels! amazing fruit. i have never had it with chicken but i will try it! c

  32. Looks great! A very interesting combination of flavours, that has to be tried :)

  33. Amy says:

    So excited for pomegranate season! This looks delish.

  34. niasunset says:

    WOW! This is very new recipe for me to taste. We usually use pomegranate juice for dress tghe salads… But I have never cooked with chicken… Seems it would be so delicious. Thank you dear Rufus, with my love, nia

  35. peasepudding says:

    I love using pomegranate seeds, unfortunately it doesn’t get hot enough here to grow them so they are imported which I’m not mad on using. I do have some lovely pomegranate syrup though which I use often in dressings.

  36. Sounds great! My Mum freezes shucked pommegranate seeds and uses them over winter. I like the idea of chicken schnitzel type dish with the refreshing flavour of the seeds.

  37. Caroline says:

    What a great combo of flavors. Never thought to use pomegranate with chicken. My last experience using the seeds left me with stained fingers and yes, a stained white shirt. Woops!

  38. Love the flavor combo and colors!

  39. rsmacaalay says:

    I love your flavour mixes like this, flavours I never had explored yet. Thanks for giving me great ideas.

  40. Wow. Chicken and pomegranate… Never thought of that before.. I should try doing something like this!!

  41. midaevalmaiden says:

    It makes sense that Pomegranate would pair well with chicken. It is no too dissimilar to cranberries in that respect. But WOW, I love this recipee and the crust! I enjoyed all the comments, they kinda had a tutorial effect on me, as I am not very pomegranate experienced. I’ll be trying this!

  42. I had three pomegranate trees on my farm growing up and wish someone had made this dish for me. Looks fantastic.

  43. ambrosiana says:

    Perfect recipe to welcome Fall!! Stunning picture!!!

  44. I only use pomegranate seeds for salads! I am missing out!
    the idea of using nuts to cover the chicken is shear genious! and that sauce..MUST TRY

  45. This is one great combo! Yum!

  46. ....RaeDi says:

    WoW, a dish that says a statement, beautiful and it looks delicious….RaeDi

  47. Pingback: Pomegranate Chicken « She Cooks, She Eats

  48. Pingback: Pomegranate Chicken | She Cooks, She Eats

Leave a Reply

