The versatile wife

Cockadoodle doo

By Katherine

A number of bloggers have bestowed awards on the Rufus site lately. Cecelia over at the kitchen garden (my God are all New Zealanders that side splittingly funny?) and Linda (I think she may be Greg’s long-lost cousin) over at Savoring Every Bite awarded us the Liebster Award. (More on that below.)

Tales of Ambrosia (fly me to Italy now) Rock Star Dad (love those tats), Photography of Nia (love those cats) and Sons of Thunder Patron (love that name!) all passed on the Versatile Blogger Award. Greg’s accepted this award in the past and is always humbled and thankful. He’s written his seven facts and picked his 15 blogs to pass it on to here. But a funny thing happened this time, My Little Corner of Rhode Island (even her compost pile is a garden) is calling me out. She gave the site the award with the caveat I name seven things about myself. I am going to stick to Greg’s original picks, because frankly we love far too many blogs to pick 15. We’d leave someone out.

But clearly we are two different people. I have better hair. Here are seven other things about me.

  1. I have five sisters and before you ask, I’m not Mormon or Catholic and my parents weren’t trying for a boy — after so many girls the last thing you’d want is for hand me downs to go to waste. (I’m No. 4  and there are no brothers.)
  2. I asked Greg out first, because he was never going to get around to it no matter how many times he stopped at the water fountain by my desk. (The trailer for the movie we saw on our first date is below.)
  3.  I always find my Christmas presents early, which is a time-honored tradition passed down from my mother.
  4. I cheat at board games, which is also a time-honored tradition passed down from my mother.
  5. I am mediocre at math, but good with finances.
  6. My voice is so soft that a coworker once told me I could never sound authoritative. When I told Greg, he let out a long, low chuckle.
  7. I am a penny pincher, a neat freak, a wine snob, a dog lover, a wise ass, a skeptic, a stick-shift driver, a hell of a parallel parker, a terrible singer, a worse dancer, a fierce friend, a stubborn fool, a woman in love.

Back to the Liebster. The award is supposed to go to blogs with fewer than 200 subscribers. Here are our picks. We’re sure we overlooked someone!

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Rants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

84 Responses to The versatile wife

  1. JamieAnne says:

    That’s awesome! Congrats! I like the chicken in your top photo!

  2. Jessica says:

    Congrats, and it’s nice to learn more about you! I’m also super soft-spoken and almost always have to repeat myself. Also, that is a lot of sisters, and kiwis have the best humor around. :)

  3. Kristy says:

    Congrats on all of the awards! They are well-deserved. And what a great movie for a first date! :)

  4. Congrats on all the awards :) very well deserved
    Thank you for sharing a few things about you Katherine

  5. niasunset says:

    Congratulations on all these awards. You deserve more too. How I love your blog, photographs, recipes and your beautiful writing always fascinate me. I am so glad to learn more about you dear Katherine, and later I will visit for Greg’s too that you gave the link. It is so nice to meet with new Bloggers that you shared with us. Thank you for you both, Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

  6. Many congratulations and good to find out a little more about you Katherine!

  7. rsmacaalay says:

    Congratulations! and as a side note, I do notice that alot (pertaining to your #5). A lot of women are not blessed with math skills but they are so good with Finances.

    • Katherine says:

      It’s a practicality thing. I don’t care when two trains headed toward Philadelphia at 80 mph would pass, but I do care about how long it will take to pay my mortgage off by paying one extra payment a year or so on.

  8. You guys deserve every award you get. Frankly, love totally emanates from your blog!

  9. Sissi says:

    Congratulations! I am happy to learn more about you and to have a good laugh reading your hilarious post!

  10. Hmm, I hadn’t thought of that before. “mediocre at maths but good with finances”. I’m truly crap at maths, but pretty darn good at finances. That makes me feel a whole lot better!

  11. Well met, Katherine! Thanks for taking up the challenge!
    I’m pretty sure I could have been ‘good’ at math if it had caught my fancy…the basic skills are there, but I always found words to be more interesting….

  12. Lea Ann says:

    Congrats on all the awards! :)

  13. sallybr says:

    Congrats!!!! Loved the facts about you, although I might be very naive, don’t know how to cheat in a board game. Is Monopoly a type of board game? Well, maybe I need to ask my American husband for help me understand what exactly you meant.

    as to the last fact about you, except for the fact that I “think” I’m a great dancer, the rest could apply to me as well – I am particularly proud of my parallel parking, do it like a pro. And I always, always back park, even when driving the pickup truck. You know, some women are just amazing ;-)

    • Katherine says:

      Yes, Monopoly is the penultimate board game and no matter how good I roll the dice, Greg always wins. I don’t cheat at Scrabble because I’m quite good at it. But when I was younger playing against my older and wiser sisters, let’s just say I did what I had to. Greg still laughs because if I get up to get tea or use the bathroom, I take my tiles. He says “I won’t look.” But it’s best not to leave those things to chance!

  14. ceciliag says:

    Katherine, i loved learning a bit more about you and was NOT SURPRISED that you are a cheat at board games, I mean who wouldn’t really! And ALSO not surprised that you drive a stick shift. So do I… these awards are a bit of fun aren’t they.. c

  15. Congratulations! You both are very deserving. Thank you for sharing all this information about you. We do have several of them in common…parallel parking and finding Christmas presents early. Love making connections, finding the commonalities. Best wishes to you both and your continued blogging.

    • Katherine says:

      Thanks Georgette. Greg’s had to get more creative with his hiding places. There’s been a few years I’ve noticed something under a bed or that our luggage was all of a sudden heavier and had to say hon you might need to move such and such.

  16. ChgoJohn says:

    So crafty of My Little Corner of Rhode Island to nominate you, Katherine. Congrats for a very much well-deserved award. (Mental note: Katherine must never be Banker when playing Monopoly.)

    • Katherine says:

      Greg stopped letting me be banker years ago. He also won’t leave me alone with the bank. He always wins too, it’s maddening. Scotland Yard, Clue, Monopoly. The only thing I win is cards (about half the time) and Scrabble. Those are ones I don’t cheat at. Probably the universe trying to tell me something.

  17. spicegirlfla says:

    I’m so glad My Little Corner got you, Katherine, to share a little bit about yourself!! It’s nice to get to know my lost lost cousin Greg’s wife! It all sounded just like I imagined you to be from reading your posts! I’m very soft spoken as well….until I need to get my kid’s attention!! Congrats to you on all your recognition – always well deserved!

  18. I love learning more about you and rufus! Congrats on the awards- you definitely deserve them as I love coming to your site and seeing what impressive goodies ya’ll have in store for me. I am like you when it comes to christmas. I swear I have all my gifts done by September! LOL!

    • Katherine says:

      Thanks. I took Greg to Bed, Bath and Beyond on Saturday to get some ideas for Christmas and it’s a good thing I did. All of the things I thought he might like were total busts.

  19. So glad to have gotten to know you better. That’s always the best part about these awards…I can tell you are a wise-ass from your blog and why do you think I keep coming back, looking for Katherine posts? Sorry Greg! Love the food though…always LOVE the food. Have a great week!

  20. Congrats on all of your awards, love your recipes and you deserve them all! Thanks so much for the Liebster Award! :)

  21. egg me on says:

    You guys rock! Congrats on all of your awards and recognition — you totally deserve it. And from one penny pinching neat freak to another, THANKS for all the support and blog love. :D

  22. nrhatch says:

    Wonderful post, Katherine. Loved your list, especially:

    7.I am a penny pincher, a neat freak, a wine snob, a dog lover, a wise ass, a skeptic, a stick-shift driver, a hell of a parallel parker, a terrible singer, a worse dancer, a fierce friend, a stubborn fool, a woman in love.

  23. Congrats on the award and the recognition — most well deserved.

  24. Congratulations on all the awards and I am thrilled to have learnt more about you – yay!
    Have a super week. :-) Mandy

  25. A_Boleyn says:

    A lovely post, Katherine. It’s nice to learn a bit more about the other half of the award winning team. :)

  26. Congrats Katherine, a well deserved award.

  27. Rachel says:

    Thanks for sharing and congrats!

  28. Kelly says:

    This was a lot of fun to read Katherine – I might have guessed the wise ass (hey, it takes one to know one), but not the soft voice – that’s an unexpected discovery. Turns out we have something in common beyond food. I also have 5 sisters!! (and 4 brothers….) Cheers, k.

  29. Caroline says:

    Congrats on all of these awards–very well deserved! You picked some great blogs to pass it on to. As I’m sure you know by know, I’m overjoyed that Rocky is the main photo for this post. I need that little guy in my kitchen! I relate to way too many things you listed in number 7. Particularly the wine snob part. ;)

  30. Yvette says:

    congratulations on your awards, all well deserved. Thanks for sharing a little something more about you. My response…”Go Girl!” x

  31. Charles says:

    Congratulations! Also – yay for stick-shift drivers. It’s the “norm” in Europe to drive stick – it’s the only way to go!

    • katherine says:

      They’re a dying breed here in the states. I think fewer than 5 percent of new cars are sticks. Some automatics are more fuel efficient than the stick models. But Greg won’t listen to that!

  32. I have to say that I usually just read your posts from my email and don’t think I have ever commented. Your post was fantastic! I love learning about the authors of the blogs I read. Thanks for sharing.

    • katherine says:

      Thanks. Greg posts far more than I do, but I rather enjoying contributing. It started as his blog, and he’s still the better cook, just a natural. But it’s become our blog.

      • I love that, my blog is becoming more shared as well. My husband does the photography and design. He just started doing a cocktail post on Thursdays. It is so much fun this way. I can’t imagine NOT having his share this experience with me.

  33. Yay to you for all of your success! I loved reading the facts about you; any wine snob – wise ass – woman in love has my vote !!!

  34. Love Rocky! You just reminded me I was supposed to do this a few months back when Ryan nominated me for this award – DUH! Guess it’s never too late to divulge a little about ourselves. I’ll just say now I’m a hell of a parallel parker too! Y’all are awesome. Nice to learn a little about you Katherine.

  35. I’m shocked to read you asked Greg out… lol. What was taking him so long Katherine? lol. Maybe he wanted to make a good impression. And I love number 7.. we woman are definitely unique, wonderful and special in our own way. Congrats on the many awards… you know I think you deserve more :)

    • Katherine says:

      I think he was waiting for his internship to finish in case I said no. You’re reading that right, I asked out the intern. He’s 14 months younger than me!

  36. Congratulations on your award, enjoyed checking out the blogs, and learning more about Katherine. You two make a great couple and I enjoy you both.

  37. Pingback: Freezing Summer « homemadeadventure

  38. sonsothunder says:

    Who ever the co-worker was apparently has never heard your writing voice.
    Bless You Both
    paul

  39. Holly says:

    Congrats on being bold on the number 2 point!
    Also – thanks for the welcome back – too kind! You two already made my year by showing me your kitchen pics [seriously if I’m ever over in that neck of the woods I’m hunting you out – ok that sounded was too sinister!]
    Also – do I get an award? I’m always a bit slow on the link uptake!

    • Katherine says:

      Not sure if it was bold or just impatient! If you’re ever over here, you tell us! (Although, there are so many cooler places to go in the states!) Also, yes you get a Liebster. I didn’t download that logo, and should have because now I don’t see the link for it! Mandy over at The Complete Cookbook has it.

  40. ambrosiana says:

    Hi Katherine!!! You are always welcome to Italy and someday who knows we can meet!! Keep on the great work on this wonderful blog!!!

  41. ....RaeDi says:

    You deserve every one of them and you will be receiving more, that I am sure. A wonderul blog and you two are such a riot! Thanks for your blog and all that you share, and as for me I have learned a thing or two that is for sure! ….RaeDi

  42. Stef says:

    Re. your fact #2: I asked my husband out on our first date, too. And I’m very glad I did. :)

  43. Pingback: Pancetta, egg and toast cups … and a mystery unveiled | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

