Summer Corn Pudding

This is too hearty for dessert

Fresh corn on the cob and jalapenos from the garden made this dessert, oops, side dish, out of this world. Creamy, spicy, goodness.

Although many recipes call for canned or frozen corn, using the fresh corn not only creates a natural sweetness, but also a rich creamy texture without the use of cream or cheese.

Corn pudding

  • 8-10 ears of corn, shucked and cleaned
  • 4 eggs, separated
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 jalapeno diced fine
  • 1/2 large onion diced fine
  • 3 tbsp fresh cilantro chopped
  • fresh ground pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup sour cream

Use a large grater to shred corn off cobs and extract as much milk from them as possible. You will need at least 4 cups of corn. Set aside. In a frying pan saute onion and pepper in two tablespoons butter until golden. Set aside. In a large bowl, beat egg yolks until lemon yellow, about two minutes. Add onion mix, corn puree, salt, pepper, cilantro and sour cream, mix to incorporate. In another bowl, beat egg whites to form stiff peaks. In two batches, fold the egg whites into the bowl with the corn. Preheat oven to 425. Put remaining butter in cast iron frying pan and place in oven. Once melted, take out of the oven and swirl around to coat the pan. Pour pudding into pan and cook at 425 for 15 minutes. Lower the heat to 350 and cook another 30 minutes or until golden brown and crisped just around the edges. Serve warm or at room temperature.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Sides and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

74 Responses to Summer Corn Pudding

  1. Korena says:

    Like pretty much everything you post, this sounds delicious! It also reminds me that I haven’t eaten nearly enough corn yet this summer.

  2. rutheh says:

    Have you ever tried that OXO corn stripper/peeler gadget? Corn is summer!
    Looks just wonderful as always!

  3. Sweet corn is late this year and just in, I am definitely going to try this one:)

  4. A_Boleyn says:

    I’ve never had this particular dish but it does sound tasty.

  5. I’m surrounded by fields of corn growing in this part of France, but none of it is for human consumption – it’s all for cattle feed. We don’t even find corn in the shops. So this dish seems very exotic, particularly with the addition of Jalapenos.

  6. I haven’t had Corn Pudding in such a very long time. I always feel nostalgic coming to this blog.. and I absolutely love coming here. This is home

    • That’s so nice. This is the first corn pudding I ever made. Katherine came home and said you know what we should make corn pudding, I said what? I think we’re absorbing Southern culture by osmosis or something!

  7. Charles says:

    Mm, never heard of corn pudding at all – sounds great. I bet the cilantro and chilli are just the icing on the cake to make it awesome. I could totally eat the whole lot as a main course!

  8. Kinda sorta like a soufflé but not quite.
    Yummy. :-) Mandy

  9. I love corn and we only have about a week to wait until our first cobs will be ready to pick. This sounds amazing…and very different for me.

  10. Never tried smth like this before, but it sounds soooo good. Love corn! Time to try some Corn pudding :) Thanks for sharing!

  11. This sounds wonderful with the cilantro. I love corn dishes. Thanks.

  12. egg me on says:

    Wow — corn pudding with jalapenos! Genius. This looks really awesome. Also, the idea of milking corn makes me laugh. (There’s that juvenile humor we love!)

  13. Judy says:

    Corn is definitely a flavor of summer, this looks great. What did you serve it with?

  14. Sissi says:

    Thanks for introducing me to the corn pudding; I have never heard about it. The creaminess from the fresh corn sounds incredible.
    Just like Judy, I would like to know what you would serve it with…

  15. This looks delicious! I’m making a version of corn pudding tonight, and I hope mine turns out as delicious looking as yours!

  16. It looks fantastic and simply dreamy to this southern girl. I love it

  17. Amy says:

    ooooh, might have to make this for labor day wknd! I love any excuse to use some more corn before summer’s over :)

  18. Linda says:

    Dessert or side dish??! Either way its sounds yummy and comforting. I think I will go for it as a side..andd sometimes my sides end up being my meal!

  19. Joanne says:

    Just bookmarked this and am DEFINITELY making it. What a beautiful celebration of summer. That’s just what I love about the posts on your blog…they are always a celebration of current produce available. Cheers!

  20. Eva Taylor says:

    I’ve never heard of corn pudding, it looks great. A nice change for a side for Thanksgiving (coming up in October for Canada). YUM!

  21. Kristy says:

    Simply perfect. I’d take this as a whole meal as well. This is a great dish for summer or even going into fall. It’s got that bit of comfort food feel without being too heavy.

  22. I wish I’d had this recipe last night – would have been great with my lemon rosemary chicken! This looks so good – not like some corn puddings I’ve seen! This will be on tomorrow night’s menu!

  23. Jill H says:

    Oh, this sounds dreamy!!!! We will be sure to have this over Labor Day weekend. I can hardly wait!!! Thanks for the recipe….as always….inspired and inspiring!!

  24. ceciliag says:

    Oh no.. all my corn is finished and Daisy is eating the last of the corn stalks today. .next summer though! c

  25. Lia says:

    My aunt used to make something like this! Oh wow brings back memories and an appetite.

  26. Honestly…good Lord. I’d like to make this my lunch right now.

  27. Courtney says:

    I am so impatient for our garden corn to be ready – because this sounds wonderful. I think I’ve got several weeks yet, though. :)

  28. Okay, that’s it…I am on my way to the downtown Nashville Farmer’s Mkt which is 2 blocks from my house…getting some corn and making this for dinner…corn has been really good here and I have been looking for a easy tasty recipe…this is it! Gracias.

  29. Caroline says:

    I agree, fresh corn is always the way to go. Great Southern side dish…perfect for summer and definitely carries into fall too. :)

  30. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve never tired corn pudding before but your recipe makes it sound delicious. I like that you rely on the corn “liquor” rather than heavy cream. Maybe I’ll make corn the holy grail of this Saturday’s famers market run. Could be corn pudding on the Sunday menu. Thanks.

  31. midaevalmaiden says:

    I want to try this!! Wow!

  32. ....RaeDi says:

    Beautiful picture, what color. I love the dish, I had forgotten this dish of what seems long ago….RaeDi

  33. TasteFood says:

    This sounds so nice – the whipped egg whites must make this so light.

  34. Neecey says:

    My fresh corn in the fridge is calling to be used!! This sounds so good!! Will be making this tomorrow night! :)

  35. I love corn pudding and will have to try this! This sounds absolutely delicious! : )

  36. JamieAnne says:

    Yes! This looks wonderful!

  37. Pingback: Ina’s Garden: Indian Summer! « Yummy Chunklet

  38. A great way to use more the summer corn! That looks like a bowl of yummy goodness.

  39. nancyc says:

    I’ve never had or made this, but it sounds great–especially made with fresh corn on the cob!

  40. Andrea says:

    This looks really good. I like corn pudding, but a good recipe is few and far between. Looking forward to trying it.

  41. ambrosiana says:

    Oh!!I am totally with you in using fresh corn!! I remember when I was in Texas several years ago eating this marvelous corn bread with jalapeños!! I just love this combination!! The sweetness and creaminess of corn with spicy jalapeños is one of the best pairings ever!

  42. Abby says:

    Wow, this looks incredible! I’d like to link to the recipe in my “What To Make With What’s On Sale” post on SpringsBargains.com tomorrow…would you be ok with me using a thumbnail of your photo in my post? If not, no worries, just let me know! Thanks :)

  43. SimpleP says:

    I feel comforted just looking at this. :) Yum!

  44. Corn pudding is certainly a comfort food. I make it every year for Thanksgiving. My children all love it during the holidays. Sometime, I can’t wait and have to make it just as a sidedish, too.

  45. Pingback: What To Make With What’s On Sale: Sweet Corn

  46. Pingback: What To Make With What’s On Sale: Sweet Corn

  47. A_Boleyn says:

    I saved the corn pudding recipe for this weekend when I served it as a side with pork ribs and mashed potatoes. Dessert was the peach crumble recipe you shared (my second batch in 6 days) with a scoop of french vanilla ice cream. Right now, my mom and I are digesting. :)

    I did have to adjust the recipe slightly by subbing flat parsley for the cilantro since I’m one of those funny people to whom cilantro tastes like scented soap smells. The pudding was nice and creamy tasting though it got a little too dark as I found that I’d only lowered the heat to 375 deg F NOT to 350 as the recipe required for the second part of the cooking process, and in a cast iron pan, that does make a difference.

    • Sounds like a great meal. Glad you liked the pudding, except the part about being too dark. I love my cast iron, but you sure are right about it. As for the dessert, Sweet Pea always has great ones. We may try her crumble recipe with apples.

  48. A_Boleyn says:

    It tasted very good, no hint of burning or anything like that, it’s just that it got a little too dark and probably was drier/less moist than it would have been if I had baked it at the correct temperature. :)

    As to the peach crumble … though my nephew (27 yrs old) didn’t say anything while he was inhaling the 2 large pieces (I cut it into 16 rather than 24 pieces) at my house, when he got home with his family’s half of the tray, and had another piece, he commented to his mother that the crumble was ‘restaurant quality’ and this young man has eaten in his fair share of good restaurants.

  49. Anita Menon says:

    This looks so good. It must be hearty and filling too. I’ve got to try this.

  50. I made this aty friends for a dinner bbq thing. Wow so good, I did have to change two things based on what was avaiable, used 2 tbsp olive oil instead of butter and had to use Greek yogurt instead of sour cream. It was awesome!

  51. This looks amazing, but then again, everything you post does. I have some fresh corn I put in the freezer for another corn pudding recipe I make, but this looks deserving of a try!

  52. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: A Long, Healthy Summer | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  53. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Summer’s Bounty | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  54. Cecile says:

    I’ve never eaten corn pudding. What’s wrong with me?!! ; o ) I want to make this soon – it looks so delcious!!

Leave a Reply

